We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what i needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Villa Kensington to your Saves list
The Villa Kensington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #367 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“just what i needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked a single room for 26 October, and it was probably one of the most reasonably priced in Kensington - £130. Yes it's overpriced but it's one of the priciest areas of the city. The staff were really pleasant and my room, although knee-knockingly small, was what I needed. Spotlessly clean, modern tiny bathroom with decent shower and a small flatscreen. Breakfast was nice enough - a man nearby congratulated the chef on the best cooked breakfast he'd had in years! there were plenty of pastries, toast, cereals, fruit, yogurt etc. The only thing I'd watch out for is that I asked reception to order me a taxi. A very posh car arrived and charged me £10 for a two minute drive and had to ask me for a map and postcode for where I was going. There are plenty of black cabs milling about outside - so just get one of them - quicker and a cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for leaving these comments. Our aim is to keep delivering good service and great value to our customers. Check out our rates in January and February. Just amazing....
Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    100
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
34
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had just a one night Saturday stay here. All fine with room, bit of a strange layout though with hving to go through the breakfst room to some of the bedrooms. Breakfast had plenty of choice but most importantly the lady on reception couldnt have been more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
My whole team joins me to thank you for staying with us. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location near the Tube and restaurants. Rooms were spotless and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate: hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices. Rooms were expensive, but it was London in the summer, so not surprising. Overall, very good. The only problem was that the sink near the toilet smelled terribly foul - like sewer gas. I speculate the reason was that the sink did not have a vapor trap (see photo).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave these nice comments. We are looking into the issue you mentioned. By the time you will be visiting us again, I am confident that it will have been resolved. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great location close to tube friendly service very helpful with advise good breakfast and friendly staff Room really nice and good size and very nice bathroom which is hard to get in London I would definitely book with them again and I did book it through Tripadvisor



Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Close to Gloucester tube station and lots of shops nearby like Tesco and waitrose and restaurants to eat nearby. Within walking distance to the Natural History Museum and Victoria and Albert, Continental breakfast which was plentiful and was something for everyone,but full english available for £5.50. Can not understand some of the bad reviews, I guess some people just like to moan. Staff were very friendly and always spoke to you when you arrived or left ,unlike other hotels where the receptionist are rude and unapproachable.
Was able to check in early and leave my luggage all day and come back for it,in the evening for the sleeper train. They phoned a taxi to take me to Euston . very nice would stay again if in London

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
All members of my team and I, really appreciate your nice comments. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. Best regard. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is just located 2-5 min from station Gloucester Road. It's great location in Kensingtons, close to Natural History Museum, Imperial College London, 15 min walk to Hyde Parks. A lot of taxi around, good restaurants, bars, places you can change money, Tesco opened long hours, pharmacy. The staff was very welcoming, assist you in all matters. I came for a half marathon run, and forgot to take the ADAPTOR (hotel don't provide one - actually they have some but not enough for all guests), but the staff at the reception went a mile along and let me use their own Apple charger. It saved my run, because I can't run w/o my mileage keeper and music. The breakfast hours are quite early 08.00 to 09.30 on weekdays and 08.00 to 10.00 on Saturdays/Sundays. I did not get to have breakfast as I woke up too early the first day to run, and the second day it was Monday, and I thought it was still till 10.00, so when I came at 09.40 - the friendly staff in the dinner room give some hot beverage and some snacks - so it was great! Otherwise it's quiet area, so it's possible to get some good sleep, also mattress was good quality. There is no shower gel, only one set of shampoo and conditioner. The towels and sheets were of average cleanliness. There is a TV, hairdryer and safe in the room. It was nice that in the bathroom they did not have as usual in UK separate cold and warm water. I lived on the 4th floor, so also had a nice view from the window. Otherwise it's very small room, London style

Room Tip: not next to elevator, and higher better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such nice comments. Kindest regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, hotel is located in a safe area and good location near the Gloucester road station and Harrods only a few minutes down the road.

I stayed at the Villa Kensington for a week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Continental breakfast was served every day, would have been great if the breakfast was on til 10/10.30am instead of 9.30am but on the other hand it got me up early and gave me more time to do things in the morning due to the early get up. The location was fantastic, near Gloucester Road station and about 15 minutes walk from Harrods. Ample taxis around if one was needed. I didn't have any issues with the hotel at all and will definitely consider staying at the Villa Kensington again when next in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. We all look forward to welcoming you back. Take care. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#301 Family Hotel in London
#338 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London
The Villa Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.