We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #537 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Decent value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights on a short holiday in London. It was a bit out of the central London area (about a half hour's train ride from the theater district). One thing to note - the hotel is actually near the Collier's Wood tube station, not Wimbledon as we had thought from its name. The room had decent space for the four of us (2 adults, 1 teenager, 1 younger) and was clean. When we checked in, we had to wait for at least 10 minutes while the only clerk was on the phone handling a reservation problem. That was annoying, but finally a manager came over to check us in. The rooms were alright, although strangely our bedsheets were not fitted and kept coming off the bed. Otherwise the beds were pretty comfortable. We had a small problem opening the safe int he room, but the manager came up quickly to resolve it (oddly, he could have told us what to do over the phone, but came up instead.) The breakfast buffet was standard and included cereals, breads, and a little fruit. Overall it was a decent place to stay out of the main central area, for less than the exorbitant prices you pay closer to the center of London.

Room Tip: We had a room near the lift, which was a bit too noisy at times. Try to get one further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    158
    93
    32
    16
See reviews for
116
81
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Delighted to find that the hotel really is just across the road from Colliers Wood tube station - not far to drag a suitcase to. Contemporary look and feel to the entrance with a small lounge off to the right and 8 or 10 steps up to reception and the breakfast room (there is a lift). Greeted warmly by receptionist who asked if we had a car (we didn't) and reservation found promptly. Getting a second key wasn't a problem. Took lift up to second floor to our room which had an exceptionally high ceiling and was simply furnished with a double bed, sofa bed and large screen TV. The bathroom was very, very good. Huge shower and beautifully clean. There is hanging space, hairdryer, kettle and a safe but not a lot of drawer space.
Unfortunately the bed was extremely soft and bouncy and sloped backwards towards the fixed headboard so we did have disturbed sleep whenever either of us turned over.
My husband and I had different experiences of breakfast - his was "chaotic" with cutlery and food both running out together with watery orange juice. I went down later on both mornings and had a much more pleasant experience. Scrambled eggs and baked beans both hot and fresh (didn't try the sausages) and oj perfect.Staff were working extremely hard to replenish.
Reception very helpful in giving directions and calling taxis - checking the journey price first.
There is a small parade of shops on each side of the road by the hotel together with restaurants and a pub and a large retail park just up the road.
We would definitely stay here again - our expectations were exceeded - just don't expect 5 star luxury, that's not what you've paid for.

Room Tip: Ours was at the front of the hotel overlooking the road - we did hear sirens during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here on Friday the 5th of April for 1 night.

We arrived a little early for check in but the lady at reception was very helpful and allowed us to check in 45 minutes early no problem.

When we went upstairs to the room it was very clean and tidy and the sofa bed was made as there was myself my wife and our 2 boys staying.

The location was great as it was right outside colliers wood tube station which is only 20 minutes from central London.

All in all very very pleased as I had booked early to get the cheapest rate which was £49 for a family room which included breakfast for 4 people. Absolute bargain for London even at the best of times.

Would stay here again and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really easy to find using sat nav as the hotel is easily accessed from the A3. As you approach from the A3 South the hotel is on the left hand side of the road. There is secure parking and the charge of £10 overnight is reasonable. You drive into a little road just before the hotel, drive down a slope and there is an button entry to the carpark - they cannot reserve spaces but i was told there are other car parking options locally when the car park is full. when i arrived there was plenty of space.

I arrived to check in around 12.30 on a saturday afternoon and did not expect to be able to check in but was lucky. I was made really welcome. The hotel had a great feel and has been extended and refurbished and was well presented and clean.

My room was a great size. You do hear siren noise as there is a hospital near by but although i heard the noise during hte afternoon there was no issues overnight. i did have my window shut. Great size bathroom with shower. My one issue was bathroom lighting was subdued but the room lighting was good. Really comfy bed. Great heating too.

Checkout on sunday was effortless and again really friendly service. I did not stay for the inclusive breakfast as there was a tour party eating and it was chaos.

i would return again if i had to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family have been staying with several Holiday Inn Express Hotels in London in the past but this is our 1st experience with Hol Inn Exp Wimbeldon South. Location was great - less than a minute walk from Colliers Wood Tube Station, which is approx. 25 min away from London central via tube. Nearby, there is a large retail park with Sainsburys superstore as well as a good selection of restaurants too. Its location was the reason why we'd stayed with them.

However, breakfast was a horror! 2 out of 3 days, we were served with over-cooked sausages which looked and tasted like 'plastic'! Sausages were unusually light in colour, all with badly wrinkled skin and many had its meat burst opened. It was as if the sausages were overly microwaved instead of cooked in the oven or over the stove.

I had complained to the hotel reception - was told that the hotel manager would speak with us but she did not turn up. Eventually, we were told to write our experience in their customer feedback form at the end of our stay to help them improve and also for them to highlight the problem to the management. Apparently, there were other customers whom have already complained about the same problem too but surprisingly no action has been taken. The hotel seemed to blame the problem on the sausages supplier but we would like to add that we did not have problems like this with other Holiday Inn Expresses around London.

Another very unpleasant experience with our stay was with its drainage in the shower at our room no. 220. It was badly clogged with hair till water had overflowed whenever we started to use the shower. This problem should have been picked up by the hotel's housekeeping instantly while cleaning the shower but unfortunately, the staff may have turned a blind eye on the problem. As we had checked in very late to the hotel and badly needed a shower, we ended up removing a huge ball of hair stucked inside the drain of the shower.

Overall, our experience with the hotel was rather unpleasant and we would not recommend our friends to stay with the hotel until they solve the issues with the 'plastic' sausages and improve their housekeeping standards.

Room Tip: Ask a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MOYSC,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are delighted you appreciated our convenient location. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the breakfast and the poor service you received. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed from 2nd to 4th April 2013, Hotel is diagonally opposite Colliers Wood Underground Station on the Northern Line (Approx 14 stops and 40 minutes from Central London) and also well connected by bus to Morden (also 2 stops pass Colliers Wood) and Wimbledon. I had read reviews from other guests prior to going to this hotel and called in advance to follow room tips from this and other review websites only to be told that it had been refurbished. On arrival I was given a "new room" which was very plesent and spacious enough for me and my girlfriend. The TV bracket could have had more flexibility in movement but was ample enough, the air con worked well and when left for 30 seconds the lights came on bright enough to see what you were doing, but all in all you do not go to a hotel to stay in all day but just to sleep. The breakfast was to the usual Holiday Inn Express standards that I have experienced however on the last morning the sausages looked like they were re-heated and one was so tough it could of offered me a fight outside, but again that was the only dampener on the whole experience. Staff are very polite and cannot help you enough, yes they had problems with mugs on our last day but you just have to ask and they will get one for you. As for sirens, having lived in London it is the same no matter where you go and also the same in any major city throughout the world. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 3rd floor, however be prepared to wait for the lift at busier times. I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family (2 adults and 2 children) for 3 nights. Decent enough hotel, easy enough to find by car although we had to check in before we could access the secure, underground car park.
It was a nice surprise to have access to tea/coffee throughout the day, although wifi was still chargeable in the public areas.
The first morning, we arrived for breakfast at 9am and had to ask for everything from mugs to cutlery, plates etc. However, the subsequent mornings were fine.
We ate in the next door pub one night - £12.50 for burger & chips / piri piri chicken & chips but it was very tasty!

My only criticism is that hotels should be aware of how many occupants there are and make the rooms up accordingly - we had to ask for extra towels and mugs on both nights one and two. The third night, I just couldn't be bothered to ask again! Also, there were no water glasses in the bathroom.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear dangers_7,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Address: 200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.