We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favourite Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jose

Jose
104 Bermondsey Street, London SE1 3UB, England (Southwark)
+44 20 7403 4902
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New Favourite Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited Jose after reading the rave reviews - and I'm so glad I did! Staff are lovely and very attentive, food fantastic and a huge selection of wines. Perfect little place to watch the world go by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    87
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Favourite Tapas in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was a very difficult morning and had arranged to take my daughter to Jose. We went there for a late lunch on a Friday. When we got there it was busy and we had to wait. By the way this place doesn't accept reservations. However, the wait was not an issue as the manager was a very slick operator and we were first moved inside and shown a menu and we ordered some drinks and the next stage we we moved by the window and we ordered some dishes and snacked while standing and eventually got two seats by the bar. Whilst we were there, a well known chef was also dining there.
The food was yummy. Delicious Gambas, tortilla, spicy croquetas, grilled lamb and pardon peppers and we ordered more food and all were excellent.
We both forgot a very trying morning and the superb food was indeed a distraction. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of our favourite places in London...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great, authentic Spanish tapas. Tiny place and you'll be lucky to get a seat but standing next to a barrel is all part of the experience. Food is excellent... Can be pricey if you keep ordering.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good ham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Came in at a random hour. Got myself a glass of wine, some slices of iberico, and a chorizo stew. Spent the afternoon watching whole legs of ham hanging on the bar and the chef slicing them skillfully, all types of people walking by the window some of them staring inside curiously, spanish waitresses cleaning up the coffee machine. Great experience.

Great dishes, just slightly over priced in my opinion though. There are plenty of cheap good eats in London. Overall 4 star.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little Tapas place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Small, intimate and good service. Food was very tasty though easy to order far too much! Could do with a few more chairs...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.