We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sen Viet

Sen Viet
119 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9NH, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #831 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stumbled into this restaurant while looking for something to eat near King's Cross. I hesitated a bit but ordered the Pho and a starter as it had been a while since I had a good Pho. The Pho was excellent, and the starter too. The only problem I had was the portion size, you'll sure have enough here!

I took several other people to the place after it, first in hope to get the same result. Now in confidence I'll get the same result. It's just good every time. And has friendly service on top. I recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    42
    27
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Only discovered this place via recommendation and so pleased I went! Doesn't look much from the outside but the food is some of the best I've eaten. If you want authentic Vietnamese visit this place. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and wonderful food at a very reasonable price.

Will certainly be visiting again (and again.....) :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, terrific value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've been to this restaurant three times this year and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. Let's face it - it's not in the most prestigious location, but it's very clean, simply but effectively decorated and air conditioned.

Each time we've been there there's been an eclectic mix of diners: students, city types, tourists, residents. The service is good with helpful staff who listen and suggest. The food? Excellent. We recommend the Shaking Beef, Crispy Coated Chicken and Sea Bass with ginger, but there are many more dishes and styles to choose from. There is also a very good range of vegetarian dishes.

There is a small wine list of fairly predictable brands and a choice of very good Vietnamese beers plus some very refreshing non-alcoholic drinks.

Sen Viet is tremendous value: it has a good, informal atmosphere, comfortable surroundings and very well cooked, delicately flavoured food. We shall definitely return when next in London!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Charming viet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A small charming restaurant with excellent food and good service.
You will find a lot of viet specialities. Everything fresh and tasty.
If you like good vietnamese food, try this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Authentic Vietnamese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A real hidden gem of a restaurant. From King Cross station, there is a 10 mins walk that awaits you. but it isn't too difficult to find. We'd arrived on a Monday evening around 9pm, and believe it or not the place was almost full! I doubt that you can get in without a reservation during the weekends...
But its not hard to understand why. My partner who is from Vietnam, complimented how authentic all the cuisine was. And mentioned that because all the staff was true Vietnamese, they really have bought their home cooking style to London!
The price is all very reasonable and service was swift.
Absolutely highly recommended and we'll be definitely coming back for more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Viet also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Sen Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sen Viet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.