We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip. My double room was small (typical for central London) and clean, but functional. The room was difficult to find (7th floor) required taking two lifts. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    560
    172
    50
    23
See reviews for
286
702
84
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well where to start! On arrival there at the Hotel, it is nothing to look at from the outside. You come into a Grand entrance. I go to the front desk to check in and after saying hello the first words out of the womens mouth were, " WOULD YOU LIKE A UPGRADE", so I asked is it free, and her reply was NO, so I said why would I need a upgrade. No answer back. Well arriving to our room after a long flight, I know why she had asked if I wanted a upgrade. The carpet had to have been put down back in the 1700, as it was thread bare. It was Hot water heating and it hadn't been dusted off. The washroom had Mold all round in the tub/shower. The only thing that was nice was the Bedding and bed itself. Well down I went to report it to the front desk and they said go look at this other room, while it wasn't much better and you couldn't swing a cat around in the room and basically it was good for one person only, so down I went again and said I'm going out for a couple of hours, I want someone to go to that room and address our concerns. I told them I had Asthma. We left and came back and only to find NOTHING HAD BEEEN DONE AT ALL. Well I went up one side of Management and down the other side of them, as people were wondering what was going on between us, but I didn't care, as other people needed to know. We were finally given a new renovated room, after a DAY OF FIGHTING WITH THEM. I notified my Travel Agent to never sent anyone to that hotel. I did after writing to the Owners get money returned to us, which was equal to 1 1/2 days free. The Service there was terrible and the staff were not pleasant or helpful. I new I was in trouble when I heard the words, "DO YOU WANT A UPGRADE". The only reason I gave it 1 star rating was the restaruant was okay. NOT AT ALL IMPRESSED.

Room Tip: Don't go there, unless they have upgraded all their rooms. Value was awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at The Grosvenor in March 13 for 2 nights. Can't find any fault whatsoever. From check in, the room, the food/drink and especially the service. It was excellent. The Executive Lounge was particularly good value. Will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Executive room upgrade brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent the weekend of st. Patrick's weekend here. The hotel is lovely. There is a lovely entrance way with wide sweeping staircases and a huge chandelier. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room itself was very clean and quite big - especially for London standards. The bathroom was gorgeous and the standard of cleanliness was great.
As this hotel is right beside Victoria station we were happy to learn there is no noise overflowing from the station but there was some noise from the street.
It is close to all amenities and the tube is just below at Victoria station.

Overall definitely worth a stay and would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here last week as I had to attend a course in Victoria, the hotel is extremely handy for the underground and mainline station and was 2 minutes walk to Grosvenor Gardens where I needed to be the next morning.

Unlike the previous contributor I checked in around 1:30pm with no extra charge and I had booked a favourable rate through a hotel booking agency, I had very good service at checkin although my room was a little tricky to find, up in the lift and then back down a flight of stairs which wasn't explained correctly. My room was very small and overlooked the train station so i could hear the announcements quite clearly although I managed to sleep as the trains don't run all night lucikly.

I met some friends in the Reunion bar and had excellent service in there again and then we ate in the Brasserie (separate review).

The shower was very tricky with two shower attachments so i managed to switch the wrong one on and ended up with water all over the floor.

I did not eat breakfast and checked out very quickly.

All in all a very comfortable stay, the hotel is very grand and service is excellent in all areas I had dealings with and I felt very safe as a single lady travelling alone, but if I had paid the full price I would have thought it very expensive.

Room Tip: if you are bother by noise ask for a room not overlooking the station, although if you were the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at The Grosvenor for three nights in February 2013 and would highly recommend. The recently renovated hotel is beautiful, and our upgraded rooms were spacious and very nice. The hotel staff was courteous, and even gave us the room upgrade and a little something extra since we were celebrating a special occasion! We booked a special deal through their website and I found it to be a great value. Not to mention the central location and super-convenient access to Victoria Station! My only criticisms were in regard to the wireless service (the signal in our particular room was terrible, but we had no problem in my sister's room or anywhere else in the hotel), and I'd recommend skipping the buffet breakfast (overpriced for just ok quality). Instead go for breakfast in The Lounge where the menu is a la carte and the food was much better. We also enjoyed drinks in Reunion bar overlooking the bustle of Victoria before heading out for the night. All in all it was a great trip and we'll certainly look to stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed thurs fri sat in deluxe double with breakfast. had a room on 7th floor in 1 of the towers. limited view but very quiet. we found the hotel spotlessly clean, comfy bed, very friendly, great breakfast and the reunion bar was lovely place to be for quiet evening drinks. having victoria tube next door means getting around is quick and easy or you can walk to harrods or hyde park in 15-20 mins. over all, great location, cheery staff, lovely victorian luxury hotel which we will gladly use again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.