We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Hotel and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Hotel and Club to your Saves list
St. James's Hotel and Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Vail
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a great little boutique hotele in the heart of London. Great service, friendly staff, stunning rooms. They have a barista in the restaurant at breakfast. The coffee was stunning and made for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    92
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
231
41
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful staff! I firmly believe that the sign of a truly good establishment is that the staff have enough manners to be charming, rather than aloof and snooty, and here is the perfect example of this. The staff were delightful; impeccable manners combined with a genuine welcome. The situation is perfect, nestled down a side street, but close to everything you need. Decor is lovely, classic and tasteful. Our room was on the smaller side, but not unusually so for London.

The only thing less than perfect about it was the breakfast: At £16 for a continental, I would hope for more variety; the choice of cheese was limited to cheddar or brie, the bread selection was bordering on dull. When I return, I think I'll just go to one of the many wonderful eateries in the area... but I will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Calm, very British, attentive service. Very good both for business and leisure. Less suitable for family with kids. Well equipped rooms, great bed and shower, excellent breakfast. 3' walk to Piccadilly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the St James Hotel in November 2012 to celebrate our daughter turning 21. The check-in process was seamless and the reception staff professional. Our Junior Suite was perfect, although a little dark - partly due to the gloomy weather. The birthday dinner was organised using the services of a staff member, Silvia, who appeared in reception on our arrival and arranged to meet me in the function room to discuss final arrangements. We had booked a sit down dinner in the Mayfair Suite, which was a perfect size for the 40 of us. Together with Silvia, I was introduced to the function staff handling our dinner. They were courteous and polite, and encouraged me to check the set up of the room and make changes if necessary. Of course, everything was perfect. We were delighted to learn from the Functions Manager that the hotel were to let us use The Library for our pre-dinner drinks. This room, although small, was perfect. The food served at dinner was excellent (we had so many compliments about the meal, some from very fussy people) and the waiting staff were efficient and very professional. All in all it was perfect! Thank you St James Hotel. Afterwards, we had booked a table at Mahiki for the younger generation - this turned into a non-event as Mahiki informed the group that they had no booking and were very rude....but that is another review!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is one of London's finest places to stay, one that is further added to by having a Michelin starred restaurant as well. The staff are charming and helpful in every way. Highly recommended.

Ok, so there were still small errors such as the bath lever for bath or shower head pointing the wrong way round and the security chain on the door being put on back to front and hence being totally useless. They did tell me that in the four years since their last renovation no-one who had stayed in my room had commented on these matters (which surprised me).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

GOOD: We stayed in the Executive Room and we loved it. Our stay lasted a few days and the front staff were exceptional. The doorman knew my name from day 1 and the rest of the staff were very professional, pleasant, and accommodating to our needs. The free umbrellas out front were a nice touch as well.

The room itself was amazing. From other reviews, I would say you want to spring for the Executive if you stay here. True, the shower is small, but the tub is an amazing way to relax at the end of the day. Room temperature control was easy and reliable. Walk in closet has plenty of space.

Location is awesome, as others have said. A great central place where you can walk to most of the main tourist attractions. It's also a really nice area to to walk around in and see what shops you discover.

BAD: There is a 5% "accommodation charge" added to the room rate, which adds up quickly in addition to the 12.5% service charge for any food. We had tea (excellent!) and took it in the back lounge but service was rather poor, almost as if we were forgotten about. TV is small for the room, but we didn't watch it, so no issue for us. Breakfast was not cheap at ~18 pounds for a conservative layout of yogurt, dry fruits/nuts, jams, and a few meats.

Room Tip: Go for the Executive room and make sure you're above floor 2 so you have plenty of natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for New Years Eve and for a 5 star hotel it was reasonably priced for this time of year. Only experience the one night there but overall experience was good. Very nice greeting staff and reception. Luxurious room, comfy bed and pillows, and nice bathroom!! Very convenient spot to Piccadilly, shops, restaurants, tube stations and St James area + other tourist sites. Room service we ordered was quick and good. All helpful friendly staff. Would recommend and stay here again for a top hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#112 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Hotel and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.