We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Stratford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Stratford to your Saves list
Ibis London Stratford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Romford Road | Stratford, London E15 4LJ, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #465 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Noisy room!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is exactly what it says on the tin....a budget hotel with no frills. Check in was slow and we were given two rooms overlooking the road. Unfortunately, in one of the rooms the toilet didn't flush and had constant running water. Upon inspection by one of the staff we were promptly moved to another room overlooking a Morrison's supermarket. All was fine until about 11.30pm, when a large lorry noisily arrived to make a delivery. For the next three hours there was constant banging and rattling, together with shouting and some swearing. I breathed a sigh of relief when the lorry eventually left and I managed to grab a couple of hours sleep. Unfortunately, that was all the sleep I was going to have, as yet another lorry arrived and was duly unloaded!! Changing rooms in the middle of the night was not an option, especially as we had already shifted everything once. My son, who was still in a room overlooking the road, said his room was fine and he managed to get a good night's sleep. The rooms themselves are basic but clean.

Another downside is that there is no car parking near to the hotel and we had to park at The Westfield Shopping Centre which was a good 10/15 minute walk away, although at £5 for 24 hours, was good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room at the front overlooking the road and not at the back overlooking Morrison'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis London Stratford. I was sorry to read that you found your room noisy. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. The team are available 24 hours a day and are always available to help. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    240
    106
    31
    23
See reviews for
61
184
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The IBIS Stratford was a complete rip-off. But we had just travelled 11 thousand miles and needed to get a bed. Almost everything about the IBIS was terrible...most of all value for money...We were grossly overcharged and gossly underprovided for. The room was tiny.There wasn't even a box of tissues in the room. Or any toiletries. Or a fridge..or a safe. The aircon didn't work properly, you had to pay to watch terrestrial TV. When we asked to keep our milk in their fridge they refused. To top it all. they were undergoing renovation and the reception was a building site. The emergency exit was propped open all the time we were there. People stood there to smoke. When it came to us leaving it was closed. I asked if I could use it to take my luggage to the car park and was told "sorry but it is for emergencies only" and for this hellish experience we paid 113 pounds per night!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis London Stratford .I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and our main priority during the refurbishment was to minimise any disruption to our guests. Please feel free to email me on h3099-gm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Dirty room , dirty carpet our feet went black with a few steps, the AC not working , terrible hot at night , no shampoo, no nothing in the bath , in the WC a someone's personal hair
simply disgusting.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis London Stratford .I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to email me on h3099-gm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just come back from a few days in this "hotel". After a long taxi ride from the airport we arrived tired and hungry at our hotel to discover that the bar and restaurant was being renovated. The only option was room service for dinner and considering my friend and I were staying in wheelchair accessible rooms on different floors that really wasnt a good option. So I went to my room to be hit by a awful smell in the bathroom. Apparently from the drain. So the slightly confused staff (a common theme with the staff) went to try to do something. Opened a window and turned the extremely noisy air con.
More on the wheelchair accessible room. The bed which comfortwise wasnt too bad was really too big for the room and didnt give me a lot of room to move in my chair in and out of the door.
Next morning we discovered that the only breakfast we could get was tea/coffee orange juice and a muffin to take away!
The only solution was really to eat eveything out which of course added to the cost of our weekend.
The final comment I'll make is if you are checking out and want to leave your bags they will try to charge you 2 pounds for the pleasure.
Luckily there was a manager there on Monday when we were leaving who we complained to and we managed to get 50 pounds off the price.
A prerequisite I think for a hotel should be that the staff have some level of English which quite simply the majority of the staff didnt. There was a lot of confused looks and hesitation when asked the most simple of questions. Overall do not stay here I'll pay the extra money next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis London Stratford. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. Our main priority was to minimise any disruption to our guests and your cooperation and understanding have been much appreciated. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Ibis London Stratford. Kind Regards, Funmi Onafeko General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had booked a special with this hotel which included 'champagne on arrival, free breakfast and 10% discount on shopping at Westfields'
On arrival my partner was asked for the card that he had booked with. He produced this card but didn't know his PIN number for it. He didn't think it would be needed as the room had been fully paid for at time of booking. The man on reception didn't seem to understand that my partner couldn't pull a PIN number out of a hat. However, after some confusion reception said that they could cancel the original transaction and we could pay with an alternative card.
There was no Champagne offered or the VIP discount voucher,but these were both provided to us once I asked for them. It wasn't a good start.

The hotel itself is apparently a 2* but in our opinion is worth much more. The rooms are spotlessly clean and bright. The beds and bedding are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet choice is good and fresh. The staff are friendly and polite and try to be helpful.

The location is ideal for Westfields which is only a short walk away. Our stay was ideal for the concert we were going to at the Olympic park.

Overall this was a pleasant stay and we would recommend, but make sure you take the card you booked with and know the PIN number!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ibis London Stratford. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Although we booked a twin room, we first of all got put in a single room with what can only be described as a camper... We complained, and got a much more suited twin room.

From then on, the stay was pleasant and relaxing, and with this central Stratford location was ideal. The staff were brilliant and were truly proud to work here.

Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay at the Ibis London Stratford. We look forward to welcoming you back at hotel. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

No problems here. Great room, plenty of breakfast choice. Good location for The Old olympic park and Westfield shopping centre, all within walking distance. Walk Out of your Hotel and walk along the road in front of you,the old Statford shopping center comes up on the right. Walk through shopping centre and you will pop out opposite Stratford train staion ( Not Stratford international which can be accessed from inside Wesfield shopping) Walk up the steps or escalator next to station, over the bridge and you will be at Westfield shopping center. Wesfield is next to the Old Olympic park. The Walk will take you about 12 mins..
There is no parking at the Hotel , so we parked in Westfield shopping centre car park for the weekend. There is sometimes an offer on overnight parking at westfield.. Our stay only cost us £10 to park there. for 2 days.. BARGAIN!
We booked our hotel well in advance and got a good weekend deal .If you book too near your stay date, then the price can double. Yea DOUBLE and more. Good Hotel none the less.
OOoo and I forgot to say, the beds are sooooooooo comfortable. ZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz

Room Tip: Great breakfast choice, self sevice Great Beds Very comfortable, Great location for shopping and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStratfordGM, General Manager at Ibis London Stratford, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis London Stratford and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Funmi Onafeko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Stratford

Address: 1A Romford Road | Stratford, London E15 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in East London, the newly refurbished Ibis London Stratford is minutes away from Stratford station and offers easy access to Canary Wharf, ExCel centre, the O2 and Central London (20 min by tube).The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour bar and snack menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Stratford Hotel London
Hotel Ibis London
Accor London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.