We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Fitzrovia Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #525 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cheshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. Check in was very slow despite it being quiet.
My room was on the ground floor overlooking the main road and was quite noisy at night. The room was a decent size and clean. Bed was very soft. Bathroom was tired with mould on the bath and floor. Toiletries were nice.
Breakfast was fine, good service although the cooked food looked awful so i didn't try any of it.
Overall it was average and i'm glad I wasn't picking up the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    246
    125
    46
    22
See reviews for
55
211
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here if you are allocated a room overlooking Bolsover Road. The rooms are too hot to sleep in without both windows being wide open and the street below is a constant hive of activity all through the night. When we complained this morning we were told that we should have asked for a fan!
We would not dream of returning to this hotel that, in addition to the above, charges £24 for breakfast. The rate for this room was FROM £260.
As an English man I find this a classic and embarrassing example or rip off Britain and London in particular.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is one of the places which can often be booked via Top Secret Hotels in Lastminute.com. However, booking directly with the hotel on the website actually gave a better deal once breakfast was included. I think booking for two nights also meant a better rate. They often do offers through their website so worth having a look. I don't know if we were just lucky with rooms but our room was a really good size and the bathroom was huge. There was very little noise from the 3rd floor of the hotel. The rooms were a little on the warm side which is the only criticism i could make, meaning we had the windows open during the night. The continental breakfast was nice and fresh, although i wouldn't pay the full price for breakfast (it was part of the deal on the website). The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. I went to London for a family birthday and over the weekend went to the theatre and the Zoo and the hotel is perfectly placed. Would recommend this hotel for a short city stay, really good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors may be more noisy with the windows open. The rooms at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford On Sea Uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got the family together to celebrate a big birthday in London and four of us needed to stay in London over 2 nights, living to far away for daily travel. Very impressed with this Hotel. What stood out was the politness and courtesy of the staff coupled with exceptional service. We could check in early. We had a room on the third floor facing the rear of the building and it was quiet. This was an exceptionally warm weeked and we had the windows open. The room and bathroom were clean tidy and spacious. The breakfast was described as continental. This well beyond the usual definition with unlimited fruit, juice, cheese , smoked salmon, pastries etc. Set us up for the rest of the day. Will be back. Very good location close to Regents Park and the Zoo. Very good value. Several tube stations nearby including Warren St which is on the Northern Line and therefore straight through to Waterloo on the way home

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above, facing in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here via an offer on last minute.com for one of their secret hotels! I was a but concerned die to some of the more recent reviews. However we loved it!
It was 160 for a double room for two nights. We had a lovely air conditioned room which was very much needed during 28 degree heat we stayed lovely and cool. The bed and pillows were unbelievably comfy! Memory foam mattress I think. Very clean room with his and hers sinks! Very big bathroom, powerful shower. No noise at all from outside as it is set just of the main portland street.
We stayed in 216.
Only 5 minute walk, if that from great Portland tube which is only 2 stops direct from kings cross. Or a 20minute walk. It wasn't walkable to see wicked at Victoria but quick enough on the tube.
The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was too expensive but expected. The cheapest bottle of wine was 21 pounds. but really nice.
We would return, fantastic value, central location, clean and great service!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hi stayed with my partner for one night having booked last minute secret hotel. Very disappointed as thought we were going to get luxury.
Good location, 2 minute walk from Portland street tube and beautiful regent park.
Arrived at 1330 and we were allowed to check in which was a good start. However, our first floor room was tiny and very hot!, as other trip reviewers had said, there is no air con and there needs to be! The road outside is very noisy too!
The bathroom was adequate however, the toilet flush did not work very well.
Staff were ok. Luckily, we spent very
Little time at this hotel and I would not recommend it! Go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try and go high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

THE staff very helpful check in 1 hour early the double room bit small as was the bed and no aircon had to leave window open all night THE NOISE WAS LOUD kept us awake should of asked for room at back of hotel let the stay down .the room was clean if you stay on a sunday as we did you can park for free right outside hotel till monday 830am our stay was 2nd sept 2012 the jersey boys was great . .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.