We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality gastro pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Dog Freehouse

The Black Dog Freehouse
112 Vauxhall Walk, London SE11 5ER, England
+44 20 7735 4440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #384 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“High quality gastro pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

High quality gastro pub, hidden away near the Vauxhall railway arches. For the location, this venue is so much better than you might expect. We went there prior to going to The Oval, and found it far less crowded than the other pubs just a little nearer the ground. The service is quick and friendly and the menu is varied and offers plenty of good choices. Prices aren't cheap, but certainly fair for the quality of the venue. Definitely one of Vauxhall's best pubs - recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    21
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great pub quiz venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A friend and I held our charity pub quiz at The Black Dog and it couldn't have gone any better. Joe and the team did everything they could to accommodate us, and the service was fantastic on the night. All our hungry guests ate extremely well, and had nothing but good things to say about the food and venue. I will be definitely returning to the pub for some after-work drinks, and who knows, maybe we'll hold another quiz there too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Joe helped us hugely in arranging our charity pub quiz here recently - everyone commented on what a lovely pub it was and that the food was excellent. The staff are really friendly, food is great, everything is wonderful!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great venue for a private party on a Saturday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had about 60 friends along to celebrate a home coming. From the start it was a great idea. Joe set every thing up, great suggestions for food and booze. He made it very easy.
On the night, the team were right on the ball and the party atmosphere was almost immediate, blending style, sophistication and fun. The food was greatly enjoyed...it always good any way, so we knew there was no risk in that front.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Venue for a Private Party (oh, and great for lunch and dinner too!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having become something of a regular visitor to the Black Dog recently, I was delighted to be able to book the whole pub last Saturday evening for a private party. Everything I love about the place from lunch and dinner visits - great ambience, delicious food, well kept ales, incredibly friendly staff, reasonable prices - helped to make it an incredibly successful event. All for a very reasonable guaranteed sum too. Vauxhall tube/train just round the corner made it so easy for everyone to get there too. I have been deluged by enthusiastic emails from guests already. What more can I say except a big thank you to Joe and the team for putting so much effort into running by far and away the best pub in central London.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Dog Freehouse also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Black Dog Freehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Dog Freehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.