We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #483 of 1,069 hotels in London
Exmouth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really like this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

When driving to London hotels issues are often accessibility and parking charges. I breezed into Colliers Wood (I accept this might not be always the case) and in to a secured underground car park. It is a smallish carpark though and am not at all sure where I would have gone if it had been full. Also it was not in my view very well signposted how/where to get in as the Holiday In car park for patrons etc and it took me a while to work it out though perhaps I was just being a bit dumb. Anyway I was not charged extra for parking as evidently some people have so the price of £76 for a midweek stay was excellent. So close to the tube Station with easy access (20/25mins to Waterloo) and you therefore feel really safe. The staff were efficient and friendly. Not sure if my room was a refurbished one but regardless it was functional and what I expected. HI Express free breakfasts divide opinion. They even divide me! I think when I am on business its ok to fill a hole get ok coffee and juice and be on my way. If I was staying at weekend I think I would give the food a swerve have drinks and search out a decent brekkie elsewhere job done. I will use this hotel again for business and pleasure without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon, we value all feedback received as this allows us to improve the service we offer to our guests

The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment and extension allowing us to increase the rooms from 83 to 139 and as a result we have been able to refurbish all the rooms fully, replacing the curtains, carpets, beds, TV's, Soft Furnishing and adding triple glazing throughout the hotel. We have also been able to increase the size of the guest areas within the hotel, and add additional meeting rooms, I am glad that you were happy with the hotel and the standard of service provided to you

I would like to once again thank you for your comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    163
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
89
57
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stopped in a brand new room and cannot complain about anything. excellent location bang opposite Colliers Wood tube and a range of shops/pubs and a half decent curry house (see separate review) within 60 seconds walk. Check in efficient and new room superb for the money. Slight issue with the water in the shower, still a little underwhelming but adequate. all fittings fine, good bed/TV/room safe etc etc. You would be pushed to find a better value base with easy access to Central London. HI Express breakfast is what it is and in my view a bonus anyway. If you want a full fry up a cafe is merely steps away towards the tube station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Firstly let me thank you for taing the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South - we value all feedback received as this allows us to improve the service we offer to our guests

As you have highlighted the hotel has just completed a full refurbishment of the exsisiting 83 bedrooms and have added on 56 brand new rooms along with an extension of the hotel, this has allowed us to replace all the carpet, furtniture, TV, decor within all 139 bedrooms and we have also been able to enlarge the public areas allowing space for a larger lounge, bar and breakfast area, I am pleased that you were happy with the hotel and the room

The hotel does offer food, but also has a selection of earteries within walking distance of the hotel and we do also have takeaway menus avaliable at reception

Once again thank you for your fantastic comments and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed 1 night 17th Jan 2013
Newly refurbished, lovely rooms, spacious, lovely decor, stunning bathroom, very large shower. lovely lounge/ comfortable dining area.
Friendly staff, has an underground car park at £10 for 24hrs.
Says new menu,, i didn't try the eve meal, but menu looks typical Hol inn, burger, lasagna etc
Small amount of work being done outside, but nearly finished. excellent location shops, bars and 2 mins from Merton High Street

Downsides
Windows are apparently triple glazed,,,,, so why is there a real draft coming through them and so noisy, I was on the front room 43. right on the main road,, ask for a quiet room when booking unless you sleep like a log. Room not that warm even with heating right up
Shower, looked like an amazing power shower,,,, water tricked out,,, shame

Will I stay here again..... YES

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back,,,, front on road is really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us

As you have mentioned the hotel has just completed a huge refurbishment and extension which was completed in October 2012, thank you for your fantastic comments regarding the new hotel

I can only apologise for the issue with the heating and shower in you room and can confirm that these are being addressed

Thank you agaIn for your comments and I hope you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel itself was clean modern and quite well presented. The staff on check in were polite and helpful. The room was quite small, but again clean and well presented. The location is good, less than 1 minute from the tube station.

The main problems started at breakfast ..... we stayed the night of 31 December, so as with most guests we were up quite late in to the night, so were surprised breakfast was still only available until 10am the next morning when we had a midday checkout. We arrived in the breakfast area about 9.30am and were greeted with something like Charing Cross station at rush hour. People everywhere, and spare seats/tables nowhere to be seen.

The next problem was food, there wasnt any ! We went to the hot food cabinet and all that was left were sauages, the duty manager rushed passed saying one moment please as he headed in to the kitchen, and returned with more sausages ! Brilliant ! Eventually some beans and egg (that im sure had never ever seen a chicken) arrived. It wasnt just the hot food counter, there were no croissants/pastries available, the hot drink machine had no milk, the juice machine was serving water with a hint of orange, the list is endless. There were also no trays available, which meant even when you had eventually found somewhere to eat, you couldnt put your dirties anywhere as the rack required you to have a tray.

By extending breakfast by say an hour just this one day a year im sure the problem could be halved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback, we value all feedback received as this allows us to improve the service we provide to our guests

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service provided at breakfast during your stay with us, we have taken all your comments on board and have implemented changes to improve the smooth running of breakfast

I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a one night stop over with my family. Hotel has been through a full refurb so everything is new and clean. Underground park is £10 extra and has limited spaces so make sure you get there early.
Staff were very helpful and a good choice of breakfasts
For one night’s stay would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we value all feedback received as this allows us to improve the standard of service we offer to our guests

You have commented on how new and clean everything was at the hotel during your stay, the hotel just completed in October a full refurbishment and extension which resulted in us adding 56 new rooms all to the new Express design bedrooms and then refurbishing the remaining 83 rooms as close to the new brand bedrooms, this also meant we were able to replace all the carpets, beds, furniture, TV, power showers, sofa furnishing and added triple glazing throughout the hotel

All the public area spaces have been made larger and made to feel very stylish and modern, which allows you to relax whilst staying with us

I am pleased you were happy with the results of the refurbishment, also I am very pleased that you were happy with breakfast, we have recently made some changes to the breakfast to improve the selection of products we offer and I have now changed our sausages to butcher quality sausages

thank you for your positive comments regarding your experience at the hotel, with the staff and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abergavenny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is great as it is opposite the tube station.
Booking in was good staff friendly and helpful. The room was a good size (229) clean .no wardrobe but plenty of hanging space. Tea and coffee was available in room.however The shower head did not work properly.
Breakfast good choice of cereal, however no fruit they did not have any left when asked! Scrambled egg was not good very dry. However there is a cafe opposite that serves a cooked breakfast. We had breakfast this morning while a lady was hoovering , not the sound you want when having breakfast. We had breakfast at 9.15 so was not late as breakfast finishes at 9.30
During the night the fire alarm went off we id not have to leave our room the alarm went off within mins. However no apology when checking out this morning. I also think 10pounds a night for parking is steep.
This will not stop us staying hear again as the stay was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and the positive comments regarding the staff

I can only apologise for the fire alarm sounding during the night, this was due to a guest trying to smoke in the hotel and as the hotel is non smoking this then sounded the alarm

I am also sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast, I can confirm that we have taken your feedback and have now reassessed breakfast

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Recently refurbished, very clean and swish inside. Fast pleasant check in. We were given what appears to be a disabled room, 237, which is larger than most it seems, from the plan on the back of the door anyway.

Only gripe with the room was noise from service lift next to the room, which was noisy until early evening and again at 7am onwards. A lot of creaking and juddering noises from this. I was awake at 7 anyway, but could disturb someone wanting a lie in. But that was just this particular room and I am sure if we had asked we could have moved.

Breakfast choice is limited as per all HI Express, but perfectly adequate for a budget hotel. I don't understand why they have beans, sausages and scrambled egg but not bacon at HI Expresses, a bit bizarre, but not just this hotel but all in the chain. Shortage of glasses and forks a little silly thing that could easily be rectified, shouldn't be having to wait for such things to come from the dishwasher. However I have refrained from marking it down for this, but 4.5 would be a fair score. Also 10am seems early for breakfast finish time on a Sunday. There were lots of people still queuing up at this time. 1030 would seem better.

The decor and interior though is better than most budget hotels. Location is excellent, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within a mile or so, including a massive Sainsbury's and M&S just over the road. Position to Colliers Wood underground is also excellent. 30 mins into Waterloo.

Really pleased with our choice, excellent value for money and exceeded our expectations. Just some attention to the little silly things like forks and glasses at breakfast would improve matters!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter, but try and avoid ones near the service lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Wimbledon South

As you have highlighted the hotel has just completed a £4.5 million refurbishment and extension whic has increased the rooms avaliable from 83 to 139, we have also replaced all beds, curtains, carpets, TVs, soft furnishings, power showers, in room safes and have installed triple glazed windows. All the guest areas have been made much larger and are very stylish and fresh. I am pleased you found the hotel of a high standard

I am sorry there was a shortage of crockery at breakfast, this has now been rectified

I would like to thank you once again for your comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South England
Address: 200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#435 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.