We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad really” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal National Hotel to your Saves list
Royal National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #760 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so bad really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Was a bit worried about staying here after reading the reviews, yes the place is rather dated, lobby is fine but rooms definately need a facelift! no flatscreen tv and very limited tea/coffee/milk (1 per person of each!). Service was good at check in and rooms were clean though. Didn't appreciate chambermaids knocking at 8:30am on check out day though when we were still asleep!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms seemed to have flat screen tv's maybe they have been refurbished?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    1,063
    1,993
    902
    969
See reviews for
1,336
1,261
263
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

1. WIFI is awefully slow and only in the looby. Just imagine: 7 floors, about 300 rooms on each flow (!) and wifi working only in the looby where about 20 chairs are standing. it is impossible even to check emails. And there is no way to pay extra for good connection. I had to wake up at 4 a.m. to use internet. But even then when I was the only person online it was tooo slow.
2. Tiny rooms. I stayed in a double room and I hardly can name it a room. It was twin beds and a narrow path around them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We found the hotel very basic. The hotel is huge and we had to join a long queue to check in, then in the morning there were huge queues to enter the dining room. We ended up finding a nice coffee shop nearby to have breakfast. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, we had clean towels each day. The kettle did not work and the shower was difficult to regulate. We found the room very noisy as we were above a function room we could hear music till very late each night, and the traffic noise was very loud. We did like the location as it was handy for the underground and buses. There were many restaurants nearby and we walked to Covent Garden a few times to enjoy the restaurants and shops there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly and well-informed. The rooms were clean and tidy. We had a big problem with the heat in the hotel room, we stayed there in November and had to sleep the whole night with the window open and without covers as it was stifling. The rooms were basic but it was an ideal hotel for someone using the room as a base whilst they were visiting London and out sightseeing all day. The hotel is situated extremely close to an underground station and there is also a taxi rank nearby, so you can't fault it for accessibility.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has a very convenient location, but it's very basic In terms of the rooms and amenities. It's at the level of a motel in the US, nothing better. Breakfast consists of cereal and cold toast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is 10 minutes walk from Euston station, and 3 minutes from Russell Square Underground. Check in at 2pm but SECURE luggage storage for free when checking in so you can make the most of day one, and only 50pence for storage on check-out day so again make the most of your last day.

Hotel very large, clean rooms, well stocked with tea/coffee, good size and decent showers. Breakfast very adequate. Attached to plenty bars, restaurants and shops. Would recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having stayed at the Royal National's sister hotels before, we opted for the Royal National due to it's location. The hotel itself is in an ideal spot as it is a short walk from Russell Square tube station and also around a 10-15 minute walk from Kings Cross Station. The Royal Nation is basic and in need of a facelift, however is an purse friendly option for those who are just looking for a room for a couple of nights. We had included breakfast as part of our booking, however we were welcomed with bland, tasteless cereal and lukewarm toast and decided not to return for the remainder of our stay. As part of our booking we also received a meal voucher where we were entitled to a meal for 2 at a number of partner restaurants. Whilst we decided to eat in Central London itself, this is a good deal which offers choice at a number of spots close to the hotel for those who do not want to venture too far on your first night.

Staff at the hotel were polite and friendly and helpful with any request that we had. I would not immediately jump to stay at this hotel again, however the price reflects the standards provided and for a bed for the night (or two!) it's not all bad!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.