We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation with Husband” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vacation with Husband”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had a wonderful stay. The hotel is very conveniently located and the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. All our request were met. It is convenient for transportation by both train and bus. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted that you’ll definitely return to us and I hope to see you again soon for another wonderful stay.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    559
    172
    50
    23
See reviews for
285
700
84
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleknock, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Last week, my 18 year old aunt and I checked into the Grosvenor Hotel for her first visit to London. The welcome we received from Zohaib at Reception was indicative of the quality of our entire stay. We were given a lovely twin room in the wing which proved to be comfortable and, for a ciyt centre hotel, spacious. The Afternoon Tea in the beautiful lounge was everything we expected and more.
We spent 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The location of the Grosvenor makes it ideal for touring London and the hotel entrance from Victoria train station was very convenient. We will certainly return to The Grosvenor on our next London visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and choosing to stay with us for your daughter’s special birthday and first visit to London. I’m thrilled that Zohaib created such a great first impression which continued throughout your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your review and thank you for awarding us five stars. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is very well situated being right near the Victoria Station. You do have to go upstairs to get into the hotel, but the concierge did come out and get our luggage. When you walk in the lobby is magnificent. The staircase is marble, the floors are marble and there is a giant crystal chandelier. The staff was really nice. We were on the fourth floor. The room we had was in one of the wings overlooking Victoria Station. We did hear the station announcements during the day, but not at night. The room was small. We had two twin beds on wheels and a small desk area with the tv on it. There is also a wardrobe. The entrance to the room is tight. Also there isn't any power outlets near the bed. They are all near the desk or the door. The one in the bathroom is for shavers only. Overall the hotel is nice, but after the lobby, I expected more out of the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. We have recently carried out a £20 million refurbishment of our hotel stripping years of paint off all of the marble, painting gold leaf on the lobby pillars and installing our eye catching chandelier among other projects to restore the building to her former glory. With our convenient location and attentive team here at The Grosvenor we are a popular choice for many guests. I’m sorry you were a little disappointed with your room. Please do let us know should you return to London in the future and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger bedrooms.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Should your travel plans include a trip to the wonderful city of London, consider staying at The
Grosvenor, convenient to all the major attractions. The staff is friendly, warm, helpful from Sonali Sawant, the Reception Manager to everyone associated with the hotel. We opted to pre-pay for our stay, upgraded the room category and included a full-English breakfast which was delicious and a great way to start the day. The breakfast buffet is served on the 2nd floor in the Concierge Lounge. You can also have drinks and hors d'oeuvres in the evening.
The Grosvenor is connected to Victoria Station that makes is very convenient for trains and buses and the Underground. The delightful Big Bus Tour departs right in front of the hotel and it's a short 5 block walk to Buckingham Palace. Westminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben are all within easy walking distance. The hotel has an easy access door right into
Victoria Station that has wonderful train service down to Brighton and all the southern coast. Also, The Gatwick Express runs every 15 minutes.
The Grosvenor has it all. This is a wonderful place to start your visit to London.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 6th floor, #613. Very, very pleased with the accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We do have an ideal location here in the centre of London within walking distance to many of the sights that this wonderful city has to offer and transport links right on our doorstep which can be accessed through our station entrance. Thank you for your personal mention of Sonali which I will certainly share with her and the rest of the team. I’m pleased you upgraded to an Executive room and took advantage of the extra facilities we offer with this package. I do hope you’ll visit us again soon to enjoy some more great London experiences.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We recently stayed at the Grosvenor Hotel on our trip to London. It is adjacent to the Victoria railway Station and yes, you can hear the announcements from the third floor rooms. Up the block is the Victoria Coach Station and there are pubs and restaurants a plenty in the area. The hotel is just a 10-20 minute walk from most of the major attractions in London. The hotel itself is old and the room we stayed in was very small, but clean. Our reservations included the breakfast buffet, which needs some work; particularly an omlette or pancake station.

Room Tip: Don't book a room overlooking Victoria Station unless you like hearing background noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and your feedback regarding our breakfast buffet which is invaluable to our new Head Chef as we want to make sure we get this right for our guests. Please do let us know should you return to London on another trip and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger rooms. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a very big Hotel with different wings and of course different levels of rooms. My rating is only average, because:
- we have stayed in a ugly room facing the Victoria bus garage with an dirty blurred window. I think they will have to clean it weekly not.....yearly.
-the room (standard) is very very dated, I think the furniture is as old as the Queen is.
- the noise from the garage is continuous (24 hours) and the quality of the sleep is average, so you should be aware and ask for rooms in different areas.
- the heating (which is central heating/cooling system) was not working properly...couldn't rise up the temperature below 20 degrees Celsius, a little bit too cold in the room for that time...

However, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is ok. I am sure there are other superior rooms with better options, but of course they come with a cost.. The breakfast is excellent with many options, an excellent start for exploring London. I picked up and recommend this hotel for its excellent position:
-near the coach/bus/train station - few meters...
-close (2 minutes walking distance) to Buckingham Palace, and nearby attraction, 5 minutes walking distance from Westminster Abbey and Parliament.
Best!
Romeo

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. Our beautiful building dates back to 1862; with the wing section of the hotel added in 1910, I'm sorry you were unhappy with your room allocation on this occasion. Our team are always available to assist with any requests or enquiries our guests may have and will always offer a room move if we have any availability. I was pleased however, you found your bed comfortable; we have recently added mattress toppers to all our Hypnos beds for extra comfort. Our new Head Chef, Peter, will be delighted his breakfast offering was excellent and I will pass on your compliments to him. With our central location here at Victoria I do hope you will visit us again, please do let us know if you have another date in mind and we will do our utmost to allocate you a room on the other side of our building.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having fought my way through the usual Victoria crowds and along the narrow pavement crowded with commuters I then waited while my booking was eventually located.

The room was as hot as an oven; a long way from reception with poor signage; no answer to room service so I eventually called the concierge who got them to call me.


Menu choice very limited and over forty minutes to deliver. Walls as thin as paper so what with the station announcements and the conversation either side of me not much sleep.

I stay in a lot of hotels in London. I would not recommend this to any business traveller other than the close proximity to Victoria station.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was very disappointed that you awarded us a one star rating following your stay and would really like to discuss your review in more detail. Please feel free to contact me at ian.fletcher@guoman.co.uk.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in London
#117 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#193 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.