We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay. Great location. Impeccable service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay. Great location. Impeccable service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here while on vacation in London. Centrally located close to sightseeing stops, restaurants, and shopping. Concierge service was helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was thrilled to receive such fantastic feedback from such a seasoned traveller and was delighted that you found our service impeccable and your room comfortable and clean. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    559
    172
    50
    23
See reviews for
285
700
84
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've only been here 1day so far but have been impressed by the overall charm of the place, the staff are very helpful & friendly, the room is clean comfortable & stylish with a mixure of old & new decor, it probably suits a mature taste, located well, within walking distance to buckingham palace &
the houses of parlament, with victoria station just around the corner & buses stop out the front door, highly recomended !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was really pleased to read your comments regarding our team and the overall charm of our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for a week in May. Found the staff very happy and helpful. Concierge brilliant. Good location for seeing the sights. Vic station upgrades going on but it really wasn't an inconvenience to us. We didn't have any noise impacts and found being close on station was brilliant. Recommend upgrading to use executive club rooms as its an excellent service for breakfast and cocktails. Downstairs bar serves great meals/drinks in relaxed environment too, which was perfect after sightseeing. We would stay again and certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We do have a great location for seeing all the sights that London has to offer and have excellent transport links via Victoria station. I’m glad you found our team very helpful and friendly and would recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Third stay here, again on work trip. First stay was in 1994 and second after massive refurbishment in 2012.service excellent for such a busy hotel. Happy with room and facilities. Room in annex this time but no issues. Ate in the Chinese restaurant which was fine. Never any complaints from me... Keep on doing what you do!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I am delighted that you were happy with your room and our facilities. We hope to see you again soon; perhaps you may have the chance to stay with us for a leisure experience in the future.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Grosvenor from May 12-18 and could not have been happier with our choice of hotels.

The location is superb, the facility is beautiful and extremely well-maintained. We utilized room service most mornings for breakfast (at no extra charge) and visited The Brasserie and The Reunion Bar as well. Service and food was great in all situations.

Buckingham Palace is a 5-10 minute walk away and you'd be hard pressed to find a place you can't get to from Victoria Station, which is just below the hotel. We never heard any noise from the station, nor did we ever feel a lack of privacy with all the hustle and bustle around Victoria Station.

Simply put, we would definitely plan to stay here on a future trip to London and hope you'll consider it as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind post. I was proud to share your comments with my team and delighted that you were happy with your choice of hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to London.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location of this Hotel is really good
There still needs further refurbishment the room that we stayed in definitely required work
Lighting in the small room was lacking
The corridors have been updated to their original vintage where possible
Staff in certain areas were extremely helpful

Room Tip: Ask when enquiring as our room you were awaken by the railway station announcements next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m sorry that you were unhappy with your room but pleased that you found our location to be really good and certain team members were extremely helpful. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in an executive king room, and enjoyed the benefits of the Club Lounge; which represented superb value for money in London. Our roome was large and tastefully furnished. We enjoyed morning coffee, afternoon tea, aperitifs, digestifs and breakfast in the quiet Club Room (all included in the room price) and enjoyed excellent customer service from the attentive staff there. I had read a couple of negative reviews about the noise from the trains in some rooms, and I wrote to the manager ahead of our stay to ask for "quiet rooms". Our room was fine noise wise, but it may be the case that all the executive rooms are well located in the hotel. The decor in the lobby is spectacular and the bars impressive. It may not be the most opulent hotel in London - but it's public areas are certainly impressive and it must be one of the best value ones.

Room Tip: Go for an executive king room - with all the benefits of the Club Lounge. Excellent value for London...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was delighted you enjoyed the excellent customer service from our team and enjoyed the benefits of our Club Lounge as well as our spectacular lobby. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in London
#117 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#193 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.