We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at the Grovesnor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England (Pimlico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Sale B&B from £160
Ranked #191 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful stay at the Grovesnor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 day stay at the Grosvenor and what a delight it was, nothing is too much trouble for the staff there from reception to the dining rooms.We booked a pre- theatre package which included a deluxe twin room, 3 course evening meal with a bottle of house wine, 2 x cocktails and full english breakfast all for £239 an absolute delight, the food and service was excellent. The little touches of turning the beds down at night and leaving a chocolate, also taking the luggage directly to the room without having to request it..delightful.The hotel is immaculate and all staff we met were so very friendly and helpful, the location is ideal to, just around the corner from Victoria station so great for the tube. All in all a wonderful stay which is highly recommended we look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaye c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. It was great to read that you found our little touches delightful and had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Grosvenor for 10 nights. With its immediate access to the Tube and Victoria train station, we could go anywhere we wanted at about any time. The hotel itself is immaculate and the staff the friendliest ever. We had the morning breakfast as part of our stay and the English buffet was very good. We would definately return and recommend this property to anyone going to London.

Room Tip: A room away from the main streets will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hrtpmpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was delighted to read you found the hotel to be immaculate and our team to be the friendliest ever. We hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Record cold in London but the hotel was warm and inviting. The staff made us feel very welcome even though we were very high maintenance. Room was always clean, and the shower was hot. In the bathroom there was a towel warmer making the record colds even more tolerable.
Loved that we could use the back entrance/exit into the Victoria Transportation Station. Lots of options to eat in this terminal.
Hotel was in a great location for the night life.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. It was great to read that you found the Hotel warm and inviting on such a cold day and that our team made you and your family feel so welcome. We’re looking forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just enjoyed four nights at this hotel - the location was great, within easy walking distance to many of London's attractions. The staff were very friendly and efficient, especially Sarah, who was such a help when we checked in and discovered our room had one window which was over 8 feet from the floor. After showing us another room which overlooked Victoria Station, we decided on the room on the 7th floor as it was much quieter. The room was well decorated and clean, with a very good bathroom.
The breakfasts were very good, with plenty of choice and the service was very good.
To get to our room we were required to use two different lifts, one of them between the 6th and 7th floors. The lift had no lights operating on our second day and despite reporting this a couple of times, there were still no lights in the lift after the second day. The lift was eventually signed as being out of order, which meant we had to carry our luggage down the stairs to check out.
Checking out was where our enjoyable experience suddenly came to an end. We were presented with a bill for 39 pounds for one phone call which cost 9 pence! Not happy at all with this blatant rip-off.
We would stay here again because of the service and location, but would definitely not touch the telephone.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary23Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I am glad that you both enjoyed our great location and you found Sarah and our other team members friendly and efficient. I’m sorry that despite you raising the issue regarding the lift, this was not initially rectified and I will certainly address this with my Maintenance Manager. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a total 4 nights (beginning and end of trip to UK) and loved it. Staff was very nice and efficient. Loved that it was pretty much on top of Victoria Station which made sight-seeing a breeze. Even had a back entrance to station in lobby...nice! Room was very nice and bathroom good size.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I am delighted that you loved the Hotel and found our team to be nice and efficient. We do have a fantastic location here at The Grosvenor and it was great that you managed to enjoy some of the sights during your stay. We hope to see you both again, next time you are in London.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Grosvenor Hotel is a stunning building in a prime location. Unfortunately, our stay was spoilt by a particularly small double room and inattentive service.

Only one person could walk about at any time in our room - have never had this problem in another London hotel. Also, the indifference and lack of attention from the staff in the Champagne Bar added to a poor experience. This hotel automatically adds a service charge to bills put on the room. These were removed at my request but to be told that this was customary in London I found quite amusing (because it isn't).

WIll not stay here again and would recommend potential bookers to look at The Royal Horseguards Hotel instead. It is a sister hotel to The Grosvenor but far superior in terms of service, room sizes etc.

Room Tip: Check size of room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneColdTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was really disappointed to read your comments about your experience with us. I have recently been appointed General Manager for the hotel and hope you will give us another chance to prove that we can get it right.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went in January when it was really cold and snowing. The hotel was hard to find and the staff were helpful in giving directions. Everything about the stay was brilliant, the room , the staff, the food, the service . And the decor was breath taking, it was apparent that they had done refurbishments to a high standard but had retained the originals features.
I wished I could have spent more time in the hotel but it was very pleasant and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uhappy58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was delighted that you found everything brilliant and the decor breath taking. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon for a longer stay.

Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,185 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#371 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#238 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,059 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#142 Luxury Hotel in London
#148 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing