We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast service terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 1,066 Hotels in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast service terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We had an overall good stay however the staff at breakfast were rude & unhelpful we had to ask twice for toast despite being told it was coming .Hot drinks were poured out of flasks no coffee pots or teapots in sight no offer of refills. The staff cleaned & moved tables around us & rushed us out at exactly 11 despite telling us breakfast was served until 11.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear jemaat,

Thank you for your review of the Grosvenor.

I was pleased to read that you had a good stay.

I am sorry your breakfast experience did not reflect our normally high standards, we do serve tea and coffee from flasks rather than individual pots as following guest feedback this has helped us improve the speed of service in the busy breakfast area. You should however of course have been offered re fills and I will pass the feedback regarding breakfast on to my Restaurant Manager for him to review with his team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and please feel free to drop me an e-mail personally if I can assist with any future booking.

My e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    561
    172
    50
    23
See reviews for
286
702
84
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Expecting a modest but comfortable room we were greatly impressed at check-in with a complimentary up-grade. We had arrived early not expecting access to our room but in the event we were given immediate access to a lovely spacious double room which was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The staff were friendly and courteous, what really impressed us was that, in such a large hotel with many guests the staff we had spoken to only once acknowledged us later when we met them in the public areas and asked after our well-being.
We had a deal including dinner taken in the bistro which was very busy but the food was good and the service friendly. There was a huge crowd of people arriving all at once for breakfast on the Sunday morning after the clocks went forward for GMT and a long queue, however the hotel seemed to set on every available member of staff to sort the problem, they couldn't have tried harder.
We shall certainly return when we visit London again and try to get a good deal on an upgraded room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear fraserese,

Thank you for amazing review of the Grosvenor

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Breakfast at the weekend does indeed get very busy on Saturday and Sunday mornings but it’s great to read that my team were all on hand for this.

We have some fantastic winter special rates on our web site at the moment and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is transformed. I would also recommend the executive rooms, with the accompanying facilities and quiet lounge for breakfast. Rooms are clean, well equipped and the staff efficient and helpful. Perfect for easy access to Victoria Station and Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear mifccak,

Thank you for your marvellous review of the Grosvenor Hotel, Victoria

Our location for Gatwick is indeed fantastic with the Gatwick express taking just 30 minutes from the Airport to the Hotel entrance in the station!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent direct access to Victoria station thru door off classic lobby, very handy in yucky weather (remember to check when the door will not be accessible, the hotel locks it overnight for security). We had a large room, furnished to a good international standard with everything you need and expect to find. Very comfortable bedding. All clean, everything worked. Ours overlooked the Victoria yard but was surprisingly quiet. Very nice to have casement windows that opened. Staff helpful and friendly. Even walked us down the street to show us the way when we proved incompetent at following their directions! Free wifi and if you're traveling without a device they also have a complimentary pc and printer. Definitely recommend the Grosvenor if you prefer this area of town /or/ especially if you'll be using Victoria as a frequent hub.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear NoOneWillAnswer,

Thank you for your great review of the Grosvenor

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We do now indeed offer free high speed Wi-Fi for all guests in the Hotel and this is proving most popular.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Has the Grosvenor had a change in management? It's been a few months since I stayed here whilst on business in London and stayed here again last night and was seriously impressed. From the friendly welcoming receptionst who checked me in, she then advised I was lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade on my room! Room was fantastic although heating not working. I asked the waiter who brought my room service meal if he knew how to fix it, which he didn't but he had maintenance in my room within about 4 minutes! Room service meal was good quality and was followed up by a call to ask if eveything is acceptable. A good nights sleep in a large comfortable bed, nice shower in the mtorning (although would have loved for it to be hotter) followed by a great self service breakfast (great selection on offer) - speedy friendly check out - what more can you ask for. Sadly only stayed for the one night on business but this will certainly be my choice next time I'm in London. The standards in this hotel have really improved, so well done to whoever is driving that, it's really noticeable to this guest. Thankyou to all at the Grosvenor for a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear REVIEWKINGGlasgow,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Grosvenor

It is always a pleasure to read such great feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to drop me a note if I can assist in any way.

My e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed on business for 8 nights over 2 weeks. The entrance is grand but reception layout is a bit ‘awkward’. The check in was ok, though at no time was I offered any help with my baggage. I stayed in a single room (No 629) and it was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, there was not even room to put up the ironing board. During my second stay I was in a single room (No 407) which was far bigger. Both beds were comfortable; the TV is ok with about 20 channels, the curtains were heavy and blocked out the light. The rooms are nicely decorated and simple. There is not a great deal of wardrobe or cupboard space which was annoying. There is tea and coffee in the wardrobe!? but no bottled water. The bathroom was tidy and modern though the shower (in both rooms) was low pressure and ineffective. Internet access was free via BT open zone and worked well. The rooms had a Bose docking speaker that worked well, a kettle and hair dryer. The doors to the rooms were thin and people could be heard walking through the corridor, also announcements from Victoria station can be heard despite the windows being secured. The staff at breakfast did not seem very alert, for example: I was asked if I had been to breakfast before and on answering ‘no’ the waitress walked off and left me standing for 5 minutes before I got the attention of someone else. I was not offered any tea, coffee or toast for 4 of the mornings of my stay and had to find a waitress and ask for myself. The food selection at breakfast was good, though the hotel was having a refurb in one dining room which meant the room in use for self service of breakfast was poorly set up, quite often eggs and sausages ran out and were not re-stocked for some time. The gym is hidden on one of the wings and was reasonably well equipped. The hotel is very nice, it is in a great location, the rooms are ok, food is good, the drawbacks are: staff customer service skills are haphazard and the noise from Victoria station (depending on where your room is).

Room Tip: Ensuring a good sized single room is a game of roulette. Service is average, not sure if any rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear jbdiggerman,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Grosvenor.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

Our single rooms are indeed quite small at 16 to 20 m2 but the do offer great value for money. Our standard twin/double rooms are from 20 to 25m2 and our Executive rooms do offer a more spacious 30m2

Thank you also for the feedback regarding the water pressure and breakfast, I review all comments with my team and we will see what action we can take to improve these.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please feel free to drop me an e-mail personally if I can assist with any future booking.

My e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in August as part of a Globus tour. The hotel was wonderful,centrally located, and the breakfast was superb. It is also very handy to the Victoria Railrail station, and a large food court. The west end shows are a 5 minute walk. We stayed at the Grovenor London for two nights, should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Chuck3S,

Thank you for the fantastic Tripadvisor review of the Grosvenor

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the visit to the UK

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.