We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Rochester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grange Rochester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange Rochester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England (Westminster / Belgravia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #478 of 1,075 hotels in London
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Traditional and Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Four night stay in this well situated Westminster hotel. Building is vintage, as are most amenities. Operable windows were a plus, but the light switches were a continuing mystery. We had one dinner (night of arrival) in the hotel, and it was very good. Menu is somewhat limited, but tasty. Staff is very helpful, but one caveat: we asked for a cab on the early morning of our departure, which was arranged by the "concierge" rather than the front desk. The cab was unmetered, and we were overcharged for the ride to Green Park, where we wanted to go to avoid stairs. Driver tried desperately to get us to have him drive us to Heathrow. When we refused, he took us to the station entrance which had a long flight of stairs and swore it was the only entrance. It wasn't. The ramp entrance was across the street. Bad, bad performance, and I suspect the concierge was part of the plan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Vincent Square. Quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    239
    114
    39
    28
See reviews for
57
146
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a wonderful stay in the grange rochester hotel. Staff were more than helpful and friendly at all times. Room was really clean and location was central to everything. Didn't avail of breakfast as it was very expensive but there were plenty of cafés nearby. Also hotel kept our bags on our check in and departure day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is a little gem and you could miss it easily. It is a very classic styled hotel rather than overly modern which should be enjoyed. It is in a very good location with the sites of Parliament Square, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace all working distance. It is equally good for family or business.

The staff are excellent and friendly, the food is good and they have a small bar within the hotel and a larger one outside which the public can access.

The only disadvantage is not every room has air conditioning which isnt a massive problem in London as its not often that hot. The windows do open and it is a very quiet location

Room Tip: Try and get a room on one of the top floors or I did get a great room ironically in the basement lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was really pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel for the price. I had a better deal as it was a three night stay, but the room was a decent size, though the cupboard space was squashed and two people would have struggled. But the place is full of light with great views from the walk through areas, stairs etc. I booked there as it was well positioned for my work, close to Victoria station (south of the station on the way to Pimlico) There are loads of good restaurants nearby. The adjoining Vincent Square is a lovely, though private place - its the sports and cricket field for Westminster School? But a pleasant patch of greenery with Big Ben and The London Eye in the background.I found the reception staff friendly and helpful and they were very patient with a bit of an unpleasant customer who was checking in at the same time - "Why must I sign this c/card deposit? You sign it. You know it means noting done't you? I've been coming here for 17 years you know" You know the type, middle aged male. Loud and arrogant. Anyway, they handled him well.

There's a nice little restaurant/bar next door that is part of the hotel. I didn't have breakfast as it sounded expensive but it may well be wonderful. Definitely stay again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north-east england
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a lovely double room with a balcony overlooking the park. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great. If I'm being picky - there were too few sockets in the room. I could only find 3 overall and 2 of those were used by the mini-bar and TV. You had to turn the mini-bar off to use the lamp, and I couldn't straighten my hair and charge my phone without turning the TV off!

Breakfast was disappointing. I wasn't booked in and it took a while to resolve this (although the staff member was extremely courteous). Two staff members were having a very "vocal discussion" (aka a row!) over another customer who had been asked to pay when hers should also have been included, so they seem to have a bit of an issue with the booking system. They also have a very limited vegetarian choice. I did expect a hotel of this calibre to stretch to something like veggie sausages or an omelette but I had to settle for toast.

The staff are, without exception, lovely and I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at this small, traditional hotel for 3 days while attending a conference with 3 colleagues. The facility has a great location, friendly staff and fair-sized clean rooms. They drop a paper by your door in the morning and staff a cozy bar. I'd come back again.

Room Tip: Couldn't hurt to ask for a room overlooking Vincent Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A traditional London townhouse-style hotel. This hotel was great value at the price I paid (less than £150)

The room I had was spacious, with a small lounge area if a little dark. The room was fairly well furnished, though in a very traditional style - great if you like that sort of thing.

The room was quiet (unlike many other central london hotels) - no noise from guests and the bed was comfy so I had a good night's sleep.

There was a bath rather than just a shower which was great - and the shower was good too.

The breakfast was good - although there was a mix up as the table I'd been allocated was also given to another person...

The only downsides were that some of the lights in the room didn't seem to work, and there were no regular teabags in my room - so had to make do with green tea. The room was also just a little stuffy and warm, but I managed eventually to open a window - it would benefit from an aircon system.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grange Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Rochester Hotel

Address: 69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#350 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Rochester Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grange Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Rochester London
Hotel Grange Rochester
Grange Rochester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Rochester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.