We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO HOT WATER” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mina House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mina House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 623 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NO HOT WATER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 8pm to find after a day of walking around london we would not be able to have a shower until the next day and that theres nothing they can do (not even move us rooms) in the end we checked out the next day with no shower and no sympathy from staff!

Great location but poor service... very let down!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    38
    31
    22
    41
See reviews for
19
50
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Before I start this Hotel will not accept cancellations so be warned.

This isn't somewhere you would want to stay in on a romantic weekend or on holiday. But for a short functional trip to see a show, with business or visiting museums its fine. The rooms are well decorated and in good repair and very clean. The reception is spectacularly horrible....almost gloriously so. So in essence this is a nice room at a decent price in a great location...nothing more and nothing less.

Room Tip: Get breakfast on Paddington station, best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Budget hotels in Europe are small so expect that here. We had about 6 inches from the side of the bed to the wall. Shower was super tiny, lucky I lost weight for the trip! Also, 2 flights up on stairs with no elevator. WiFi only in the reception area, which is too bad. Ok, so it lives up to the budget quality.
The location was good, not amazing but good. It is a short walk to Hyde park and that is great. The rest of the stuff you want to see is a fair walk away so you will take the tube a lot. In that, it's great.
If you take the Heathrow Express, that will dump you off at Paddington station. It's a quick ride in but you will pay for it (more on this in other posts).
The location has a few fair restaurants, 2 Indian places right near by.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor if you can. Stairs can be a hassle after walking around all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have booked the hotel 2 month before I went to London and aksed with my booking - knowing that there is no lift - a room close to the reception.
When I arrived there I got a room on 4th floor :(
This time at reception they was very helpful and promissed to look for another room, lower down. I asked few days later again and ... this time .. someone different, was very rude, telling me that they are fully booked.

I got room number 402, last floor, dangerous stairs.

The rooms was clean, if you do not look at the beddingbox or mattress, not nice. So let me say it like this: the parts the cleaner (well done!) could clean, has been clean. But there are several things they should still remove.

The room was basic: no safe (!!!), no glass for you toothbrush, no fridger, no hairdrayer , nor a socket next to a mirror to use your own.

So, if you are looking for a very, very basic room, close to paddington, here it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mina House for three nights in early May 2013. The property is only a few blocks from Paddington Station and, if you take the Heathrow Express, is about an hour from your touchdown at the airport.
In my experience, all 2-3 star hotel rooms in Europe are small and our room here was as expected. The nice thing is that it was exceptionally clean thanks to daily maid service.
The hotel is being converted from two building of flats so there was still construction going on in the other building.
Pluses: Convenient to train and tube stations. Clean and in a decent neighborhood.
Minus: I would warn off any elderly that may have trouble with stairs. The staircase is narrow, winding and has a firedoor on the way up. Tough going if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor due to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotell for 4 nights, and was very happy with the standard. Clean and nice room. And they cleaned every day. The staff was very nice, and helpful. Very close to both Paddington tube and landcaster gate tube.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 623 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mina House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.