We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Kensington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Kensington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #618 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good location. Proximity to bars, restaurants, and train station excellent. However, the room was small even for European standards. The beds were soft and excellent linen. The bathroom was the best feature of the room. The breakfast was mediocre. Overpriced for the accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    105
    73
    31
    23
See reviews for
83
65
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Understaffed. No breakfast until 7.30am. Reception often unmanned and door locked. Difficult to get in after 10pm! Rooms clean, good bed-linen but otherwise cheaply furnished. 'Russian' lightshades. Breakfast mediocre. Worth £65 per night but I paid £150 - really irritated that I was duped. Should have paid the cancellation fee and gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Backs on to Earls Court station - noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights. On arrival, reception staff we friendly and helpful. Lovely clean room. Surprisingly quiet for such a central location. Breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Room106 - spacious with 2 large, comfortable beds - bathroom small but more than adequate.
Our second stay and have already recommended it to others, especially if visiting Earls Court. Simple but plentiful breakfast.

Room Tip: Keep to the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Clean
Nice staff
Simple but good breakfast
Good price in London
Good location, mins walk to tube station "Earls Court"
"Earls Court" is a convenient area to stay for travelling in Central London
Many restaurant and fast food shop nearby
Comfort room and bed
Quiet
Safe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

OMG!! We were very dissaponted for rooms. We get two rooms and they both were extremely drafty. There were no air ventilations, it was done by gap in window frames. Beds were actually pretty goods, large and comfortably. Breakfast was quite poor. I wonder why everything what they served have to make one by one.
We have been London several times, and I have to say that this Hotel was the worst where we have stay.
Next time we would propeply stay in next door...beem there too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

this hotel was perfect for us .The staff excellent .The room was an ok size bathroom a little small but the shower had nice hot water which was lovely .Breakfast was also good with a wide choice of things to have .All in all a lovely hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Kensington Hotel

Address: 38 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lord Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lord Kensington
Lord Kensington London
Lord Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.