We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, comfy bed, good breakfast, nice staff, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #506 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Clean room, comfy bed, good breakfast, nice staff, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic business traveller hotel, but good for tourist too. Location is 5 min. walk to Underground Station. 20 min. walk to Trafalagar square and Sherlock Holmes pub. 10 min walk to British Museum. 1.5 hour stroll to Tower Bridge. 20 min walk to Punjab (oldest Indian Restuarant in London).

We got a room next to the elevator on the 4th floor. I was worried, because of noise that usually is associated with rooms near elevator, but it was quiet. I was surprised. I thought perhaps no one else was on the 4th floor, but then the next night (Friday) there was a noisy group that woke me. I only heard the quiet ding of the elevator and they were gone. I never heard anyone else, and we stayed there 3 nights total.

The staff wasn't overly friendly nor were they rude. They greeted us pleasantly and were always polite. The room was clean. Bathroom and shower clean. Good hot water and good pressure. The bed was comfortable, supportive but not too hard or too soft. The room didn't appear to have any thermostat - but it was comfortable, not too hot or cold. The windows did not have double glazing, but the curtains were heavy so the cold stayed out. We overlooked the back patio, so it was very quiet.

We paid the 5 pounds for Full English breakfast, but their conplimentary breakfast was good too. Yoghurt, fruit, cereal, juices, toast and coffee or tea. The full English was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking back patio are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    290
    139
    28
    11
See reviews for
80
198
67
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Back for the 3rd time. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Since the last time (July 2011) they have renovated lots of room and with the change in furniture the rooms are a little more spacious. The location is really great, very close to the British Museum and walking distance to quite a few attractions. Food at breakfast is pretty good.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are better as they are very quiet and face a nice garden. WiFi is not good in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

On check in the staff were very friendly and helpful and advised us where to go for a night out. The breakfast was lovely. The staff in the restaurant were also friendly and we spent a few hours in the bar on Saturday with friends and the bar staff were very attentive and friendly also. A lovely hotel and will definately be back. The walls are a bit thin and you always get ignorant people who dont think about waking other guests and you will never get away from that. We had a room overlooking the garden which was a bit quieter but our friends stayed in a front room and had no problems

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Bedford Hotel which is only a 5 minute walk from Russell Square tube station. Have stayed in this area before so checked out the hotel on Trip Advisor & must say I was not disappointed. It is an ideal area to stay in as Theare land is also very close. For what we paid it was value for money for a hotel in that area! Room was a good size & would appear to have just been freshly painted. The beds were comfortable, there was tea making facilities,TV, hairdrier & even an iron if needed! The continental breakfast was adequate & there was no real need to pay the extra for a full english. The staff were friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay in this hotel again. As we were at the front there was a certain amount of street noise but perhaps because we were on the 4th. floor that made the difference. Rooms at the back would I am sure be quieter.

Room Tip: On a high floor ( highest is 6) Possibly at the back would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This would be excellent If it was not so difficult to get a second drink at breakfast.
The hotel is good in other ways but breakfast let's it down . Lovely reception staff great location very clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stopped here for another long weekend in London. All was similar to last time, good food, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. It's our 4th visit this year, and we look forward to more next year. Why stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbenjoseph
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during a business trip to London. The hotel went beyond any of my expectations. To begin with the location is superb! Just next to Russel Square and walking distance to Oxford Street, British Museum and other attractions. Plus there are 2 Tube stations nearby. Service at the hotel is excellent! The front desk people are friendly, courteous, helpfull and willing to help at any situation. Check in is quick and pleasant! I had a single room on a hgh floor facing the street. While the room is not huge, it was definitely large enough for 1 person. Bathroom is well kept and the room itself is renovated and in great condition. The whole hotel is welcoming, very clean and has a cozy atmosphere. The restaurant is good - I ate there two dinners. The food is excellent and so is the service. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant contemporary set amid beautiful English garden - Near downtown London, shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.