We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the heart of London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor, London to your Saves list
The Grosvenor, London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Offer from £155
Ranked #166 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the heart of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 3 till 7 december to see London in Christmas atmosphere and to celebrate my birthday. Check-in was great and the receptionist, named Marta, was very kind and helpful. For a reasonable amount we could get an upgrade to an executive room, which was very nice, quiet, with enough space and with a view at Buckingham Palace. Housekeeping did good work. Very good in this hotel is the free wifi. If you love english breakfast there is enough for you to eat otherwise it is not so extended. We had afternoon tea in the lounge which was wonderful. Unfortunately there was no Christmas atmosphere in the lounge and in the Brasserie, but there was in the lobby with a big Christmas tree. Overall it is a very nice hotel with a great location and very helpful staff. Next time we stay in London we like to come back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Lynn_Holland,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

I was so pleased that we were able to make your birthday stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    556
    171
    50
    23
See reviews for
285
699
83
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
heanor
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A lovely hotel ,very friendly staff ,the welcome was very nice on arrival .We was on the 4th floor room 567,the double room was very comfy ,clean a little smallbut ok.Nice bathrooom with shower and bath lots of toileties.
Breakfast was really nice ,lots of choice from continetal to a very full english plus lots cereals andplenty of tea/coffee waiting staff very efficient and attentive.
The only complaint is they dont serve coffee late in the bars or didn't this weekend.But after a word with the head waiter at the brasserie we had coffee delivered to our room within 5 mins ,no charge !bonus

Room Tip: the room we had didn't have a very nice view we was over look the railway station,but wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear susiehutch,

Thank you for your great review of the Grosvenor

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, near theater district, Victoria Station, dining. Rooms were smaller, but that's true in most older hotels. Fairly recently remodeled. Breakfast buffet wonderful and can be included in cost. Staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Yvette S,

Thank you for your review of the Grosvenor from your recent trip to London.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the UK.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed for a 2 nights weekend before my business trip dates and i paid a good amount of money for such hotel which i thought it was good , but actually it was not ! i have checked in a litterally ( A Tuna can room ) which i felt depressed , disappointed and angry once i stepped into it. when i expressed my deep frustration to reception that this room is ( inhuman ) , they tried to upsell me a bigger room for extra 70 Pounds which i rejected , and then a ( senior staff ) told me : Oh , you are going to be difficult , aren't you ?! .... WHAT ?!! what kind of hotel uses this kind of language with guests ?! after i ( bargained ) for paying extra to move to a livable room , my luggage arrived ( broken handed ) !

I had no interaction with staff during my stay , however , they made sure to make it special by asking me for extra amount for a late check out as i checked out at 12:30 PM !!! i held my self from bursting and asked for a compensation for breaking my bag as a counter defense !

I felt i have to be nasty to protect myself for the things and the way i am treated by the staff of this hotel . I will definitely not use this hotel again or even pass by the same street of this hotel.

Room Tip: You have to see the room first , otherwise you will be placed in a tuna can room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear amr a,

I was most surprised to read your feedback.

Clearly it’s disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay and I was pleased that my Front Office Manager has been in touch with you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a great hotel which is very central right above Victoria Station. One access to the hotel is within the station. Breakfast quite expensive at £20 but on booking in we were told as guests we could have it for £12. We had wing rooms which were quite small but very well equipped noisy through the day sometimes but no problems through night. The staff were most helpful. I would definitely use this hotel again if we get the same deal searched through trivago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Andrea B,

Thank you for your review of the Grosvenor, I was pleased to read that you had a good short break.

Don’t forget to keep an eye on our web site for your next trip where we offer a best rate guarantee.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip. I had a single room booked and expected a small room after reading reviews on here. I was offered an upgrade for £20 but as I was staying for only one night I declined the offer. The room I was in was small but adequate for one night.

It had a 3/4 size bed which was fine and really comfortable, a large bathroom, large wardrobe, safe, lcd tv (not a great signal), tea/coffee and an iron and ironing board. There is also free wifi. The room furnishings were great and contemporary/boutique style.

I ate in the Brasserie, which is not cheap, but on a par with other restaurants in the area. The food was very good, but if you have a big appetite, the portion sizes are small.

The gym is good and breakfast was excellent. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Restaurant staff could have been more atentive at breakfast, as it was very hard to catch their eye to get coffee, as they seemed to deliberately not look around the room to see if people wanted anything. That is my only minor criticism.

Overall excellent value for London and I will be back later this month and in January.

Room Tip: Single rooms more than adequate, but upgrades offered for only £20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Dave_Wolves,

Thank you for you great review of the Grosvenor

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Grosvenor with my brother last week and had a great time. The room was one of the best I have stayed in (and I stay in a lot of hotels). Perfectly decorated, very clean and well equipped. The staff looked after us at every point of our stay, the exec lounge is lovely to sit in and relax, the breakfast was again one of the best I have enjoyed, and the special earl grey that I was served was something of a higher class. The bar can only be described as an experience, luxury seating and furnishings, a trendy place to enjoy a merlot after an evening out seeing a show.

Any help or support from concierge was well met.

We will definitely stay here many more times on our trips to London.

Well done to the Grosvenor and their management and staff.

Room Tip: As I travel a lot I always suggest that you ask for the best deal or room available for your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Alkipone,

Thank you for you great review of the Grosvenor.

It’s always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor, London

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#193 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor, London 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.