We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, we felt at home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapori Sardi

Sapori Sardi
786 Fulham Road, London SW6 5SL, England
+44 20 7731 0755
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sapori Sardi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Loosely translated as ‘Sardinian flavours’, this cosy family-run newcomer on Fulham Road nails its regional colours to the mast with a menu that highlights the island’s rustic specialties and native produce. Come here for bowls of spaghetti laced with bottarga (dried mullet roe), malloreddus ‘gnocchi’ with sausage ragù and pecorino or monkfish wrapped in Sardinian air-dried ham (served with sautéed courgettes, chilli and mint). The kitchen also knocks out its share of trattoria staples, from grilled calamari with tangy salmoriglio dressing to seafood risotto and calf’s liver with butter and sage.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finally, we felt at home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are sardinian people living in London since 2008. We had a dinner at Sapori Sardi few weeks ago. Piero is an amazing chef and, thanks to him and his wife, we felt (finally!!!) at home. Amazing food (yes, amazing!!!), warm and cosy environment, very kind floor staff... Simply impeccable!!!!
Thank you so much, guys, we had a great time and we will be back very soon!!!!

Ivan&Dani

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    260
    48
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastically delicious find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

With the 1000s of choices London has on offer to eat out at, you would assume you would mostly find a good standard? However that's not always the case. So when you randomly find a restaurant that you not so familiar with but looks like it has all the potential to be a great night out of dining but doesn't live up to your expectations and go home feeling like you just waisted good earned money poorly prepared food. Sapori Sardinia is not that place. The food and service are spectacular and worth every Pound!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A very welcoming experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Sapori Sardi is a small restaurant in between a run of shops at the bottom of the Fulham Road, where it intersects with the Fulham Palace Road. Inside are two rooms, the front with a small bar/serving area at the back, a small back room and a relatively narrow corridor, all crammed with tables, which despite their number seem to allow enough space to avoid the clashing of chairs or conversations being overheard.

The evening we were there was busy. From walking into the door to walking out at the end of the meal, this felt like what it was - a family run restaurant, with the slight chaos of people still trying to find their way - I believe they have only been going for around 9 months. It was informal, it was buzzy, service was genuine, warm and welcoming and it was obvious customers loved it.

The restaurant offers a regular a la carte menu and a specials one, which from the fact that by the time we came to ordering several items had already been exhausted, suggested this was where diners focused their attention. The food is well prepared and fresh - a starter of bream carpaccio produced a large plate of fish and sliced fennel and was good, as were mains of veal (recommended when it became clear that the liver had been sold out) and taglioni with speck and porcini. Sweets were also good. Prices range on average from £8 for a starter to £15 for mains and £8 for sweets. There is also a relatively short wine list with some interesting bottles.

Unfortunately, our experience was not all positive. For some reason, the kitchen appeared very slow that evening and it took a long time for what should have been relatively simple plates to appear. My guess is that service was hindered both by the very small size of the kitchen and the fact we came in with another large table of diners and because a lot of diners were coming to the end of their meals with attendant demands for final courses, which could well have impacted on capability.

Although the restaurant offers 50% off Sunday to Thursday for diners eating before 7pm, I found it curious that on a Saturday evening, we were some of the last customers to come in - our booking was at 8pm. This might reflect the restaurant's location as it is some distance from the majority of bars and other restaurants sitting further up the Fulham Road. So, potentially sited in a no-mans land between the delights of Putney nearby and those further towards Fulham.

The bill at the end of the day worked out a roughly £50 a head and included a fair amount of wine, which we felt was perhaps a little pricey. However, the food was very good and the restaurant had a really nice feel to it and despite the slow appearance of our order, we will try Sapori Sardi again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oristano, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I adored it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Really cosy restaurant, the food is delicious, I especially liked the home made seafood ravioli and the grilled calamari. The service is very good, the waiters are super kind. Very nice atmosphere, with roses and candles on the tables. I went there some days ago and I will definitely go again soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have had dinner at Sapori Sardi after work. I had rice "a la pescatora" (delicious!) and salmon (very good as well). My dessert was tiramisu: i was amazed by its taste! everyone is really nice, amazing service. Try it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapori Sardi also viewed

 

Been to Sapori Sardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapori Sardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.