We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #440 of 1,073 hotels in London
North East
2 reviews
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night on 19th July as part of Superbreak deal. Had a lovely stay. Arrived early but as rooms were ready we were able to check in prior to standard check in time. Staff really helpful and pleasant. Rooms adequate for short stay, very clean which is the main thing. Breakfast well stocked. Overall very pleasant stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    244
    104
    24
    8
See reviews for
59
168
53
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Part of Imperial Hotels group but perhaps better thought of than some others, The Bedford is what some might describe as a ‘commercial’ hotel. The middle of the road, budget plus hotels usually frequented by commercial travellers, sales representatives, businessmen and those whos budgets do not stretch to the more typical London prices. And I think before anything - that must be the ‘base line’ when considering this hotel.

There are few places in central London for around £100 per night bed & breakfast. But given that the Bedford is in a very good location on Southampton Row, just below Russell Square its virtues begin to rapidly improve. A luxury hotel it is not. It is clean, utilitarian furnished and functional. Toilets are clean along with other public areas. The gardens at the rear are a surprise and a delight on a warm summer evening. Breakfast is buffet style, ’English’ with a selection and quality that is adequate to good. I found several WiFi connection but the opted for ‘Cloud’ which seemed stable and accessible in all public rooms, garden, my first floor bedroom and even in the seating area at the front of the hotel on Southampton Row! The Bedford is an ‘elderly’ building so does not have air-conditioning etc. I emailed the hotel ahead of my visit to request a room on the garden side of the hotel for quietness. That is exactly what I got and how welcome it was to be able to sleep, undisturbed, with all the windows open. The bed was comfortable and so too was my single room. I experienced no problems with the shower as reported in some reviews, but I was on 1st floor.

Location I think is all with the Bedford. Walking distance of Russell Square Underground Piccadilly Line [Direct connection with Heathrow] or 4 stops from Euston Station on 59 or 68 Bus [Euston Gardens] or 168 [Evershot Street]. Opposite the front door, on the other side of Southampton Row, is Cosmo Place a pedestrian passage with several restaurants and “The Queen’s Larder” public House, [also reviewed] connecting to Queen Square. Queen Square is a pleasant backwater adjacent to the National Hospital for Neurology and Great Ormond Street Hospital. The Bedford is therefore ideal for the hospitals as well as the various tourist attraction mentioned in many other reviews. I did not take dinner at the Bedford because of the big choice of local eateries. My choice was “The Antalya” a Turkish restaurant a few doors up the street that is well and favourably reviewed on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: 108 Quiet 1st floor room at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decent hotel, nice location, but let down by traffic noise (if you are at the front) and lack of airconditioning. Watching the Japanese get stung for extra charges at breakfast because they didn't read the fineprint on the sign that explained the continental vs english breakfast options (which were laid out on the table without any clear separation) was painful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have just checked out of here. I normally stay at the Tavistock when on business in London but I left it too late this time to book and they were full. This place, from the same group, is a little more expensive but worth it. I had a quiet (for London) room, as requested, at the back of the hotel rather than on the busy Southampton Row. Clean, fairly newly decorated, delta screen TV, it was pretty good. Breakfast was the same as the Tavistock, does the job. All staff really helpful. This is not a bad hotel at all, and provides a decent base in a great location (minutes from the British Museum, Tube Station etc) at a reasonable price. Recommended

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent 2 nights in this hotel as part of a theatre break. Requested quiet room & recieved it at the rear of the hotel. Staff were friendly and hotel clean.Breakfast was good. Located close to theatre land, restaurants and tube stations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great little place that I have been using for years as a London bolt hole. The rooms are small but always clean & tidy. For Central London it is good @£93 for single & £110 for double. No negotiation is possible, take it or leave it seems to be their motto. The staff are always helpful and friendly. A few tips the rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, the coffee at breakfast is dire (I always go for the Tea) and the towels are not luxurious. Its is quit funny to see the breakfast patrol, English breakfast is always included in my room rate but foreign bookings sometime come with continental breakfast only, all served from the same buffet. Woe betide anyone who creeps over the line from continental to full English, even for the boiled egg, you will pay a price. Ideal for a London break or business trip.

Room Tip: Get a quiter room at the back. For wifi you need code from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had four twin rooms here last weekend. The hotel is in a great location, near to Russell Square tube station and lots of bars and restaurants. Easy to walk to many places. We had asked for rooms at the back of the hotel as reviewers had said the road can be noisy at night and am pleased to say that we got our request and had rooms overlooking the garden. They were clean with very comfortable beds and we thought they made a great base (even had an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe). Bathroom was small and the extractor fan didn't seem to work in my room but we managed fine. Breakfast was OK and all of the staff - reception, cleaners and porter were very friendly. Pleasant lounge area overlooking the garden.

We all said we would use this hotel again on a visit to London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#300 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant contemporary set amid beautiful English garden - Near downtown London, shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.