We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, smart , but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England (Pimlico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, smart , but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Grosvenor is very well situated , right next to Victoria Station and in walking distance of some of the highlights of London such such as Buckingham Palace. The rooms are very clean , smart and of a good size with good facilities and everything you need is there, but in our opinion the beds are far too hard . The major minus is that the hotel suffers from a problem that seems to affect many hotels - the air conditioning is simply inadequate , this is probably due to poor maintenance - the system makes a lot of noise but not much air comes out (clogged filters?) and a on a hot July night the room was stifling so we did not get a very good nights sleep.

The final comment is that Breakfast is, in my opinion, unreasonably expensive at almost £20 a head . We chose to take breakfast elsewhere and had a great meal for £5 each .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was pleased you found everything you needed in your room and our location well situated. Thank you for your feedback regarding the air conditioning which I will certainly look into. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    655
    189
    58
    27
See reviews for
345
842
99
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at The Grosvenor a few times over several years on business. Returned purely on the basis of the location. Next to Victoria Station, it's ideal for Victoria, St James and Westminster. Therefore could suit holidays as well as business trips.

Pre-refurbishment the rooms were draughty, creaky and well past being comfortable or any way reflecting a 4 star standard. It's a poor reflection that prices were so high given that standard, and this makes me wary for staying in the future even though the rooms have been re-modelled. The new rooms are still small and obviously don't offer any better a view (if there is one at all).

The hotel is large with long and complicated corridors. Set off 10 minutes early for breakfast!

The bar and restaurant areas are well appointed and reflect the former grand status of the hotel. Also priced to reflect this too.

Staff have always been professional and prompt, though not the friendliest I can recall meeting.

Overall, well placed for work but otherwise I wouldn't stay again at the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. Having stayed with us prior to refurbishment I’m delighted you have now returned to see our £20m transformation. I do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for my husband and I as we did not fancy the journey home after booking a west end show.At check-in we were offered an upgrade to an executive room and use of lounge for £50 which then included breakfast ,so was good value for money as we also used the lounge for complimentary drinks and canapés before leaving for the show.Our room in the main building was a good size for a London hotel,furnished beautifully in a contemporary style in silver grey and aubergine colours,we had a separate dressing area and an excellent bathroom with walk in shower.Tasteful ' Elemis' toiletries.Breakfast in the lounge was lovely and the service was excellent.We will definitely use this great london hotel again.Will highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for you post. I was delighted you chose to stay with us last minute to make a night of your trip to the theatre and enjoyed the facilities of our Executive package. Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have just returned from the Coronation celebrations at Buckingham palace and chose this hotel for position, reviews and cost. All of which were excellent. We booked a standard double and our room was located in the wing but was perfectly adequate. Some reviews comment on small rooms but it was perfectly sized with double bed, dressing table and chairs and a table. The location is great for Buckingham Palace. There is some building work going on just up the street from hotel towards the Palace. Breakfast was average, with all the usual foods but nothing special. Staff-reception and concierge very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I hope that you enjoyed the Coronation celebrations at Buckingham Palace; we are really well positioned for Buckingham Palace and many other sights that London has to offer. Thank you for your comments about our Front Office team which I have passed on to them. I hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great classy hotel, but comes with a high London price tag. We stayed in an executive room on the top floor, which whilst extremely furnished and presented along with an excellent bathroom with walk in shower and bath, the room is extremely small for the price, and this is the largest room in the hotel. However the hotel ambiance is wonderful, fantastic architecture, wonderfully decorated and presented. The brassie is a delight for both lunch and breakfast and the cocktail bar is a great period room to chill. But again be aware it's top hotel London rates, £12 per cocktail, and £90 for lunch for two with a bottle of wine! The staff are excellent and friendly and the hotel is connected directly to Victoria station and tube so easy for traveling around. If you want a classy upmarket hotel in great location and with money in your pocket stay here !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was thrilled you found our ambience wonderful, your room well furnished and our Reunion bar a great room to chill. Thank you for your kind comments regarding my team; they will be delighted with your feedback. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Aside from the fabulous location, the Grosvenor is probably the most overrated and over priced hotel I've stayed in (and I wasn't paying). Our room was barely large enough to accommodate the bed (and too small to successfully house the chair, which merely impeded the journey from one side of the bed to anywhere else in the room). The glass shower curtain had a lousy seal, so it was impossible to keep water off the floor outside the tub unless you kept the water pressure very low. There were no hooks to hang a towel on. In the room, no chest of drawers to unpack clothes (just a shelf over the wardrobe), The poor maid literally spoke no English, so when she forgot to leave soap one day and wash cloths the next, there was really no way to communicate the problem to her. They charge 30 pounds extra for a second person in the room; some of this is reasonable because a full breakfast is included, but 30 quid is extortion. The meeting room we were in was either insufferably stuffy and warm, or the air conditioning made it difficult to hear. All the staff are cheerful and willing, but honestly, unless you are a fan of tiny rooms, rococo stairways and moldings, and slow elevators, stay somewhere else. It is directly connected to Victoria Station, which is a big plus, especially if you fly in and out of Gatwick, to which there is a direct line.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post; I was really disappointed to read your comments about your experience with us and would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you get the opportunity, please contact me directly on ian.fletcher@guoman.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ideally located we stayed for a week in this hotel in May 2013 and had easy access to hop on/hop off buses (right at door), easy walk to watch the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace and right beside the Victoria Station. Not only that, the hotel is located right beside a number of theatres which are just across the road (we watched wicked). Breakfasts here are great with an excellent range of everything one could wish for. Rooms are typically London, smaller but adequate, very clean and quiet. To top it off the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend and would certainly stay there again. We booked via internet and correspondence from the hotel was prompt and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel, having stayed in many during our numerous travels overseas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your post. Being a seasoned traveller I was delighted you enjoyed our great location and service and would highly recommend us. I look forward to welcoming you both back to stay with us again soon.
Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in London
#98 Romantic Hotel in London
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.