We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #503 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Bedford for one night midweek.Good central location, just a short walk from Holborn underground and less than 15 mins gentle stroll to Covent Garden. Check in was very quick and staff friendly.The room was fine although it was very hot, soon sorted, as at least you can open the windows.The En suite was slightly unusual as the toilet is seperate from the bathroom .Breakfast was tasty,and everything was hot,again the staff were friendly.The bar had a limited choice of beers but the prices were very good, £2.90 for a pint of Carlsburg.We would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    301
    144
    30
    11
See reviews for
83
206
69
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel and a bit nervous because stayed in the sister hotel last year which was a disgrace (The President). Anyway what a contrast, the room was very clean, modern and attractive. The staff were very helpful and had to contact reception a couple of times because of minor issues which were immediately remedied. The breakfast room was very friendly (you didn't feel intimidated like some hotels), the staff again were very courteous and friendly, the food was spot on. The hotel was within easy reach from Kings Cross and only a short walk to the West End. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The bedford hotel very much. The room, staff and food were excellent.
Clean throughout and even a ironing board and iron in your room, the toilet was seperate from the bath/shower room. No complaints at all and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the theatre/ Covent garden area, as it's a very conveniant stop over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days. A group of nine among which 4 wheelchair users. We were given specially adapted rooms that were REALLY adequate (not always the case; they have two), clean and well equipped. . Friendly staff. Great location. A pity that the breakfast was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel : the staff was not helpful not to say rude, the restaurant offers little space and especially the food : poor quality.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back will be quieter - they have a lovely garden back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean and well presented. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a good location base and Oxford street, Soho are all within an easy walking distance. I will definitely be returning next year to stay in this Hotel. Breakfast - we had the full English option, food was hot and plentiful. However tea/coffee which is served to you at the table by waiters was warm going on cold which is my only grumble out of my whole stay at the Bedford.

Room Tip: My room over looked the main street Southampton Row which is busy (traffic) 24 hrs - bearing in mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good central location easy access to Covent garden, Leicester square, Soho and general central London. Hotel staff very friendly and room was spacious, clean and comfortable. For a room price of £119 a night fairly good value considering the price of surrounding hotels. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful, first we stayed for 4 nights and then took a side trip to Brugge, overnighting there, then back to the hotel for another night, then away again for a few nights and finally spending our last night in London at this hotel. The staff were great and nothing was a problem. They very kindly looked after our luggage. We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the British Museum, so we were able to save the windows open at night time. The breakfast included a good choice and was lovely. There is a bar and you can sit out the front of the hotel and people watch while enjoying a drink. The location was excellent, so close to the tube station if required, Kings Cross and St Pancras,were close by and walking distance to Oxford Street. Covent Garden and Leicester Square are also within walking distance. I cannot fault this hotel and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, that way you avoid the noise from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant contemporary set amid beautiful English garden - Near downtown London, shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.