We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok until our room got broken into!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Rochester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Rochester Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Rochester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #524 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was ok until our room got broken into!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We arrived on a Saturday for an overnight stay, Everything was fine until we returned to the room at 10pm to find our room door had been forced open and someone had got in. Thankfully nothing was stolen. We informed the night staff who didnt really know what to do - we obviously were not happy to stay there any longer but the staff wanted us to stay in a insecure room for the night!! We demanded to stay in another hotel and after making a fuss we were put in a sister hotel. Not the greatest experience to be honest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    287
    136
    49
    32
See reviews for
77
185
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

i stayed here for 2 nights a friday and saturday in novemeber with my girlfriend. It was perfect location just around the corner from the theatre we were attending and all the main attractions are within walking distance. The service was great they opened the doors for us, always checked we were ok and were overall very pleasent. The breakfast was very plain but we are not big breakfast fans anyway. Overall i would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I had a meeting in Westminster on Monday so stayed over at the Rochester on Sunday night. I found the room (small single) on lastminute.com and it WAS small but for £55 I was very happy with it - it was clean, there was a comfortable bed, plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc, a good television. Shower room was small but shower wonderfully powerful. Only complaints were that the shower doors didn't fit properly and the plug in the basin didn't close fully which made a wet shave a little slow when I had to top the water up!
I had a glass of house red and some potato wedges from room service, which was £11. Don't know if that is expensive, as I think room service always costs a lot. Did not "do" breakfast so can't comment. I found staff extremely friendly and helpful and all in all I think it was very good - it was less money than a travellodge and a lot better. tate was c15mins away (I walk quite fast) and Victoria stn a little less.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Booked this hotel through Ticketree as we were going to a show as well it was the first on the list and therefore the cheapest and we were dubious about what we would get. But we loved it, quiet location overlooking a lovely square and within walking distance of Victoria Station and Westminster and houses of parliament and only 10 mins away from the theatre. Staff got us a taxi and between four of us we found this was the quickest and easiest way to get to and from theatre and Station (Waterloo). Everything was spotless and tea and coffee facilities were in the room we had one overlooking the square our friends were not quite so lucky but they said they could not fault their room either for comfort and cleanliness. All in all an excellent choice for a short stay in London.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed here for a three night break while on business, the staff were very nice, with the exception of the breakfast room, they were all miserable and couldn't even smile during service, the breakfast itself, included in my room rate, wasn't fantastic, same over and over every morning, which was a bore. The rooms were hot and small, overall I wouldn't come back if it was half price.......

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights recently, we booked through lastminute as a secret rooms, and having read some of the reviews were not really looking forward to it, but we were pleasantly surprised. This is a perfectly nice hotel, needs some refurbishing, but our twin room was perfectly nice, prehaps a little dark, but fine. The beds were comfortable, perhaps a little soft, but fine.The bathroom was very nice, lovely luxury towels which were changed even though only staying two nights we didn't really need them changed. The single room on the 1st floor which one of us had was certainly tiny, but for 2 nights it was fine, although if staying longer it might have been a bit claustrophobic.

It is only a 10 minute walk from Victoria, the area is o.k. but we did see quite a few down and outs camping out nearby, so be careful where you walk.

The staff were very nice and helpful, the only complaint we had was with the pricing, we payed over £10 for two small gins and tonic. WHAT EVER YOU DO DON'T HAVE BREAKFAST HERE IT IS A COMPLETE RIP OFF. We were told when we booked in that breakfast was £17, it is - for a very indifferent continental breakfast, a cooked breakfast is a further £5 +VAT making a total of at least £22 for breakfast, which is outrageous for a hotel in Victoria. I (despite appearances) am not a mean person, and when staying somewhere luxurious will pay accordingly, but I felt this was a complete rip off. There is a small "Weatherspoons" on the road to Victoria station, which charges under £5 for a full breakfast, with toast and a mug of tea/coffee, go there instead.

All in all though this was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The hotel is very well situated on leafy Vincent square in the heart of Westminster. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a good breakfast in the morning. However, our room was very small, drably furnished and excessively hot and stuffy. This made for an uncomfortable night. The room was not cheap and I would certainly expect more from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Rochester Hotel

Address: 69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#254 Family Hotel in London
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Rochester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grange Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Rochester London
Hotel Grange Rochester
Grange Rochester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Rochester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.