We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooked meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roganic - CLOSED

Roganic
19 Blandford Street | Marylebone, London W1U 3DH, England
0207 4860380
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The sister restaurant of critically acclaimed L'Enclume in the Lake District, Roganic is owned by Simon Rogan and Penny Tapsell. Blending superb cooking techniques with immaculately sourced ingredients, Roganic brings the very best of contemporary organic cuisine to the capital. In upmarket Marylebone, Roganic is a contemporary 2-year popup restaurant showcasing innovative British culinary creations.
Karachi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Home cooked meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I think it is probably the one place in London where I can enjoy a home cooked style meal in a restaurant setting. It is a must visit. The menu is quite different and I think the Chefs put in so much efforts. It is definitely a must visit place for couples or even families.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    94
    8
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Leaving gift”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Whilst a review at this point can do nothing to encourage others to visit Roganic, I can't miss this opportunity to thank Richard, James and all the staff for providing the most satisfying dining experience in London for the last couple of years, and wish them all the best in the future.

I was lucky enough to be there for the last night and there was a genuine sense of pride and accomplishment around the restaurant from everyone involved as they wrapped up their remarkable project: and typically the meal was faultless.

Hopefully we will see Simon Rogan in London again very soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a perfect night! The staff was excellent! The food and drinks flowing! Everyone had a wonderful time! It was just as I imagined! You made it happen! You are the best!!

Very much appreciated!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience...if you haven't been, it's too late...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is Simon Rogan's London venture, and since its appearance on a TV program it's been difficult to get a table. And it closes at the end of June so if you didn't get one, you probably won't now. What a triumph. And if I ever go to Manchester I will definitely try one of his new ventures there. Roganic is/was a take on his successful Lakes project. Only a tasting menu on offer, 6 or 10 courses. We chose the bigger selection and it was phenomenal. Of all the courses there was only one I didn't like, and that was raw mackerel with coal oil...yak....I don't ever want to taste coal oil again. Other than that, amazing. Lovely service, nice wines by the glass, intimate atmosphere. And not stiff and starchy. But you pay for it. At a little under £400 for two at lunch, it's not a budget place. But you get what you pay for here, and the quality was superb.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I we for lunch and it was on the best meals I ever eaten compared to many other Michllein star restaurants
The team was so welcoming and friendly they just enhanced the entire meal to an unforgettable event.
I want to commend the Chef and the team unfortunately they will close soon
But now I have a new target to go to the "mother" restaurant L'ecllume

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roganic also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roganic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.