We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly efficient and tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
215-217 Great Portland Street, London W1W 5PN, England (Fitzrovia)
0207 580 2272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,136 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Great Portland Street offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly efficient and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Not all pizza express branches have excelled when we have visited in the past so we were prepar to be underwhelmed. However our Italian waiter (from Abruzzo) was a lovely young man and the food was great. I had a Morire pizza which had bacon and blue cheese. I also had a side salad. The white wine was chilled, fresh and dry. All perfect. Other customers also seemed satisfied.
So Pizza Express goes back on the OK list. Faringdon P E is good too but after dodgy times in Covent Garden and Buxton would not try them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    39
    23
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shocking tipping policy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A chance conversation with our waiter at the end of our meal, when handed the credit card machine and he went through the option to add a tip to our bill, enlightened us to the fact that Pizza Express only pass on 50% of tips left by this method to their staff. We were asked directly if we wanted to leave a tip through the machine and he talked us through the procedure in such a detailed way that implied he had to instruct us this clearly, which prompted our 'jokey' question about how much he received.
Shocking behavior and treatment of your staff, Pizza Express. I won't return until you pass on 100% of your tips to your staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“ghostrider”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we went there on our last night and the prices for the pizzas were steep for wot we received . the pizzas were nothing special and my american friend felt they were very thin even though they also had thin ones on the menu. I wont be going there again sadly it was the only place i felt i felt the name was more important than the food

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very good staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The manager and staff were so good with my grandchildren, we all had a great time,
he went out of his way to help.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This Pizza Express is a couple of minutes walk from Great Portland Street tube station. The building has an eye catching modern design on the outside.

The staff are efficient and the restaurant offers tables for two or larger groups. The feel of the restaurant is energetic and the music is quite load - which leads to the patrons speaking loud in order to be heard above the music.

My pizza was a little cold - but well presented. The restaurant gets really busy; this could be due to its location - but the atmosphere is nice and there is no sense of being hurried.

A nice place to hang out with friends after work or to meet and have something to eat before going on elsewhere. It's close proximity to the West End and the various choices of buses that stop nearby as well as the many shops in the surrounding area - makes the location ideal.

I will put this restaurant on my 'visit again list.'

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.