We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, clean, luxurious feel and perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England (Pimlico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, clean, luxurious feel and perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel to stay in, especially if first visiting London.

Right outside Victoria Station makes it ideal for arrivals from Gatwick (via Gatwick Express) and is walking distance from Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Harrods etc.

Even for longer journeys, the proximity to the underground and major bus routes makes it really convenient.

Staff very helpful and the doorman Sam had some fantastic suggestions and provided great advice. Recommend Sam.

Only drawback was the 'business centre' - it's not much of a business centre, rather just a slow PC with a broken printer in a small square dull room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JZWA,

Thank you for the great review of the Grosvenor.

We are currently reviewing our business centre offering and I am pleased to say the PC and printer have already been changed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    749
    225
    64
    30
See reviews for
402
972
113
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Brilliant hotel great location that once you enter the building there is an air of calm and peace. We had an upgrade as a present and would recommend its worth the extra. Spacious rooms and lovely to have use of the executive lounge which on arrival were shown too and given tea and biscuits till our room was ready. Evening meal was good and again we chose to have the peace and quiet of the executive lounge. The staff really helpful with and our meal as we are vegetarians and they altered a course to accommodate us.
Will definitely use again if staying in London.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 108 with great space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear chrisc79,

Thank you for the brilliant review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms small but adequate, clean and warm. Bar prices a little high. Beautiful old building. Great location for getting to airports and about London in general. Oriental restaurant attatched to the hotel was first class. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear k200xxx,

Thank you for the great review of the Grosvenor.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the Grand Imperial first class.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Brilliant service early check in arrived at 10.30 expected to drop bags but the room was ready and we had been upgraded - spotless room and bathroom with plenty of towels comfy beds plenty of soft pillows!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear ursulaeyves,

Thank you for the fantastic review of the Grosvenor

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thge hotel is righ above Victoria Station. If the trains are running it is easily accessed from the airports or any other part of the City. If the trains are not running the busses will get you there. Only once could we hear the station announcment in the 3rd floor room. Most of the staff were helpful watch out for one of the concierges he gave us bad information and seemed upset we did not want to buy theater tickets from him.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Roger F,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review

I was pleased to read that you found the Hotel location to be so convenient

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in The Grosvenor between Christmas & New Year for two nights with my sister on a sightseeing trip. I was very happy with the rate we got prior to arrival including breakfast. On arrival from Gatwick I was aware that the hotel was "close" to Victoria Station, but clearly did not appreciate quite how close, it is literally attached to the Station so it was so convenient from a tube perspective and made our pottering around so easy and hassle-free.
Our room was nice but very dark even though it had two windows, we got upgraded to an executive room and it was really spacious. The bed and duvet / pillows etc.,. were really comfortable, the bathroom was small but adequate with nice Penhalagions toiletries.
On the downside, breakfast was a challenge both mornings... the first morning the hotel must have been busier as we had to be seated in a drawing room in armchairs and eat from a very low table, also we had to wait for food to be filled in the buffet and there was just a feeling of hustle and bustle, it wasn't great to be honest.
Also, the bar area is quite strange, it is quite like a cocktail bar, my sisters cocktail was very poor and the bar staff were not very friendly.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay, primarily because of the location and I would rate the hotel as average, good but not fantastic

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear 9oakpark,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor feedback

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay although it was disappointing to see that we did not show our normally high standards in all areas.

I do hope you will stay with again in the future and please feel free to contact me personally if I can assist in any way.

My e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Only a 1 night stay on a Saturday night as we went to see a show (Jersey Boys...EXCELLENT), opposite the train station on Buckingham Palace Road. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable, we were on the 3rd floor in the West wing which was very quite for an undisturbed sleep. Breakfast was included, freshly cooked buffet and plentiful. My only "complaint" as such was that we had to eat in the "lounge" area, albeit elegant and comfy for afternoon tea, but not when trying to balance a full cooked breakfast either on your knee or having to sit forward to eat over a low coffee table, (my Father aged 76, found this most uncomfortable), but we were offered no alternative. Also why oh why do these hotels provide ample tea and coffee in the rooms but the bare minimum in the way of those silly cartons of milk!!!, yes we could have asked for more, but by the time room service arrives with them, you generally just want to go to sleep!!. Not realy compaints as such such little irritations that did not spoil our stay. We would recommend this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building seemed slightly larger (super king sized beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guliverYorkshire,

Thank you for the review of the Grosvenor

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

We do use the lounge for breakfast during busy periods as this helps to ensure there are no delays for tables but I have asked my team to be more careful when seating guests here as the tables are indeed quite low, thank you for this useful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#322 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#78 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,900 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#214 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel - Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in London
#103 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.