We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLUES NIGHT AT THE 100 CLUB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #504 of 1,064 Hotels in London
WAKEFIELD, WEST YORKSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BLUES NIGHT AT THE 100 CLUB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went to the famous 100 club in Oxford Street on Tuesday 27 January 2015. Stayed at the Bedford Hotel where me and my husband have stayed before. OK. In a central position nr Holborn and Russell Street tube stations. We walked from Kings X which is not far. Indeed we walked to and from Oxford Street too. So you are not too far away from anything. Plenty of places to eat and drink too. Some good real ale bars around Euston too. Bree Louie well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a view over the main street and it was quite quiet. Not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    320
    148
    32
    11
See reviews for
86
217
74
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel doesn't look too impressive on first entering reception, but the room was big for a 3 star hotel and nicely furnished. Walk-in shower not one over the bath and a most satisfactory breakfast . The service at breakfast was very good and the hotel is an easy walk from Euston station and about a ten minute direct walk to Covent Garden and Shaftsbury avenue.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We moved here after staying at a sister hotel the President expecting it to be better as was more expensive but overall the President was cleaner and better value,the rooms and en suite were not very clean we found the hot water tap to the sink was only a trickle ,old soap left from previous occupant and numerous hairs in the sink and bath,the evening meal we had one night was disgusting the fish was swimming in oil and the burger was pink on the inside so we didnt eat the meal.We did find the receptionist to be friendly and helpful,but overall for location and value would return to the President and not the Bedford.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bedford Hotel is located in London's Bloomsbury area, a block and a half from the British Museum, on the high street of Kingsway. It's a ten-minute walk to the Strand, Euston train station, the London School of Economics, and the British Library. It's close to two tube stations, Russell Square and Holburn. And it's a straight shot on the Piccadilly line from Heathrow (get off at Russell Square, leave the station and turn left, walk two blocks to the intersection, and look left. You can see the hotel a block away). All and all, a great location.

The hotel itself feels like it was built in the 1970s. It's not fancy, but totally serviceable. The hallways are a bid worn and my room was a bit stark, but it was clean. There was a kettle and ironing board in my room and the water pressure was terrific. There was no bedside clock. My room was very quiet, probably because it was on the garden side of the building. I imagine if you were facing the street it could be a bit noisy.

Rooms come with a "continental breakfast," which is basically toast, pastries, and fruit, but you can get a full "English breakfast" (eggs, sausages, bacon, beans) for an extra 5 pounds. I didn't bother.

The dining room and cleaning staff were very friendly. The staff at the front desk were a mixed bag. Some were friendly; others were bored and distant.

The hotel provides free wifi but you have to get a password from the front desk every 8 hours. Not sure why.

Would I stay there again? Probably. I don't need fancy; I just need someplace quiet and clean to sleep. The Bedford provided it. If you like luxury or plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, then you might want something a bit more upscale.

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only stayed for one night and everything was fine. Evening meal was tasty and breakfast was plentiful and we'll cooked. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. All the staff were most helpful. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here before so know the hotel is within walking distance of all main attractions and for me theatres. The hotel needs a facelift but it is clean and staff are very helpful. Also quite cheap (£88) for a twin room with breakfast if you use trip advisor.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary59mary59
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a good location. Rooms and corridors are in need of updating. Don't expect quality, just cheap thin towels and bedding. The breakfast is very poor. The staff need food safety training. Having seen the person putting his fingers in the glasses of fruit juice to move them nearer the front of the fridge, a stack of over cooked eggs in a dish and a skim on top of the baked beans and then more poured on top, sausages that you couldn't even cook, no fresh hot toast, foreign marmalade we left without eating breakfast. The tea and coffee in the room isn't even English and tastes disgusting.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant contemporary set amid beautiful English garden - Near downtown London, shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.