We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never not ever again no matter what” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Court Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64-65 Princess Square, London W2 4PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #962 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never not ever again no matter what”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

at first glance it seemed to be OK at the reception, my room was pre-paid but at the point where they said that they needed to take a £20 pre-authorisation "in case of damage to the room" really got me thinking 2 things.

Firstly if they take a £20 deposit from each guest they must "expect" the rooms to be damaged by their clientèle, not somewhere that id choose to stay if my fellow guests are likely to damage their rooms.

secondly, if they only take £20 then they must be assuming this is the maximum amount of damage that could be done to the rooms?

Having stayed their I think that I would struggle to do more that £20 damage to the rooms so I guess they are right...........................

The room itself was a double & single combined, one single bed on the lower part of the room and then a double up on a makeshift mezzanine (there are several health and safety factors to take into account with this mezzanine let alone non-compliances with the building regulations)

The beds themselves were grubby as were the walls and lets not talk about the "shower room" which was dire

Having said all that I did get a room with a view, a view of the back garden which had old bedding and rubbish strewn all over it

Am I being unfair, no not really just honest, I left very early the following morning and went for a shower at another hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    66
    55
    126
See reviews for
77
49
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked this hotel as we were only staying one night, wanted cheap but clean accommodation and somewhere comfy to lay our heads. What an absolute disgrace. DO NOT be fooled by the price or the pictures on the website - its all lies.
We were in the grubby basement, with dirty paintwork, panels coming of woodwork, towels that were frayed at the end (look about 10years old), mould covering the bottom of the door on the shower - rendering it unusable in my opinion. After having a quick look at the breakfast room we decided to definitely not eat there for breakfast and checked out very early. The receptionist and other staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming and struggled with basic english, making it impossible to point us in the right direction for tourist spots and the local tube station.
We will never be returning again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was cheaper than others but we were very sorry afterwards. On arrival the receptionist's english was very sparse and she couldn't advise us on basic issues such as where to park. The room was very small, rundown and dirty. When we opened the bed it was clear that it hadn't been changed as there were long black hairs on the pillows and sheets!! The TV didn't work and we were covered in bites the next morning. We went down to breakfast (hardboiled eggs, cold meats, peanut butter and toast) 15 minutes before the end but the staff started removing the food and coffee 3 minutes before breakfast time was over - we had to beg for a second cup of coffee!!

Take our advise - don't go to this hotel - you'll regret it as we did!
Pay a bit more for a lot more!

Room Tip: don't go - the rooms are terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 31st December,
The area was nice but the hotel was awful the beds are so uncomfy...the base should also be thrown out due to the fact they are disgusting in the 3 single beds room, we had a bathroom the Toliet was fine, the shower well you can't really call it a shower all you got is a drop and you couldn't really make it faster, also on the edge of it was broke, yes as people said before their is alot of stairs we were at the top, you can't watch the TV as it frezzes all the time so you can't have sound in the back round while getting ready and the kettle we had to put it on the floor to use it because they have a funny room layout


I wouldn't tell my friends or family to book this hotel we will be booking somewhere better next year

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The service was rude, the rooms were just okay. Kind of dirty. We were on the fourth floor (third) and the stairways were very long. I would not stay again. Location was about 10 minutes from bayswater tube stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for three nights where the main activity was shopping, so be chose this hotel based on our needs; a bed, a shower and roof over our head. We arrived a bit late so we had a little trouble of finding it. The room was small, but it fulfilled our needs. The only thing to complain about is the stairs, it's with carpet and you can get a feeling where you down have a grip on it and that makes it heavy to walk on. Breakfast was included, was OK, just what you will find in your own fridge, maybe ur own will be better.. There's shops bearly 5 min walk away, and up the street you'll find the tube. Had to change tube 1 time to get to central line, but with daypass it went smoothly, and with short waiting time. Would stay here again if the price is still the same;)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night, requested a double room for 2 people with continental breakfast. The hotel was a little hard to find from the tube station but we made it, check in was easy and the man at the desk was friendly. No lifts in the hotel so had to climb 4 flights of stairs with our luggage, I'd say this hotel is not good for people with walking difficulties. Room was really big, we had a double bed and a single bed, bathroom with a shower. The room was very basic and clean if a bit smelly. The bed was comfy enough and it was quiet, we slept well. Breakfast was very basic but edible. Overall not bad for budget accommodation.

Room Tip: If stairs are a difficulty for you maybe request a room on the ground floor if they have such a thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Court Hotel

Address: 64-65 Princess Square, London W2 4PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #962 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palace Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Palace Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Court London
Hotel Palace Court
Palace Court Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.