We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location: yes / reception service: no” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mina House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mina House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location: yes / reception service: no”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have booked the hotel 2 month before I went to London and aksed with my booking - knowing that there is no lift - a room close to the reception.
When I arrived there I got a room on 4th floor :(
This time at reception they was very helpful and promissed to look for another room, lower down. I asked few days later again and ... this time .. someone different, was very rude, telling me that they are fully booked.

I got room number 402, last floor, dangerous stairs.

The rooms was clean, if you do not look at the beddingbox or mattress, not nice. So let me say it like this: the parts the cleaner (well done!) could clean, has been clean. But there are several things they should still remove.

The room was basic: no safe (!!!), no glass for you toothbrush, no fridger, no hairdrayer , nor a socket next to a mirror to use your own.

So, if you are looking for a very, very basic room, close to paddington, here it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    39
    31
    23
    42
See reviews for
18
47
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mina House for three nights in early May 2013. The property is only a few blocks from Paddington Station and, if you take the Heathrow Express, is about an hour from your touchdown at the airport.
In my experience, all 2-3 star hotel rooms in Europe are small and our room here was as expected. The nice thing is that it was exceptionally clean thanks to daily maid service.
The hotel is being converted from two building of flats so there was still construction going on in the other building.
Pluses: Convenient to train and tube stations. Clean and in a decent neighborhood.
Minus: I would warn off any elderly that may have trouble with stairs. The staircase is narrow, winding and has a firedoor on the way up. Tough going if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor due to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotell for 4 nights, and was very happy with the standard. Clean and nice room. And they cleaned every day. The staff was very nice, and helpful. Very close to both Paddington tube and landcaster gate tube.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we had tickets fore the(Ideal Homes Ex)we are very fussy ladies and had read most of the reviews on lots of Hotels , But this one ticked all the boxes fore access to London, Quality & price fore a twin room with modern shower &Toilet .towels of a good quality white)( No Hair dryer )there is tea & coffee making filsillities in the room ,We had the third floor which can be a struggle fore less active people because( no lifts), its a short walk from the Paddington tube & the main Station , There is a good bus access on this road & plenty of restaurants , we loved one of them , Italian just up the road called( El Rosa )good home made food , They have a special Menu which included a drink ( wine or larger)great value the staff so friendly it was very enjoyable ,we also went out fore Breakfast there is a small Cafe called Santro great food which seems very popular. We did use our ouster card on the tube & buses , buses seemed much cheaper but take longer to get around , we did booked on line & will defiantly use this Hotel again

Room Tip: when booking check which floor you need , remember no lifts in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a very nice clean hotel with nice staff. At every opportunity the staff was there to help. Room was clean and nice. Hotel in general is a good place if you are staying a few days.

Like all hotels book your taxi personally and you will save some money as hotels around Paddington seem to take a cut.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very simple, but confortable and well located. No elevators, it was very dificult to carry heavy luggage all the way up. Internet signal only at the reception or very week signal in corridors. The tv in the room didnt worked, we also dint had blowdriers in the toilet.
But is very clean, very close to beautiful Kesington park and Paddington station, you can go anywhere by bus and metro. Close to hotel many options of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mina House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mina House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.