We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zengi Restaurant.

Zengi Restaurant.
44 Commercial Street, London, E1 6LT, London, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
+44 20 7426 0700 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zengi Restaurant. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,873 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Neighborhood: Westminster / Belgravia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent quality tasty food. Best middle eastern restaurant in London, and I've been to a few! Hits all the right tastebuds :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best falafel in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Sign outside makes this claim, and it might just be right. Served in something like a warm crepe rather than the usual warmed up pita. Delicate flavours, the chilli sauce is hot. A bargain at 3.50pounds. The mint tea is delicious as well, 3pounds a pot, bit expensive but lovely. Thought the deal might be take away only, but no! Full service, complimentary olives napkins etc. top spot, directly opposite entrance to Petticoat Lane.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Second night on business trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had eaten at another restaurant the night before and wanted to try somewhere different. However the cuisine ended up being the same as I found this delightful Turkish restaurant. I had a small mezze and Turkish tea. The food was fabulous and so fresh tasting. I also had the choclate cake which was lovely. I left full and happy with the whole experience. The staff were polite and friendly and there was a buzz to the place even though I ate quite early (7.00). I would go there again next time I am in London on business or otherwise.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What I'd call a little gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this little place one night and decided to give it a try, best decision I've made in a long time!!
Having not eaten Turkish/Middle Eastern before i was not sure of what was on the menu. The waiter was very helpful and recommended a selection of starters to share, we got a huge platter with both hot and cold starters with some fresh flat bread. Simply delicious.
On to the main event and i opted for the lamb shashlik which came with grilled aubergeane spiced yogurt and fragrant rice. This was probably the most succulent lamb i have ever eaten each bite was simply a taste sensation.
Next time I'm in London i will go out my way to make sure i get to this little gem of a place to try some of the other amazing looking dishes that were on the menu, the whole baby lamb did catch my eye but i think that one is for sharing!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality meal in a flexible place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've been here once before but it's better when it's less packed, that way you can take in more of the interior and detials. Nice bars/ sitting are upstairs and the downstairs is good for some mates or a quick meet with a date. The staff were pleasant enough and customers looked at ease inside; guy on laptop, couples, groups- really flexible kind of place that works without making you feel uncomfortable. The food was good quality with adequate sized portions.
(The saloon like doors to the toilets need to be changed- might smack someone in the face accidently)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengi Restaurant. also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Zengi Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zengi Restaurant., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.