We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the location. Staff ?? Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal National Hotel to your Saves list
Royal National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #764 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Only the location. Staff ?? Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

stayed for 2 night cos we joined the continki tour. Scary experiences. Will not come back here again. Staff are rude. Wi fi only available at the lobby but not working dyrung my stays.so many rooms in this hotel. It is like what others TA had advised. This is a hostel. Than a hotel. Think the staff attitude need to be re-trained. Pls send them to training program. Thank u

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    977
    1,839
    829
    903
See reviews for
1,215
1,164
245
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here in October with my 85 year old Mum. She had booked and had been told that the room would be facing the outer side (road side) of the building and that two beds would be provided. On arrival the foyer was absolutely full of people. Various tourist groups from several countries. So you had to wait your turn and in doing so I made sure my Mum could sit and wait for me with the luggage. Seats in the foyer are like hens teeth. The room was on the 6th floor and a good few minutes walk from the elevator. It faced the inside courtyard of the Hotel looking at other rooms. The room was tiny and when I went into the bathroom could not imagine my Mum stepping high into a bath to have a shower. I already had nightmares of her slipping etc.

After calling reception they agreed to change the room and this made our stay far more pleasant than it may have been. The room was a little more spacious and the shower was a walk in shower. Perfect. Coffee and tea facilities were also in the room.
Breakfast is in a huge dining area and on the last day there was a queue heading back into the foyer of people waiting to have brekky. Brekky was very slap dash and the staff very unfriendly. Everything was luke warm and the lines to get anything huge.

On the last morning we decided to go and have breakfast outside in a small restaurant just a hop step and a jump from the hotel. It was quite affordable and oh so delicious and hot.
The one good thing is that the Big Bus tours start right outside the hotel. This was ever so convenient and we loved riding the bus to see the tours. Well worth the time an price. For two days at 30 pounds you could jump on and off the bus at your leisure. You also get to meet some great people.

We actually were happy not to spend too much time in the hotel and we had dinner each night at restaurants outside of the hotel. These were in walking distance so that was perfect. Luckily we were so tired each night we slept well.

The room overall was clean and sufficient. Some of the staff at reception were pleasant but the staff at the concierge were very rude. Also one of the bar staff was extremely rude yet on an other night the guy was very pleasant.

This is certainly a hotel that sees hundreds of tourist groups that come and go each day. But again the location is pretty good to get around London if the traffic is not too bad.

Room Tip: If you don't want to feel closed in completely ask for a room that faces the street. At least y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the by far the biggest and busiest hotel I have ever stayed in. And I consider myself to be fairly well travelled.

Definitely not one for a romantic getaway or relaxing city break. The sheer volume of people at the hotel just makes a scene of complete chaos. Breakfast was like a school canteen though food was reasonable enough

Rooms were very average. A bit gloomy looking. Beds ok. Room could have been cleaner, (stray hairs in the bathroom). Room was nosy but expected in Central London.

It is cheap and has a good location close to Euston. It has everything close by, shops, restaurants etc hotel bar is also quote cheap (£2.80 for large wine)

Not sure if I would stay again. Felt too much like I was in a busy airport/train station

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights pre Contiki. The location is great but rooms are very basic for the price. They weren't particularly clean and beds were small and uncomfortable. Staff weren't particularly nice either. Free wifi and pay phones in the lobby are very convenient for international travellers and there is a small office out the front from which you can book tours to Stonehenge, Bath etc. I would probably stay in a hostel next time purely because $700 for 4 nights seemed way too much for what we got but in saying that I'm not sure if that's a reasonable price for a London hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed there last week for four nights with my wife and daughter and oh what a mistake. The room was disgusting with unknown substances dried onto the dressing table. The bathroom was full of black mill-dew between the tiles. The air vent was hanging off and tiles wedged against the wall with toilet paper. One day no towels and another day no toilet paper. Speaking to reception was a total waste of time as no one could care less. We asked for a quiet room but after midnight there was plenty of noise around to wake you up. Breakfast was included but extra for my daughter and never hot. For such a large hotel you would not think the food could get cold as it was a pure bun fight. I tried the toast as it came straight out of the kitchen. Guess what, it was cold. Sadly we gave up after two days and had our breakfasts out after that. A perfect location for a base but I wouldnt board my dog in this hotel. A large hotel that wants some serious money spending on it. Do yourself a favour and dont risk it

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

we spent 2 nights there, across from the main hotel. this place is huge, but the rooms were very nice, quiet, good service. breakfast was included, unless you wanted an English breakfast for 5 pounds. not worth it. this was centrally located. we walked from the London eye and many other sights back to the hotel. they also have about 5 restaurants on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My daughter and I stayed on a Superbreak at this hotel 25th October for 2 nights. Basic hotel but clean and ideal position for west end shows and Russell Square Tube Station. However I had read on the Royal National website/Superbreak that an offer valid from 6 Oct -5 Dec guests would receive a complimentary 3 course dinner on the 1st night of stay when staying 2 consecutive nights. However it would appear that this is only valid for BOOKINGS made during this time and as I had booked in August we did not qualify. No where on the website does it state this. I have been in touch with both Superbreak and the Royal National but to no avail. I must say that this actually spoiled our stay as we planned our day around this and arrived at the hotel just after 7 expecting to have a free meal when we were told we were not eligible for this offer so BE WARNED if you have been like us and booked early to ensure (a) good seat on the train (b) good seat in the theatre and (c) a hotel booking you will not receive a free dinner even although it looks like you will from the info on the website.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #764 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.