We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Family Room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #499 of 1,075 hotels in London
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tiny Family Room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked a family room which consisted of a normal bed and a pull out sofa bed which was horrible! The mattress on the pull out was super thin. The room was also very small, there was about a foot and half walking room around the room. Our shower head was broken, we asked to get a different room and were told there were no rooms available. Maintenance came to "fix" it. It stayed up but we didn't dare touch it with the fear it would fall off again. One of the days, there was a fire alarm. We went out and wait for over 20 minutes. There were employees out there who were enjoying their break, and never bothered to tell us it was ok to go back in. It wasn't until we went inside to the front desk that they said "Oh yes, everything is ok, go ahead and come in" We could have stayed out there forever!

The only great thing was the location! It is literally across the street from the Collier Woods tube station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I was very sorry to learn your experiences , and would like to very much be able to speak with you in person. Please contact me on 07557 368614 or email s.akbas@exhiwimbledon.co.uk. Thank you again for highlighting these matters, and I do hope to speak to you in due course. Kind Regards, Seyda Akbas General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    176
    90
    32
    14
See reviews for
98
63
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are fine. Place is clean. Easy access to Colliers Wood tube for going to London downtown. Plenty of dining options. Internet is expensive. Breakfast was fine. I don't understand the complaints in reviews I was there for 9 days. Hotel was full and food was plentiful all of the time.

If you are there for Wimbledon Tennis at AELTC, plan on 20 minutes and 12 GBP each way. Tube and bus are not practical.

If coming from LHR or LGW have the book cab in advance. It saves 50%,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I was delighted to read your review followng your stay at the hotel.Thank you so much for your kind comments about the staff which I have since shared with them.It is very rewarding to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Seyda Akbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Third time I have stayed here and on each occassion the treatment by the staff and rooms have been of a quality that i do not hestitate to return when necessary. Only 'ISSUE' is the very limited menu - so limited I hestitate in calling it a menu. Saying that there is plenty of food options in the neighbourhood - which maybe why...

Room Tip: 3rd floor further away from road if you like to open your window for fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I was delighted to read your review following your recent stay with us which has since been shared with my team. I was pleased to see you had a pleasant stay and with regards to limited menu as Holiday Inn Express brand we do offer snack menu rather than an alacarte menu.I do hope you will consider another visit next time you are in Wimbledon area.Kind regards Seyda Akbas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went for new year, didn't get choose the hotel but we were happy with it.

Room was fine, and the are was okay.

No nice views out the rooms but it was a place to lie our heads so we were happy.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing though.
No eggs, No pastries. Just bread, sausages and beans.
Not a continental breakfast in my opinion.

Apart from that, its a perfectly acceptable hotel for a London stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here when we had tickets for Centre Court in Wimbledon in June 2013. The hotel has been extended since our last visit a few years ago and the rooms have been refurbished.As a result, during the golden tennis fortnight of the area, the hotel chain more than doubled the usual rate which appears to be circa £80, not a bad price. However, because of our selected dates, our total bill for bed and breakfast for Sunday night and Monday night plus parking and VAT came to £362, which is quite a large bill for a "budget" hotel. Was it worth it? In terms of the tennis, it was since we had a wonderful day. In terms of the room, I think it's cynical of Holiday Inn to inflate their prices on such a scale. The room was exceptionally clean, with pleasant enough bathroom fittings but the decor was depressingl Their designer has chosen blue, more blue and grey without giving enough thought to lighting. Whilst it was impossible to read in bed, the light provided for the desk was useless since no chair had been provided on which to sit and use a computer. Even though I don't object to the use of large liquid soap containers in the bathroom, it is totally unacceptable to fail to provide a lavatory brush or a plastic tumbler. Everything is pared down to the absolute limit, with the exception of a safe which was available for valuables. Breakfast was acceptable with a limited selection of hot food but it catered for most tastes.It is hard to work out if this hotel chain really caters for business men and women since wifi is not free and only one computer is available in the lobby but at a price! When are hotels in the UK going to realise that their customers expect WIFI access for free? (Many European hotels just provide it automatically. It's part of life now). We parked in the garage and found it easy to retrieve our vehicle.. However the provision of only 35 places means that getting to the hotel early to claim a place is crucial and could be stressful. Where do you park if you fail to get in? I really don't know. Getting to central London is easy with the Tube just across the road. If you want a pint go in the pub next door but be prepared for London prices. However, the ambience is delightful and the garden was very inviting on a hot Sunday afternoon, with several families meeting friends for a quiet drink. . Would I stay in this hotel again? probably but only if we get tickets allocated to us again.

Room Tip: Choose a side room to cut down noise of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience with us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed Wimbledon tennis and your stay. Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and it is through constructive comments such as yours that we are able to strive to improve the service and the product that we offer guests in our hotel and in the IHG group. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back next year for Wimbledon. Kind Regards, Seyda Akbas General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First time in Holiday Inn Express hotel. Conveniently close to tube station, M&S, Sainsbury supermarket. Charles Holden pub next door serves mean mains and drinks. Rooms are adequate,if newly refurbished. Well-cleaned rooms. Helpful staff at reception. Breakfast range is sufficient. We were okay with the sausages - we'd tasted worse - guess could be better, like the ones in full English breakfast? 5-min walk up and down streets will bring you closer to local stores. Carpark spaces small & limited. If renting a car- get a smaller one. Seriously.

Room Tip: Ask if rooms newly refurbished/main road facing-esp if you like your windows open (beware ambulance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review and your kind comments regarding staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. It is always motivating for all members of the team to receive positive feedback . I can assure you that we always seek to maintain the highest standards of quality products and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Seyda Akbas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good location, just opposite the Colliers Wood Northern Line Tube Station. There are two markets nearby, open 24 hours. There are Burger King,i Toys R Us and a few other shops nearby. Other than location the hotel is not very nice. Breakfast is very limited, only 1 internet computer available(no wifi in lobby), no refrigerator in rooms. For 1-2 days visit I would recommend it, but for longer you can have better options for that price.
Because of nearby hospital there can always be ambulance sounds any time of night.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator, if it is weekend night stay away from adjacent restaurant/bar. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear siskebap,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Address: 200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.