We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #512 of 1,073 hotels in London
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in the past and it was very much in need of a make up as it was looking tired. I had read on their WEBSITE that they were undergoing an extension so when I arrived last week I was pleased that finally the hotel is undergoing this much needed refurbishment. I saw the pictures of what the hotel will look like and all I can say is WOW WOW WOW. I have made a point to rebook later in the summer because it will be amazing!!! The staff were very friendly and though there wasn't much space for breakfast they allowed us to take the breakfast back into our bedroom. The cleaning lady asked if my room was cleaned to my satisfaction, which it was. Reception staff were always asking if there was any problems and if they can help sort them out. The hotel is very close to the tube station and has underground parking - bonus! there are also some good eating places near by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we value all feedback as this allows us to improve the service we provide to our guest going forward

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the team of staff I have working at the hotel, they will all go that extra mile to make our guests experience a positive one

As you have mentioned we are doing a full refurbishment of the hotel, within this all the guest areas are being completely replaced with new decor, furniture, equipment. All the bedrooms are having new furniture, TVs, carpet, case goods and soft furnishing and we will also have increased our room count from 83 to 139, as a result of this the hotel will be of much higher standard and quality

I would like to once again thank you for your positive comments and hope you are impressed with the new hotel when you stay with us again later this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    127
    75
    30
    14
See reviews for
99
64
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked this hotel for a family break over the Jubilee weekend 3 nights , and was quite frankly shocked that a quality chain like Holiday inn think that it is acceptable to leave hotel in this state open , with NO WARNING on any of the booking information.
To get in & out of the hotel via the courtyard you have to dodge the lorries reversing ,
the breakfast was very basic and had to be carried up to our rooms and eaten whilst sitting on the floor over the bed , in a family of 4 room there is no other way .
My little girl after going through the excitement of staying in a hotel very quickly , asked on the 2nd morning , if "next time we go away can I get a better hotel "
The tv only showed the 4 basic channels , no kids channels or news.
Off course the fire alarm going off at 6.25am didn't help , and after returning to our beds after being told it was a false alarm , it went of again this time we had a half hour wait for the fire engine in the car park.
After the all clear , off course all the guests are awake at once @ 7.30 and all want breakfast , and they run out of trays to carry you breakfast to your rooms !!

Despite what the manager says we were given no indication that the hotel had been turned into a building site , you have to scroll down the holiday inn express page to find any indication of work being done.
The staff though were great , and tried there best , but someone at a higher level needs to take a closer look at whats going on here

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service we provide to our guests

As you have highlighted the hotel is currently undergoing full construction work and a full refurbishment, this started 22nd August 2011 and is due to be completed August 2012, as a result of this we have had announcements of all our booking channels advising guests of the current condition at the hotel, also advising that the breakfast is avaliable to go or guests can come and collect it and take it to their rooms to eat, this is due to us not having any breakfast seating.

As a part of the refurbishment all the case goods, furniture, TV, carpets are being replaced with new and we will go to freeview which will offer a wider selection of TV channels

I can only apologise if you did not see this announcement

As you have mentioned the fire alarm did go off and this was a false alarm and activated by a fault on the system, we have been advised to evacuate by our local authorities and this is why you were evvacuated from the building until the fire brigade advised it was ok for you to enter the building, this is for your own safety

I would like to once again apologise for any inconveniance caused to you and your family and hope that you will stay with us again once the refurbishment has been completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have been a platinum member of the Holiday Inn Priority Club rewards for over 6 years now using multiple HI hotels for up to 8 days a month. Never in the last 6 years have I stayed in such a poor excuse for a hotel. Whilst major renovations, including building a new wing are ongoing, this Hotel should NOT have been open to fare paying customers. It is a building site, no more and no less with a large section of the hotel devoted to the ongoing work and the storing of building materials. The work starts at 7 am which means that you need to accommodate the Hotels expansion by getting out of bed early and leaving the hotel. The workmen wander all over the Hotel so there is little privacy nor comfort which this Hotel should provide. The Naked pictures of women in the Crane window, immediately next to the Reception was appalling, what kind of message does this send out, hardly promoting the Holiday Inn brand to families.

Seriously, there is no indication that you will be seriously inconvenienced on the website but you will be under no illusions once you set foot near the hotel. The staff did their best, however, the faint "sorry" from Sidi when I checked out a day early because of the situation was not good enough. If this is how Holiday Inn chooses to treat their loyal customers then they can think again. There are many others to choose from that do not invoke coming eye to eye with Builders and noise at 7am in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service we offer to our guests

As you have highlighted the hotel is currently undergoing full construction and a full refurbishment! This started August 2011 and is due to be completed August 2012! We have had announcements on all our booking channels since August 2011 advising guests of the current condition at the hotel, the limited parking, that we are offering breakfast to go or be collected and taken to the guests rooms, I can only apologise if you did not see these announcements

I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience the builders caused to you and for any of the material which they had in there crane window, I have forwarded your comments on to the management of the contractors and they are apologetic

I would like to once again sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again in the future once the construction work has been completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I found this place so nice and convenient that I stayed here every time for three consecutive years when I was in London. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleaning lady would always ask if my room was cleaned to my liking! Proximity to the tube station was the best part. In addition there's a Burger King just across the road and further down, a huge M&S and Sainsbury's where you could find a late dinner after coming from the city. Breakfast used to be wonderful, the sausages were HEAVENLY! The carpet in the corridor needed a wash though. I'm happy to hear its being renovated, it will be better now. Wanted to book this year too but in March the rate had climbed to GBP 150 for July already, so have to go to the Golders Green one now. All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road and the stairs are quieter. they once gave me a room looking out over wandl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback, we value all feedback whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service we provide to our guests.

I would like to thank you for the positive feedback you have given regarding the team of staff I have at the hotel! I have fed your feedback back and they are very appreciative

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stat with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raby Mere
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is being extensively modified and is covered scaffolding and steelwork and is a complete mess. The breakfast area does not exist so get your food in the cold and try and eat it in your noisey room as the workmen will ruin it. The entrance is full of mud and there is nowhere to relax or sit down as the bar has gone as weel. How they can operate this place and keep it open for customers is beyond me. We stayed as a last resort with our daughter and had two rooms as she was running the London Marathon. It was too late to move when we arrived - so don't make the same mistake - cancel your booking now. The building work will be running for many months - to July 2012 at earliest so cancel and move if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for your feedback we value all feedback whether is is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service we provide to out guests

You have highlighted in your comments that the hotel is currently undergoing extensive construction work, this started in August 2011 and is due to be completed in August 2012, we have had announcements loaded on all our booking channels advising guests of the current condition of the hotel, within these announcements it also advises the guest that we currently have no breakfast seating and are offering breakfast to go or guests can alternatively come down and collect breakfast their breakfast and eat it in their rooms, we also have no bar facilities at the hotel and very limited parking

I would like to apologise for any inconveniance caused to you and your family and hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again in the future once the refurbishment has been completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A very poor experience. Chaotic, no hot water and no one seemed to care. Renovations NOT MENTIONED at all in advance.

I arrived at 2pm (check in time) to find that I couldn't park owing to a building site delivery. I drove around the block (no mean feat in Wimbledon during the day), returned and had to block the car park to get reception to let me in. Then I couldn't have a room key as reception were moving - had to get a member of staff to let me in and out of the room for the next couple of hours every time I wanted to leave it.

The car park is partly blocked leaving space for about 10 cars - I don't know what you do if its full, there is nowhere obvious locally - there were 3 spaces left when I arrived at 2pm. The lifts don't work. The corridors are dusty and my room was next to plywood boarded areas which seemed to back on to open air judging by the cold wind blowing. The view out of the window of scaffolding included all the workmen running up and down.

The TV guide claimed 19 channels - in fact none except channels 1 to 5 worked, its a while since i stayed in a hotel with such limited channel choice, and an antique CRT TV.

Worst there was no hot water. Reception told me to run the taps on full force for 5 minutes and told me that I must be mistaken "we have just had a new boiler", I wasn't mistaken, there was no hot water even when left on "full force" (actually a dribble) for half an hour. I did boil a kettle to wash, not exactly 21st century though. I complained twice, no one visited the room, and I got the impression they couldn't care less. I did get the car parking fee knocked off as compenstaion (£10.00), big deal as my company pays, I'd rather have had the water and a properly working TV.

Oh - and I almost forgot - this morning I tried to get into reception, as its moved there is no handle on the door and no staff so I had to hammer on the door to be let in.

Most holiday inn's are pretty good - standard quality - this fell well below that standard, and competing chains, and if the staff disinterest continues after renovations I still wouldn't touch it. Premier Inn and Travellodge (which are not the best) far exceed this in quality.

Room Tip: Stay at the back if you have the option. Request a room with tested basic services, like all TV chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback we value all feedback given whether this is positive or negative as this allows us to improve the service which we offer to our guests

As you have highlighted the hotel is currently going through full construction work and a full refurbishment, this started on 22nd August 2011 and is due to be completed August 2012, we have had announcements loaded on all our booking channels advising guests of the current situation, as this allows them the option of finding an alternative hotel, as part of this the reception area was moved on Monday and as part of this all our systems were offline for a duration of the day, I would like to apologise for any inconveniance caused to you. We also have loaded on all our channels information advising guests that we have a car park which has limited space due to the building work which is currently happening and this is avaliable on a first come basis.

As part of the refurbishment all the exsisting furniture, equipment, soft furnishing are all being replaced and we will go to freeview.

As part of the ongoing work at the hotel we have had some issues with the water in the hotel, this is due to us having a new boiler fitted, as soon as we were aware of the issues we called out the engineers and they were able to rectify the problems

I would like to once again apologise for any inconveniance caused to you during your stay with us and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future once the refurbishment has been completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Very close to Colliers Wood tube, and walkable to St George's. Rooms are tired and in need of updating - hence the renovation. Staff helpful and friendly. Have stayed at the front and back of the hotel - much more traffic noise at the front.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express London Wimbledon South, we value all feedback as this allows us to improve the service which we offer to our guests

The hotel is located within walking distance of St Georges Hospital. If you are booked into a room at the front of the hotel and would prefer a room at the rear, if you contact reception which is manned 24 hours we would check to see if we have rooms avaliable at the rear of the hotel and would automatically move you to a rear facing room

I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful, I will forward your positive comments onto them

Once again I would like to thank you for giving us your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again in the future once the refurbishment and construction works have been completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Address: 200 High Street | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #512 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.