We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #501 of 1,052 Hotels in London
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January for a theatre break with Superbreak. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from Euston and about the same for the West End. All The staff are very friendly and helpful, at breakfast, reception and housekeeping. The room was very modern and spotlessly clean. The bed linen was crisp and clean. The English breakfast was very good, there was plenty to choose from. We had a room at the back which was quiet. We would certainly stay there again, it is so convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as they are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    350
    173
    34
    13
See reviews for
97
254
81
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eeklo, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Bedfort Hotel and left it with mixed feelings. We aren’t inclined to promote this hotel to any friends going on vacation to London due to several reasons:

- The floor of our room was covered in carpet. When entering the room you could ‘smell’ the scent from an old carpet that isn’t vacuumed enough.
- Our bath still contained some hair from the previous guests.
- The windows of the hotel are made of single-glass. This way the wind made our room ‘very chilly’. Furthermore, you could still hear all the cars (especially ambulances, police sirens,…) speeding by the hotel.
- The ‘Contintental Breakfast’ was a joke. We could chose between some toast and cornflakes. However, you could chose to have an ‘English Breakfast’ for £ 5/pp.
Though the breakfast was the same every day.
- The restaurant staff wasn’t really friendly. They were ‘patrolling’ all the time through the restaurant, making it very unpleasant to have a quiet breakfast.
- We were charged for leaving our luggage at the hotel on the last day of our trip.

But I don’t want to be all negative about this hotel, some advantages of the hotel are:

- The location of the Hotel is very good for tourists. Very near the St. Pancras / King Cross station and near a metro-stop.
- The staff at the reception was very friendly and always willing to help and assist you.
- The interior of the rooms are modern.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back end of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for 1 night stay on a Saturday. Hotel easy to get to, walk from Kings Cross station (about 10-15 mins) and 3 minute from Russell Sq underground. Reception staff very friendly and we were allowed to leave our cases there before we could check in. Room was clean and tidy, sheets crisp and clean, shower nice and hot. Temperature could be adjusted to suit and windows opened enough to get some air in. Our room was on the front so there is a bit of traffic noise but didn't stop us sleeping. Breakfast was ok nothing special but hot and plenty of it, tea and coffee continually topped up. Overall good price and quality for London centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side could be noisy from outside traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

excellent hotel and location stayed here previously and we are visiting again in july .hotel very clean and well presented,staff very helpfull and are always there willing to help.have only had breakfast which is plentyfull and a good choice is given.a short walk away you have the theatres,covent garen,trafalgar square and a little further buckingham palace we enjoy the walk others may prefer taxi or tube which are on the doorstep oh and not forgetting a variety of pubs and restaurants something for everyone.......

Room Tip: twin rooms very comfortable,executive rooms lovely and spacious if you spend a little longer indoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel has two good things going for it - very nice location in bloomsbury very close to Russel Square and amazing pricing for central london.I paid 180 pounds for a 2 mid-week nights in a single room in January which is very low for central London.
Other than that the hotel is very basic. reception are nice enough. you need to leave your key every time you go out of the hotel. There is no WIFI in the room only in the lobby and thats patchy as well. The room is ample but by no means luxurious.
If you are in town for business or on a a romantic getaway I wouldn't choose this hotel. However, if you just need a bed for the night it's a very economical choice.
Tips:
There is a great restaurant/bakery 5 minutes away from the hotel called Gail's Kitchen/Bakery. try it, you won't regret.

Room Tip: The rooms face either Southampton Row which is a busy noisy street or a backyard which is much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anston, Sheffield, South Yorks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two night in January booked through our travel agent through Super break.

We arrived Friday afternoon via train and tube from the North, a very easy journey with Russell Square tube being only a few minutes walk.

The staff were, we felt much more friendly than the usual London hotels! The room was small although comfortable with usual tea making and tv facilities.

Breakfast was great with good choice and plenty of refilling.

We did the sight in clouding retail therapy on Oxford street (the weekend was a Christmas pressing for my wife) the London eye and Billy Elliott the musical.

Great weekend, and we will return soon.

Recommended

Paul & Dinky

Room Tip: We stayed at the back, we're quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

After lots of debating I decided to take my 4 year old on a sightseeing trip to London on my own.

The biggest challenge was finding a hotel that would be somewhere not too busy but with good access to the main sights and easy to find from St Pancras.

This hotel in Russell Square was perfect, one stop away from St Pancras and on the Piccadilly line. Mainly used I guess by people on business. I appreciate I visited at a quiet time of year so certainly did not feel too rushed or in the way with my son.

The room was on the back so was lovely and quiet, beautifully clean.
Staff in the restaurant extremely friendly and accomodating for my son, I think it might have been a refreshing change for them to see a child!
Food was good, no complaints at all, standard buffet English style breakfast, set menu for the rest of the day.

Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant contemporary set amid beautiful English garden - Near downtown London, shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.