We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with good staff and central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England (Pimlico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with good staff and central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed 1 night during the Olympics before moving to W Hotel to join family.

Very comfortable stay in moderately spacious clean quiet room on 5th floor. Staff was warm, professional, helpful and enthusiastic. Only criticism is WiFi which they charged 10
pounds for 24hr access. What was worse is that it went down after using it for only a few hours. When I was offered the use of the business center for free, I cut my losses and moved to the W Hotel in Leicester Square for the remainder of the week. The staff was apologetic but did not offer anything more than lip service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Chas Y,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased that you found the room to be comfortable and my team to be warm and professional.

I am however sorry that you were affected by the disruption to our Wi-Fi service.

Our Wi-Fi is provided by BT openzone and unfortunately during the upgrade to our system we did experience some outages, I am pleased to say these now appear to be fully rectified.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and please feel free to drop me an e-mail personally if I can assist with a future booking.

My personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    655
    189
    58
    27
See reviews for
345
842
99
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Room was very modern and extremely serviceable yet miles from reception and exit.
Clean quality linens, towels. Good blackout curtains. Excellent breakfast. Value set menu pre theatre dinner.
But....
Prices. For extras were just too much to accept. After recent refurb, the wonderful traditional bar has been replaced by a souless brasserie that does not serve drinks but overpriced coffee and tea etc. The restaurant is now a spread out brasserie style with very close tables.

The central lobby and corridors are still fabulous but then reception is run from silly semi circle hall stands with guests lining up along the rear of the lobby pillars. No flow organisation and stingy reception staff. We really did not feel welcomed or recognised and with the price tag so high compared to similar...stay at the Rubens down the road, although still a top end price it's cheaper, better and the service is lightyears better.

Will not choose to stay again. Only saving grace is cleanliness and location!

Room Tip: Ask for one close to reception or travel in walking shoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Coppya,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I am sorry that you felt your stay was not good value for money.

Should you wish to speak to further regarding your feedback please feel free to e-mail me.

My personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

On arrival greeting was friendly. Was put in a standard single in the annex. This is quite a walk and I would avoid these rooms if mobility is a problem. Room was very small, but nice decor. Shower did not work, they promised maintained only to phone 5 minutes later to say it was a known problem and switched my room. Glad I tried before bed, but why put me in a room with a known broken shower? Next room also in annex, also tiny. In this room the air con was stuck on minimum not possible yo adjust. The promoted "rainfall" shower was not present in either room. Very dated showers. On the plus side once problems are identified the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Also - the Desk chairs are too high to fit your legs under the desk making it impossible to actually work at the desk. That is simply crazy. Finally you have to pay for wireless.

Room Tip: Standard singles very small. Annex rooms a very long walk from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Waspbiter,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that the location of the Hotel was suitable for your trip to London and that my team were friendly and helpful.

Our standard single rooms are indeed quite small as do range from 16 to 20m2, they do however offer great value for money for short stays in London.

I am sorry for the maintenance problems that you encountered. I have spoken at some length with my team about these comment and please rest assured these have been addressed.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My young son and I stayed for one night at this hotel. Great location, especially if arriving via London Victoria.
The staff were friendly. and efficient. We were checked in, and into the room within 10 minutes of arriving. The rooms (deluxe double) was spacious, and clean. Not as luxurius as the entrance to the hotel, and the hallways though.
Breakfast wasn't great. However there was a half price offer on at the time of the stay, so wasn't too bad considering....
Perfect for a 1 or 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are alot larger, try to opt for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
DearWOrkHPl4yH,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We got a good deal at 50% off and at that price it was an excellent choice. Room was clean and nice although lobby looks more luxury than rooms (standard rooms). If you want to have a good sleep you must get rooms not facing Pacha club. Avoid breakfast absolutely not worth money the charge. They charge for wiifi ... Quite bad for a 4 stars

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear colax,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the location of the Hotel suited your needs.

My Operations team have spoken with Pacha regarding your comments as whilst they are located opposite the Hotel the noise levels should certainly not affect our guests, thank you for this and also for the feedback regarding breakfast.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at the Grosvenor as recommended by a friend, Rooms are excellent and had dinner in the hotel which was also fairly priced and tasted great. Only issue was being woken up at 7am to a fire alarm organisation could have been better as there was no direction or information once out of the hotel. Looking to return to london on the 18th and will hopefully return to this hotel and hopefully will not be disturbed again. Was recommended by a friend and would also recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Aaron-Ball

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review.

I was really pleased tor read that you enjoyed your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience of the Fire Alarm and thank you for the feedback regarding this which my team are reviewing.
.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to drop me an e-mail if I can assist with any arrangements

My personal e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just come back from a Weekend trip to London and definately would Recommend this Hotel , Was Suprised how Nice it was , Very Clean and the Breakfast was above Standard , Pleasent Staff and Comfortable Room .
Amazing Location , Minutes Walk from Victoria Bus Station and Tube , Also Minutes walk from the Apollo Theathre where we watched Wicked . Also Notivced Billy Elliott near the Hotel .
Would definately Recommend .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear span29,

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review.

It’s always a pleasure to receive such positive comments and I have passed this on to my team
.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to London

Kind Regards



Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in London
#98 Romantic Hotel in London
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria
The Grosvenor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.