We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbearably hot” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Battersea

Save Saved
You added Travelodge London Battersea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Battersea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 York Road, Battersea, London SW11 3SA , England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #511 of 1,075 hotels in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unbearably hot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent two nights from hell. Like trying to sleep in a Turkish bath. Despite a small fan in room, had to resort to opening windows to get some air in room AND it was not very warm outside. Subsequent loud traffic noise made prospect of getting any sleep impossible. Complained to staff after first night. They apologised, but nothing resolved. AVOID at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
21
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The reception staff were extremely helpful, ordering and chasing up on a taxi. The bed was very comfortable but it was stiflingly hot, even with a fan in the room. A few more tea bags would have been nice, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect hotel for our weekend break definitely be returning.
Very friendly staff rooms were very clean fresh towels and crisp white sheets.
It was a hot day and fans were provided without having to ask.
even on arrival cold water was available from the lovely receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shocking experience at this hotel. When we arrived at lunchtime our rooms weren't ready. Fair enough, we parked in the car park and left our luggage there, then headed out for the day. When we returned at 11pm, to check in, we were told the hotel was fully booked. Yes, we pointed out, booked by us! We'd paid in full for 2 rooms 3 months in advance! Receptionist refused to budge saying the rooms were double booked and they had no other rooms. We asked to see the manager, who eventually came out and then started telling us there'd been a water leak in the rooms we'd booked. Mysteriously he wasn't able to show us these rooms! He told us the problem had occurred at 4pm, so we asked why they couldn't have phoned us to tell us there was a problem. He insisted they had tried to call without success but couldn't/wouldn't tell us which number he'd been calling- none of our phones had missed calls. The staff were quite clearly lying to us, and eventually sent us off to another travel lodge in Fulham. Whilst waiting for taxi outside, another guest told us that he'd checked in at 2pm and there'd been all sorts of problems because rooms had been double booked even at that stage (well before the terrible water leak they allegedly suffered at 4pm). A week on from emailing them to complain, I've had no response other than an automated acknowledgement. Shocking company, these idiots systematically overbook their rooms- their Ts and Can even cover them doing so! And it seems they get their staff to lie rather than offer apologies! Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Battersea, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review Threethreesevenone. We are truly sorry to learn of the poor experience you had. We do not expect our staff to be unhelpful but to be friendly, welcoming and offer assistance at all times so it is regrettable to learn that you did not receive a high level of customer service in light of the issues you had at our hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate this issue, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution and indicate that you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms on our side of the corridor in this old poorly ventilated hotel were uncomfortably hot. They only give you a small fan to help with this, Our stay was really uncomfortable because of this and we hardly slept.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is on a very busy road; it has no air conditioning and very little by way of customer service. If I had paid £29 for my room then perhaps my expectation would have matched my experience.
The bed was extremely comfortable and if I hadn't had to make a choice between overheating or going deaf by opening the windows I am sure it would have made for a very comfortable nights' sleep.
There is no left luggage facility here so don't plan on arriving before your check-in time unless you are prepared to part with another £10.
Very disappointed with the service and the offering; this was no cheaper than a much higher grade hotel and really needs to raise its game.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a tricky one. A week before our 2 night stay we rang to tell them that we couldn't make it on the Friday but would be down at midday on the Saturday. We knew we'd lose the money for Friday night as we'd pre booked but were fine with that. Guess what? They cancelled Saturday too. They had proof of our booking but took nearly an hour to give us another room. Not impressed. As for the room, it was fine. A good size with a comfy bed. However, even though it wasn't hot outside, it was tropical in the room. You're left with a dilemma. Open the windows and listen to planes going over every two minutes, switch the fan on and listen to that buzzing away all night or melt into the bed. There was too much wrong with the stay so would definitely not recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge London Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Battersea

Address: 200 York Road, Battersea, London SW11 3SA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Battersea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motor hotel with modern amenities; guest parking; situated one mile from the Chelsea Football Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge London Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Battersea Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Battersea England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Battersea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.