We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much modernised hotel and part of the Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor, London to your Saves list
The Grosvenor, London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, UK
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Much modernised hotel and part of the Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My friend and I have stayed several times at this hotel when visiting this part of London. The hotel can be entered either from the railway station concourse, or from the narrow pavement of Buckingham Palace Road.

On Friday 21 September we had a much modernised room 421 with a very large double bed (in reality two mattresses side by side) with a settee. Flat screen TV. Bathroom had combined bath and shower (overhead and hand held). Both bed and shower were comfortable.

Check in and check out was reasonably prompt.

We did not eat in the hotel so cannot rate the breakfast. Quite a lot of fast food places including Starbucks in the station concourse.

We will stay again

Room Tip: Ask if the room offered has been modernised
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear travellertopoland2,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

It was great to read that you have enjoyed your stays with us.

I am pleased to say we have now completely refurbished all of the bedrooms in the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    558
    171
    50
    23
See reviews for
285
700
83
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for a palatial style hotel exuding the history and confidence of the British empire at its peak - this is it. While priced at the mid- / upper range level, you'll receive a hotel experience that you'd easily pay twice the price for elsewhere in London. And even then, you'd be unlikely to find a match given the astonishing architecture and style of this hotel.

Perfectly located as a built-in gem to the Victory Station and in near proximity to stylish neighbourhoods, such as Chelsea, Pimlico, and Knightsbridge, you have direct access to the Gatwick Express, the tube, taxis, busses, a grand food court, and countless shops within the Station area. In a town such as London where public transport will take hours out of your daily schedule, this matters.

On arrival, we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The newly renovated room was large for a London hotel, the bathroom excellent, and the staff very friendly and flexible.

Cocktails at the bar were superb and are absolutely not to be missed. The Grosvenor cocktail bar is probably one of the top 5 cocktail bars of london - no kidding.

Only area for improvement was the charging for WiFi (come on Grosvenor ! nowadays WiFi is a free-of-charge commodity even at lower priced hotels).

This said, I highly recommend this hotel, this was my second visit, and - certainly - not the last.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Major_Tom_OverAndOut,

Thank you for the fantastic Tripadvisor review.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
droitwich spa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked a 4 star 'hidden gem' online which turned out to be The Grosvenor Hotel in Victoria, London. Thus we paid far less than booking a room there direct & would recommend searching out 'hidden gems' online. A fulll breakfast was included in the much reduced price. Our 1 request was to have a room in the main part of the hotel -( the wing can be noisy as near to the station).When checking in this request had been overlooked & we were allocated a wing room & could not check in til after 3pm. The receptionist, aware of our disappointment, checked with the Manager & we were given an upgrade to an Executive room in the main building. This was a lovely, spacious room with a very large, comfy bed & en suite with bath & shower. We were impressed with how the situation was handled & thus give the hotel a star rating for customer service/satisfaction. The hotel has had a complete re furbishment recently & staff were helpful & friendly. We would recommend this hotel & enjoyed our 2 night stay very much. Excellent position if using Victoria Coach Station or Mainline Victoria Rail. Buckingham Palace & St Jame's park within easy walking distance from this Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid wing rooms as may be much noisier due to position of rail & coach stations - ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear DenDroitwickSpa,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry we did not have your room requests noted on arrival although it’s great to see this was promptly rectified by my team.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for a work trip, just one night. The hotel has great facilities but our room was the smallest we have ever stayed in. There was just enough room to move around the bed. The bathroom was the same and anyone with mobility problems would struggle with the lack of space. Unfortunately none of the windows opened so no chance for fresh air. Breakfast was well cooked and plenty of choice. Great choice of drinks in the Cocktail Bar.

Room Tip: Check on the room size you are allocated as you may struggle to move around. It was not easy to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear PoppyBilly,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay although I noted that you found your room to be small.

Our standard rooms are from 20 to 25m2 but our Executive rooms do offer a more spacious 30m2 +, if you are visiting London again please feel free to drop me a note personally so we can arrange the best possible price for one of our larger rooms.

My personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We selected the Grosvenor because of its proximity to Buckingham Palace and an excellent write up in the Daily Telegraph travel section. Booked a King Size room which was situated in the wing on the 4th floor - a good choice for being quiet looking over Victoria bus station . My wife wanted to open a window but this proved to be impossible and she soon forgot about it. We did not want to venture out for a meal and settled for a Chinese in the Imperial which was very good being a bit upmarket from the 'Chicken chow mein' we are used to at home.
Breakfast was not included and the cost of a full english was an exhorbitant £40 for two however this did not spoil our stay in what is a very nice hotel in the old railway tradition.

Room Tip: Book a KIng Size room on the wing of the 4th floor looking over the bus station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Chris0150,

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us having read our review in the Telegraph.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to drop me an e-mail if I can assist with any arrangements

My personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

With a great location and nice rooms The Grosvenor at Victoria Station receives our best recomendations! Very friendly staff made our wedding anniversary a great experience! The room was not the largest but most impotantly it was clean, quiet and with a good bed! Easy walk to both Buckingham, Hyde Park, Westminster/House of Parliament and the City. And of you don't care to walk the Tube is right next to the hotel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Petersoeby,

Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review and recommendation!

I was pleased to read that your anniversary trip was a memorable one and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel was immaculate, staff very friendly and helpful, great location.
We booked this hotel because of its proximity to Hyde Park as we were attending an evening concert. It was a safe walk back to the hotel and so convenient for walks to Buckingham Palace, Westminster, the River and many other locations. Even though located in a busy area our room was quiet, did hear the odd ring before bus announcements but not intrusive and stopped at night.
The grandeur of the hotel was lovely sparkling chandeliers throughout, lovely staircases, ornate finishes, lovely light filled rooms etc.
A hotel with soul not a concrete and glass box.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which had lots of light and lots to view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor, London, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear suzee9,

Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review,

I am pleased we helped make your concert trip a memorable one.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to London.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor, London

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#192 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor, London 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.