We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night on the tiles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Grosvenor, London to your Saves list
The Grosvenor, London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bristol
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Night on the tiles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A last minute trip to London took me to the Grosvenor hotel just next to Victoria station and I think the hotel formed part of the station some years ago!!

The hotel looks very grand from the outside and took only 3 minutes to walk from the tube to the hotel and only 12 minutes on the tube from Paddington. The inside of the hotel was just as grand and I was greeted by friendly staff on the reception, I was checked in and given a free upgrade to an executive room on the 7th floor.

The room was very spacious and had all the amenities you would expect with a quality hotel, the view from the window gave me vista's of London with the BT tower clearly visible. The room was lovely and quite being so high up, so I had a relaxing night.

I didn't unfortunately eat at the hotel due to attending an evening function so can comment on the quality and having to leave early in the morning I also didn't have a breakfast but the cost was £18 !!

Room Tip: I booked through a last minute website and paid £230 for a Wednesday night...unsure why I got a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    530
    163
    43
    20
See reviews for
275
655
76
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

All I can say is that the hotel is perfect. From the moment you walk in you will be taken away by it beauty. Staff were very friendly and efficient and it only gets better. The rooms are again very beautiful, immaculate with the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hotel. The Executive Lounge is excellent, my husband and I enjoyed drinks in the evening before we went out for the night and then had breakfast in there in the morning. It really added that little extra bit of luxury and relaxation. This really is a great hotel and I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here recently for one night only and overall was very pleased with the room allocated. One issue however was finding used old cotton wool and tissues in the bin in the bathroom - obviously left over from the previous occupants. Whilst this was a little off putting it did not affect my stay and I can honestly say the room itself was lovely and well decorated (bed is very hard though!). The lobby of the hotel is lovely and all of the staff I encountered were very well mannered and helpful (especially the man that booked me in - very professional and friendly).I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is located on Victoria station so has very handy links to rail, tube and buses. It's very easy to get anywhere in London from here. Sitting on the edge of Chelsea there are lots of great shops around within walking distance. We found some lovely little shops on Ebury Street and Pimlico Road.

We had a standard twin "Wing" room on the fourth floor. Although quite a walk from the lift the corridors are lovely and high and there are some great pictures on the wall reflecting the hotel's railway history. The room was of a standard size for London. The beds were comfortable. The furniture was a little bit worn but it all worked! Everywhere was very clean.

I took a computer to plug into the tv, as advertised on the website, but although the cables fitted there was no way of switching the input so we gave up - even the helpful concierge couldn't sort out this one!

The shower water pressure wasn't great and the bathroom was very small but it was serviceable.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special. Plenty of choice but an awful cup of tea and coffee!

I would stay here again if I could get the same bargain price but wouldn't want to pay their normal rates.

All the staff we came across were very pleasant and helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Well what a beautiful hotel, we had a very warm reception on arrival and although our room wasnt ready (we did arrive 2 hours before check in) we went out and shopped and when we arrived back our case had been taken to our room which was lovely and clean with crisp linen on the beds and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. all staff were helpful from the reception staff to the concierge & staff in the cocktail bar. The cocktail bar is quite expensive with 12.5% service charge added to your bill however its what you expect & you do not have to pay the service charge if you dont want to. I paid it because the advice for the cocktails and the pleasant service of the waiter who bought the drinks to our table made it worth the while

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed there for my wife's birthday trip to London going to concert at Albert Hall. The Hotel was well positioned for transport. It was clean and efficient and we had stayed there on a similar trip last year and it remained at the same high standard as our previous visit. The added bonus was that we got a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a great Hotel and part of a well respected chain that I've used when I can afford it! Anyway, got a good last minute rate and wasn't disappointed - location great - side entrance straight into Victoria station and lots to do nearby.
Rooms were modern, light, airey and with all up to date facilities.
I'd certainly return. Just a a couple of niggles - a curtain was partially off the rail and I couldn't close it properly so a little light intrusion a.m. (They were about 7 foot in length and I couldn't do it myself and it was too late at night to call maintenance) plus in the morning, the water, whilst hot on most taps would only run mildly warm in the Bath. (Again I was in a rush and it didn't bother me too much) If these were ok it would have been 100% perfect

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor, London

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in London
#108 Romantic Hotel in London
#111 Luxury Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor, London 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grosvenor, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.