We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mina House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mina House Hotel to your Saves list
Mina House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 722 Specialty Lodging in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice enough for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Before I start this Hotel will not accept cancellations so be warned.

This isn't somewhere you would want to stay in on a romantic weekend or on holiday. But for a short functional trip to see a show, with business or visiting museums its fine. The rooms are well decorated and in good repair and very clean. The reception is spectacularly horrible....almost gloriously so. So in essence this is a nice room at a decent price in a great location...nothing more and nothing less.

Room Tip: Get breakfast on Paddington station, best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunellechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Budget hotels in Europe are small so expect that here. We had about 6 inches from the side of the bed to the wall. Shower was super tiny, lucky I lost weight for the trip! Also, 2 flights up on stairs with no elevator. WiFi only in the reception area, which is too bad. Ok, so it lives up to the budget quality.
The location was good, not amazing but good. It is a short walk to Hyde park and that is great. The rest of the stuff you want to see is a fair walk away so you will take the tube a lot. In that, it's great.
If you take the Heathrow Express, that will dump you off at Paddington station. It's a quick ride in but you will pay for it (more on this in other posts).
The location has a few fair restaurants, 2 Indian places right near by.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor if you can. Stairs can be a hassle after walking around all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have booked the hotel 2 month before I went to London and aksed with my booking - knowing that there is no lift - a room close to the reception.
When I arrived there I got a room on 4th floor :(
This time at reception they was very helpful and promissed to look for another room, lower down. I asked few days later again and ... this time .. someone different, was very rude, telling me that they are fully booked.

I got room number 402, last floor, dangerous stairs.

The rooms was clean, if you do not look at the beddingbox or mattress, not nice. So let me say it like this: the parts the cleaner (well done!) could clean, has been clean. But there are several things they should still remove.

The room was basic: no safe (!!!), no glass for you toothbrush, no fridger, no hairdrayer , nor a socket next to a mirror to use your own.

So, if you are looking for a very, very basic room, close to paddington, here it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mina House for three nights in early May 2013. The property is only a few blocks from Paddington Station and, if you take the Heathrow Express, is about an hour from your touchdown at the airport.
In my experience, all 2-3 star hotel rooms in Europe are small and our room here was as expected. The nice thing is that it was exceptionally clean thanks to daily maid service.
The hotel is being converted from two building of flats so there was still construction going on in the other building.
Pluses: Convenient to train and tube stations. Clean and in a decent neighborhood.
Minus: I would warn off any elderly that may have trouble with stairs. The staircase is narrow, winding and has a firedoor on the way up. Tough going if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor due to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotell for 4 nights, and was very happy with the standard. Clean and nice room. And they cleaned every day. The staff was very nice, and helpful. Very close to both Paddington tube and landcaster gate tube.

Helpful?
Thank Birgitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we had tickets fore the(Ideal Homes Ex)we are very fussy ladies and had read most of the reviews on lots of Hotels , But this one ticked all the boxes fore access to London, Quality & price fore a twin room with modern shower &Toilet .towels of a good quality white)( No Hair dryer )there is tea & coffee making filsillities in the room ,We had the third floor which can be a struggle fore less active people because( no lifts), its a short walk from the Paddington tube & the main Station , There is a good bus access on this road & plenty of restaurants , we loved one of them , Italian just up the road called( El Rosa )good home made food , They have a special Menu which included a drink ( wine or larger)great value the staff so friendly it was very enjoyable ,we also went out fore Breakfast there is a small Cafe called Santro great food which seems very popular. We did use our ouster card on the tube & buses , buses seemed much cheaper but take longer to get around , we did booked on line & will defiantly use this Hotel again

Room Tip: when booking check which floor you need , remember no lifts in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#304 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#203 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
27 Paddington
#549 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitre House Hotel
#570 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#339 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,739 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#503 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 722 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing