We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Hotel and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Hotel and Club to your Saves list
St. James's Hotel and Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,066 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for a business trip to London. Everything was excellent and the service was flawless. Great room looking into a lovely London Mews and the location is great close to Green park tube so very easy to get around town

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    92
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
232
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Wow, we had such a fantastic stay. My Maman was so surprised with the upgrade and there was no hesitation to aid in adding some special extras to the room such as flowers and chocolates.

William Drabble's restaurant is really top class with very experienced staff, especially the sommelier, and many goodies in between courses! Also one of my favourite things is the private access to Green Park

You and your amazing staff have managed to meet my previous favourite, the Soho Hotel,(although St James may have just inched ahead in terms of service!) so we will definitely be back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here for two nights; entertained 13 people for lunch; ate in the bistro in the evening and entertained another 2 friends on the second day for lunch. It was a really pleasurable experience at every level. The food is superb and the website gives a true portrayal of what one can expect. Do trust the sommelier Marco. We love wine and have some knowledge - but he was able to suggest some perfect matches for the food which we and all our guests loved. Paolina too contributed to a really relaxed and enjoyable meal with her unobtrusive management of a group of people who were served in a timely and friendly manner. In terms of accommodation we had two quiet and really good night's sleep in a Junior suite. All staff were helpful, accommodating and I would use a term they used, and used accurately - they hosted us. Being in a cul de sac, yet so near to lovely shopping arcades, Buckingham Palace etc. makes this a really special part of London to be in. I cannot speak highly enough of St. James's Hotel and Club.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My daughter chose this restaurant to celebrate her recent promotion (at my expense!). It was a wonderful experience where our group were looked after in magnificent style by the caring and considerate staff. The food was something again but the portions were refined and as both my son and I have a big appetite we were able to top up with a lovely selection of breads. This was a treat which we all enjoyed very much - thank you for the experience and congratulations Sarah!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

At the last minute booked a 5 night stay at the St. James's. The journey started in London with continuation to Paris with my son during his school break. Our flight arrived at Heathrow early morning Sunday. Figured we could drop off our baggage at the hotel, wonder the streets until check in time. With much surprise and delight we were able to check in immediately.

The room was beautiful and the service was outstanding. When I make it back to London, will certainly book this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the tiny street, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Perfect service, elegant rooms, excellent restaurant / room service. Staff is the best I have ever encountered -- professional, courteous, friendly. Location is wonderful -- walk to Buckingham Palace (and parks), taxis everywhere, underground not far, very quiet street in a nice neighborhood. Expensive as hell but worth every cent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

An absolute treat, private dining, food, wine and the staff made the evening perfect. They couldnt have been more welcoming, so much effort in making you feel like the whole experiance was about you..Perfect place for a special evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#113 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Hotel and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.