We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Rochester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Rochester Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Rochester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #524 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Only my second hotel stay in a London hotel (after Park Plaza hotel) and the experience was great. Hotel pluses; 7 min walk to Vitoria station, 20 mins walk to Westminster (bridge st) with lots of cafés, bank machines etc on Victoria st, Great breakfast, great access to paid wifi, friendly and courteous staff.

That said, I have a few complaints about the hotel.1) You have to pay to access wifi £5 per hour or £10 for 24 hours. They should at least have free wifi in the lobb but then given how small the area is, they probably want to reduce increased traffic which will make an already small space even smaller.2) I did not like the fact that for sat breakfast your had to pay extra to have what was included in your room price from m-f.

Despite the two complaints, I will not hesitate to stay there again as it is a great small hotel with close walking distance to many points of interest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    287
    136
    49
    32
See reviews for
77
185
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,UK
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just a 10 min walk from Victoria (if you know where you are going and roadworks aren't in the way) this hotel is nicely tucked away and overlooks Vincent Square.
Biggest highlight for me was that my room (301 i think) overlooked the square and a cricket match was in progress so opened the french doors, stepped out onto the small balcony and watched the game ! bliss !
Room was the usual London-compact style i.e. small , but enough room for just 1 night. In fact everything was rather compact, the bar, the reception and breakfast room were all quite small.
The hotel does have a certain luxury level, staff were very helpful throughout.
At about £250 a night there are cheaper chain hotels within 10 mins but for location alone this is heard to beat,

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it is only a 10 min walk from Victoria station where we were arriving into from Gatwick. It is located in a lovely square hidden off the main road with a cricket green in the middle, very quiet and picturesque. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are small and slightly old-fashioned but clean and comfortable with a good shower. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was good, both continental and cooked. It is a 10 min walk to the river and Pimlico tube is a similar distance. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and convenient hotel, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My Mom and I stayed here for our second day in London after staying at their sister property near St. Pacreas. We were upgraded for free to a larger room with two double beds, it was comfortable and gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and ensured we had a wonderful stay. The concierge went out of his way to help us find our way to Leicester by calling the station, getting prices and times and making sure we knew where we were going. I have to disagree with the other reviews on here, this hotel is definitely a 4 star property, it was clean, beautiful and very comfortable. My only complaint is the price of the Wifi is astronomical, 24 hours will cost you 10 pounds. Other than the wifi, I have nothing but positive things to say about this place. Would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDDERSFIELD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I booked this '4 star' hotel last year as we were coming to London for the marathon. I used a credit card at the time of booking to confirm the reservation. However, it was only when we were already on the train on our way down to London, that I received an email advising the room was not confirmed as there had been a problem with authorising the card. I rang the hotel to advise not to cancel the room as we were on our way (the credit card company advised there was not an issue with the card) I was asked to arrive by 1pm or the booking would be cancelled. When we did arrive before this time, the room wasn't even ready anyway.

We therefore had a drink in the bar, a little on the small size. Some would say cozy, but no real complaint there. However, when we were shown our room, this was when my real complaint starts....

The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have seen in my life, an absolute joke. The room also had two double beds? Why!! The reservation was booked last year, so I would have thought we would receive a double room.

We started to unpack. The electrics in the room were colour coded for some strange reason, three colours in total, so we had a game of light switching on and off for 15 minutes, trying to find out what switch works where. Quite comical. I then decided to have a wash.

As soon as I turned on the taps, there was an awful stench of drains, it was so bad we had to open the windows and report it to reception. Really, the smell turned your stomach. We were then allocated a different room. Again, a very small bathroom and two double beds. The bathroom bin was broken and rusty. The overall conclusion of the room would be it required a refit as it looked quite dated and shabby. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Both on the Saturday and Sunday night we had little sleep due to the noise outside. The temperature of the room was also too high even though the radiators were turned off. Not ideal preparation for a marathon the next day.

Breakfast...my interpretation of toast is I think slices of bread..toasted. Well the kitchen staff couldn't even get this right. On both mornings, we were given warm bread at best. I returned it, only to be given..warm bread again..oh dear...a joke.

On check out, I complained to 'Meena' about our experiences and whilst she apologised in broken English, offered us no gesture of goodwill. We will not return to this hotel again.

On return back to Yorkshire, I sent an email complaining about our visit. The GM, Fazaal offered us a meal for two at the hotel restaurant with cocktails when we returned to the hotel?...I politely advised we would not be returning. Oh well come for a meal anyway, he said....

Picture the scene after arriving home from work one evening. Darling, what's for tea? Well do you fancy a 2 hour train journey to London for a meal?..I think not.

I have asked for the complaint to be taken further, but I don't expect a call back. To conclude this review, the hotel could be so much better, but it falls way short of our expectations. Very disappointing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently stayed here on business for one night. Location was very convenient as I could walk to Westminster in 10 minutes. Reception staff were very welcoming on arrival. The room was clean and a good size for London, although the bathroom was small and slightly outdated. Breakfast was great, with attentive waiting staff. Good choice of buffet items to choose from . I specially like the bar with the cozy atmosphere,the perfect place to have a drink with friends or family.
The only downside was the noise. I was on the second floor and there was a constant noise of drilling! Otherwise I was really satisfied with my stay and I would return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Like everyone else, I stayed here because of the close proximity to Victoria station,This is not a boutique-styled anything; it’s a D-U-M-P! Old, dirty, and mismanaged!!!
Very run down in every aspect. Sleeping in cramped car would be an improvement and far more sanitary.Breakfast was poor as the restaurant, no hot milk, the coffee was s... and the waitress have forgotten to take shower at least 2 days. Wine bar - dirty and the staff - rude. There was only one helpful girl on reception, this is not a 4* hotel, DONT GO THERE!!! Avoid this hotel if you want to have a great time in London!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Rochester Hotel

Address: 69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#254 Family Hotel in London
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Rochester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grange Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Rochester London
Hotel Grange Rochester
Grange Rochester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Rochester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.