We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and clean and tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #502 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Central location and clean and tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for 1 night stay on a Saturday. Hotel easy to get to, walk from Kings Cross station (about 10-15 mins) and 3 minute from Russell Sq underground. Reception staff very friendly and we were allowed to leave our cases there before we could check in. Room was clean and tidy, sheets crisp and clean, shower nice and hot. Temperature could be adjusted to suit and windows opened enough to get some air in. Our room was on the front so there is a bit of traffic noise but didn't stop us sleeping. Breakfast was ok nothing special but hot and plenty of it, tea and coffee continually topped up. Overall good price and quality for London centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side could be noisy from outside traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    301
    144
    30
    11
See reviews for
83
206
69
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

excellent hotel and location stayed here previously and we are visiting again in july .hotel very clean and well presented,staff very helpfull and are always there willing to help.have only had breakfast which is plentyfull and a good choice is given.a short walk away you have the theatres,covent garen,trafalgar square and a little further buckingham palace we enjoy the walk others may prefer taxi or tube which are on the doorstep oh and not forgetting a variety of pubs and restaurants something for everyone.......

Room Tip: twin rooms very comfortable,executive rooms lovely and spacious if you spend a little longer indoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel has two good things going for it - very nice location in bloomsbury very close to Russel Square and amazing pricing for central london.I paid 180 pounds for a 2 mid-week nights in a single room in January which is very low for central London.
Other than that the hotel is very basic. reception are nice enough. you need to leave your key every time you go out of the hotel. There is no WIFI in the room only in the lobby and thats patchy as well. The room is ample but by no means luxurious.
If you are in town for business or on a a romantic getaway I wouldn't choose this hotel. However, if you just need a bed for the night it's a very economical choice.
Tips:
There is a great restaurant/bakery 5 minutes away from the hotel called Gail's Kitchen/Bakery. try it, you won't regret.

Room Tip: The rooms face either Southampton Row which is a busy noisy street or a backyard which is much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anston, Sheffield, South Yorks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two night in January booked through our travel agent through Super break.

We arrived Friday afternoon via train and tube from the North, a very easy journey with Russell Square tube being only a few minutes walk.

The staff were, we felt much more friendly than the usual London hotels! The room was small although comfortable with usual tea making and tv facilities.

Breakfast was great with good choice and plenty of refilling.

We did the sight in clouding retail therapy on Oxford street (the weekend was a Christmas pressing for my wife) the London eye and Billy Elliott the musical.

Great weekend, and we will return soon.

Recommended

Paul & Dinky

Room Tip: We stayed at the back, we're quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After lots of debating I decided to take my 4 year old on a sightseeing trip to London on my own.

The biggest challenge was finding a hotel that would be somewhere not too busy but with good access to the main sights and easy to find from St Pancras.

This hotel in Russell Square was perfect, one stop away from St Pancras and on the Piccadilly line. Mainly used I guess by people on business. I appreciate I visited at a quiet time of year so certainly did not feel too rushed or in the way with my son.

The room was on the back so was lovely and quiet, beautifully clean.
Staff in the restaurant extremely friendly and accomodating for my son, I think it might have been a refreshing change for them to see a child!
Food was good, no complaints at all, standard buffet English style breakfast, set menu for the rest of the day.

Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nth yorks uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Once again visiting London in December so decided to stay at the Bedford again.
Had a room on 3rd floor which was excellent. Sheets, blankets, duvets and the usual tea,coffee,bath necessities. Just what we had on our previous visit.
Quiet room facing the small park/terrace. Friendly receptionists. Chatted to the restaurant manageress whilst eating the usual cooked breakfast. Coffee replenished - no problems.
Quiet drinks in the bar when we returned late from theatre visit.
All in all, cant fault this hotel for the price and service offered!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet. Stayed on 3rd and 6th floor - no difference between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic business traveller hotel, but good for tourist too. Location is 5 min. walk to Underground Station. 20 min. walk to Trafalagar square and Sherlock Holmes pub. 10 min walk to British Museum. 1.5 hour stroll to Tower Bridge. 20 min walk to Punjab (oldest Indian Restuarant in London).

We got a room next to the elevator on the 4th floor. I was worried, because of noise that usually is associated with rooms near elevator, but it was quiet. I was surprised. I thought perhaps no one else was on the 4th floor, but then the next night (Friday) there was a noisy group that woke me. I only heard the quiet ding of the elevator and they were gone. I never heard anyone else, and we stayed there 3 nights total.

The staff wasn't overly friendly nor were they rude. They greeted us pleasantly and were always polite. The room was clean. Bathroom and shower clean. Good hot water and good pressure. The bed was comfortable, supportive but not too hard or too soft. The room didn't appear to have any thermostat - but it was comfortable, not too hot or cold. The windows did not have double glazing, but the curtains were heavy so the cold stayed out. We overlooked the back patio, so it was very quiet.

We paid the 5 pounds for Full English breakfast, but their conplimentary breakfast was good too. Yoghurt, fruit, cereal, juices, toast and coffee or tea. The full English was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking back patio are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant contemporary set amid beautiful English garden - Near downtown London, shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.