We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian fine food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roots at N1

Roots at N1
115 Hemingford Road | Barnsbury, London N1 1BZ, England
+44 20 7697 4488
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roots at N1 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $90
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A venture of 3 professionals from The Ritz London, Benares Mayfair & The Oberoi New Delhi
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Indian fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Two words: lamb chops. You must order them. They are beautifully spiced, meltingly tender meat lollypops. The chicken biriyani is very good too. Roots has a pleasingly limited menu - not the scroll down lists of every imaginable sauce/meat combination you find in everyday 'Indian' restaurants in the UK. Wine suggestions per dish is a new addition to the menu. I've not tried it but I'm sure it would be an interesting change from my usual lager pairing. The sweet lassi is the best flavoured I've had, cardamom, and heaven knows what else, it's delicious. The prices are high-ish but you are paying for excellent ingredients, very well prepared.The service is very attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear passportticketmoney,

Thank-you for dining with us. The Chef is also glad you mentioned the dishes in detail, in the day a lot of works goes in the two dishes you mentioned. The lassi has a ingredient directly sourced from India.We are constantly evolving our food,drinks and service and have recently changed our menu.

It was great pleasure to have you with us.

Look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Best wishes
Team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    40
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lonfon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fine dining in quiet oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This establishment draws me back again for several reasons; the main attraction for me is the location; situated in a lovely part of residential Islington you will be most pleasantly surprised at finding the restaurant. It's calm and tranquil atmosphere belies the hard work going on in the background; the staff are dedicated to providing a unique experience, time and again. The menu is thoughtful; creative and offers one of the best night eating out. I have not as yet been disappointed; girls who watch their weight or just small eaters watchout! the bread basket is a must have but leave room for your main; my dinner companion on this occasion did not do justice to his entire meal but manfully tried to finish as the food is so freshly prepared and just mouth wateringly delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear rosie_lee2013,

Thank-you for being regular and such a kind feedback. We are delighted you enjoy your evenings with us. When someone like yourself takes that experience back, gives us a real reason to keep working harder.

Look forward to seeing you with us soon.

Best wishes
Team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Islington's hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have lost count of the number of times I have eaten there now. Never had a bad meal. In fact always exceptional. They have now introduced house cocktails of the day which are excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear ianx1london,

Thank-you for dining with us. We are delighted to hear your feedback. Goes a long way in keep us motivated.

Look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Best wishes
Team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in London..period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I live 5 min away from this place and this place is my usual haunt. If you are looking for tasty and authentic Indian food with a bit of twist then go for roots. However if its the bhajis and baltis and currys that you're after then go for one of the many so called Indian restaurants in London.
A must visit for classy Indian food. Hats off to Rohit and team roots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear teddy374,

It is a great pleasure to have you back with us time and again. We are delighted that you enjoy the food and service.

Look forward to seeing you with us soon again.

Best wishes
Team Roots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate at this restaurant last week and had a great experience. The restaurant was recommended by our friend and we were not disappointed at all. We really loved all the dishes we ordered. The tandoori chicken was my favorite. The service was excellent and the staff was very courteous. The wine suggested by the server was perfect. Overall the pricing was also very apt for the service we got. The portions were generous and the wine was lovely. All in all we had a lovely evening dining at the restaurant and I would love to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roots N, Guest Relations Manager at Roots at N1, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear gergoryt,

Thank-you for dining with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the food as well as the wine pairing as well as the evening. I will pass your feedback to the team who have worked hard to pair the wines for the last two months.

Looking forward to seeing you with us soon.
Best wishes
Rohit & team Roots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots at N1 also viewed

 

Been to Roots at N1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots at N1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.