We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a transformation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #514 of 1,073 hotels in London
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a transformation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As some one who spends over 100 nights a year in hotels and a Holiday inn Gold card account holder I was pleasantly suprised by the change when I stopped there for the first time last week, having stayed away for about 6 months. I have previously complained about this hotel and to the hotel although it fell on deaf ears, but now it has been refurbed, its Great. Superb Friendly Colleagues and Great rooms. Would recommend to all and am just about to book again for next week. Keep up the Great work, Much, Much, Improved, Thank You.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South - we value all feedback received whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the quality of service we offer to our guests

The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment and extension, which has resulted in us increasing our bedstock from 83 to 139 and allowed us to replace all the soft furnishings, carpets, beds, TV's, showers, furniture, windows in all the exsisting rooms andwe have also extended all our guest public areas and refurbished them offering a higher quality of product

I am pleased to see from your comments that you were very impressed with the hotel and that you were happy with the service which you received and the positive comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the team at the hotel

I would like to once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    128
    77
    31
    14
See reviews for
103
64
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NW UK
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the past few weeks and it has changed inside layouts every time. The refurb was nearly complete last time I stayed. The reception and bar area are all new and clean. They have weird coloured elephants in the reception area.Staff were all great although they appeared to be training new reception staff - we all have to learn!. My room was 150 which was spotlessly clean, large, good work space. Good value high speed internet access at £7 for 24 hours. much better value than the £16 charged in some holiday inns. The location is more Colliers Wood than Wimbledon and a taxi to Wimbledon village is £10 - £12. Turn left out of the new reception and there is a taxi office 150m away. I will use this hotel again if I am in the area for work or business.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon, we value all the feedback we receive whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the standard of service we provide to our guests

We have just completed a £5 million extension and refurbishment of the hotel which has resulted in the public area space being made larger and all new furniture being puchased, we now have four large meeting rooms and larger Breakfast Area and Great Room.
All the exsisting bedrooms have been fully refurbished with new furniture, soft furnishings, TV, Power Showers, carpets, triple glazed windows

As a result of this refrubishment and extension we have had to increase our staffing levels on reception which has meant that we are training four new members of staff.

The hotel is located directly opposite Colliers Wood Tube Station and is a 10/15 minute walk to Wimbledon or alternatively we can arrange a taxi which will take you 5/10 minutes to get in to Wimbledon Centre

I would like to once again thank you for your comments and hope that you will return and stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I'm a regular traveller and have stayed here in the past. I was shocked at the transformation from what it was in the past to this new superb easily 4 star hotel. The entrance is awesome, the new reception and bfast area is spacious and superbly decked out. The rooms are all brand spanking new so really had a fantastic sleep and shower. The quality of bfast was excellent just what you would expect from an Express and it was free! Hotel is right opp tube station so getting to and from is easy. The staff were very friendly. I even had a really friendly chat with one of the cleaners who bent over backwards to help me find my watch which I had misplaced in the room! All in all I am really pleased with my stay and will be coming back regularly now that the building work has finished and for the price I paid I'm getting a brand new top quality hotel! Awesome

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us you feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon, we vaue all feedback whether this is positive or negative comments as this allows us to improve the service we offer to our guests

It is positive to hear from your comments that the hotel looks brand new, we have just completed a £4.5 million refurbishment of the whole hotel which has resulted in us offering a better quality of product, allowing spacious rooms and public areas for our guests. It is really positive to hear that you valued our breakfast offering, as an Express hotel will are limited to items which we can serve to our guests

I am very pleased that you found my team of staff to be very helpful and friendly

I would like to once again thank you for taking the time t giv us your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago and the building works seemed to be nearly complete. The reception area looks great (more stylish that I was expecting - quite boutique-y) and it was very comfortable for drinks in the evening and breakfast in the morning. The staff were really friendly and very helpful when I needed directions to local shops. The main thing for me was the size and quality of the room. London hotels are usually so pokey but I had plenty of space and this meant I could really relax. The room was newly re-furbished so everything is very clean and in good working order. I drove to the hotel and parked underneath, but spotted the tube station over the road - so location is perfect too. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Wimbledon South

I would like to thank you for all your positive comments regarding your recent stay and experience with us, as you have highlighted the hotel has gone through a huge redevelopment resulting in a fantastic hotel product, the design is very boutique and extremely spacious

I am pleased that you found the staff extremely helpful during your stay

I wold like to once again than you for your positive comments and hope you will stay with us again in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Recently stayed for a few nights for work and was very greeted very well and made to feel welcome on arrival. Even though I knew there was building works and it's obvious about building works from outside and inside, maybe nice to have been informed in detail or a handout letter the hours of works and maybe, just my own opinion, an apology bear with us message, on check in.

The room I was in, was clearly a new room. Lovely comfy double bed, freeview big screen tv, clean spacious bathroom and all very neat and tidy. Standard but very nice for a holiday inn.

The staff at reception were all lovely and helpful, but the biggest let down were the leaning staff. Disgustingly rude. On my first morning, when trying to get to the lift, a foreign cleaning lady just stared at me while I tried to hold the doors. No help whatsoever, she let the doors close on me.

Towels were just left outside my door all day and nobody knocked to let me know.

On another morning, early, 3 cleaning ladies (including previous rude one) were all sat around the lift, with no shoes on, chatting away, quite loudly at about 830, no respect for guests, and made no effort to smile, make me feel welcome. They didn't move out my way. Terrible behaviour that needs to be rectified. Really bad manners and attitude. Never experienced before in a hotel.

The reception, despite under going major refurb looks like its going to be great, it's very comfy and modern and the complimentary breakfast is just right. Coffee is good, juices nice and hot breakfast and cereal and fruit available.

All in all, an ok stay, disturbed by building works, but knew that was likely, comfy rooms, nice reception staff and food, spoilt by attitude of the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South, we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this helps us to improve the service we offer to our guests

As you have mentioned the hotel is currently undergoing a full refurbishment which started August 2011 and is due to be completed Autumn 2012, as part of this all the rooms have had new furniture, TV, Shwers, decoration, carpets, case goods and Windows - I am pleased that you noticed this whilst staying with us and the refurbishment works did not cause you any disruption

I can only appologise for the behaviour of my Housekeeping Team and please be advised that the members of staff in question have been addressed and they are sincerely apologetic for their behaviour

I would like to once again sincerely apologise for any inconveniance caused to you during your stay with us and hope that this will not deter you from staying again with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

stayed at the holiday inn express wimbledon for olympics left my camera behind staff went to so much trouble to send it to me by post, friendly clean good chioce for breakfast however overpriced at £300 for one night for two think this may be due to olympics and was booked well in advance

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Firstly let me take the time to thank you for gicing us your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South, we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service we offer to our guests

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the helpfulness of my team of staff at the hotel - I have passed on your positive feedback and they are sincerely grateful

I would like to thank you once again for your positive feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Unfortunately I booked in advance to get room for Olympics, £279 per night , when we booked in had dropped to £90 per night and they couldn't help us, ever felt stung good and proper. However, on the plus side although work was ongong did not disturb us at all and we had a lovely refurbished room, although 5 station, old tv still in place. The breakfast room was newly refurbished and was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at back for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value all feedback received whether this is positive or negative, thank you for your positive comments regarding the newly refurbished guest rooms and public area space, all of our beds have had a full refurbishment including beds, furniture, soft furnishings, artwork, the TV s are due to get replaced with LCD flat screens and free view channels at the end of August

The hotel rates vary depending on the hotels availability, and due to the special event terms and conditions we are unable to do anything with rates that have been prebooked


Once again I would like to thank you for giving us your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Address: 200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.