We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal National Hotel to your Saves list
Royal National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #762 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel, the room was clean and quite spacious. The staff were very polite and helpful. Although the hotel was very busy there was always someone to help if necessary. Great choice in the bar and the staff were also friendly. We will stay in this hotel again if we return to London

Room Tip: If you need a quite room get a south side one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    1,063
    1,992
    902
    967
See reviews for
1,335
1,260
263
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Staff not helpful when asked to be transfered to The President. Little Hitler in charge of breakfast no card no plate. Would never stop AGAIN. Dissatisfied would not reccomend to anyone. Loads. Of. Coaches. Lots of people. I. Hotel. Like A Rabbit. Warren. Asked. Staff which. Way to. Room. Sent. Opposite. Way. Took. 20 minutes. To find. Room. Breakfast. Horrible. Every. Thing. Cold

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed overnight as had an early eurostar trip. The location is great pretty much between euston and kings x. Walking distance to covent garden, Leicester square, trafalger square etc. the room was clean and sufficient for a nights sleep, it was extremely noisy though, old windows let in all sounds including the multitude of contiki holidaymakers drinking outside at the hotel bar..but room was what expected for the price etc. major gripe was the 'breakfast' if you can call it that?! Cold Pre-cooked toast, no juice machines working only 1 milk machine and had to hunt for a clean cup, cheap cereal choice and bread rolls. £5 for a cooked breakfast which did not appeal. I think they should just do room only, it is without doubt the worst breakfast I have come across! good location and clean rooms but prepare to find a local cafe for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Royal National in april 2013 for a week. It delighted a lot by its great location (very close to tube station Russell Square, a bus stop just around the corner, in other words just a few moments from the historical centre of London). Our room was very clean and quite spacious as well as its bathroom. Beds were good. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and always was ready to help. Breakfasts were very meager: only toasts with butter and jam, cereals, coffee, tea, orange juice and water. Full english breakfast was extra charge and included bacon, eggs, sausages, beans and baked tomatoes (maybe something else that slipped my eyes). This hotel accepts big group of tourists for a night or two, so sometimes there are queues in the restaurant for breakfasts and quite crowdy in the lobby. Despite that we were very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quiter. Hairdriers are at deposit of 20 pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first time in this hotel. The room was clean and the service was good. It is a very busy hotel but we cannot complain of the service. The breakfast was very good with a choice for cereal and fruit and also included in the price we had the English breakfast. We had a free dinner on the first night stay from one of the restaurants in the hotel. We dined at the Indian restaurant, 'Popadamus', and the food was very tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 5th or 6th floor if you do not want to hear the noise of the traffic, or opt f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Its not the best hotel your ever going to go to but it does for the amount of time your going to be there. When i go to london im only in the hotel to sleep as im out all the time sightseeing ect... Some reviews on here are not too good but i have been here 5 or 6 times now this going back into my Uni days as well and it has been very good on all times i have been here. Over the past few years they have made improvements and last year when i went it was excellent as we was in one of the new rooms, they still had the other half to finish but these should be finished by now. It has everything you need and the breakfast in the morning is not that bad either.

The location of this hotel is spot on as its on one of the main tube lines and everything is easy enough to get to from here, its the main reason why i stay at this hotel every time i go. I have also stayed at their sister hotel The Imperial which is 100 yard up the road. They are both standard hotels nothing special but when your'e spending very little time in the hotel i honestly don't mind.

Would recommend to anyone as its in ideal location and the hotel satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 2 times and never again. Yes, the location is very good – but that’s about it. The rooms are outdated, but considering the price you pay to sleep here one can hardly expect more.

My problem with this hotel is the staff members and how they handle security issues. I was travelling with a friend and we shared one room for 5 nights. One night my friend was running an errand, and while I was alone a grown man comes in to my room. He refused to leave and he refused to tell me how he got in. I know the door was closed, so he must have had a door card (or something!) to access the room. As a young lady I was very scared when this grown man refused to leave. He started to approach me, and luckily my friend came. I was in panic. My friend and some witnesses from the neighbor room took me down to the reception to solve the problem and get help. The hotel said the man probably already left the hotel, and that’s that. I did not even get an apology. The staff was very rude and did not take the problem seriously at all. I will not speculate what could have happened if my friend hadn’t come – but this was a serious security breach. Perhaps this wasn’t the hotels fault, but the way they handled it was very bad.
When you can’t feel safe in a hotel “in case” someone walks in on you, something is seriously wrong!

I will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: My tip would be to chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

We were concerned to read your comments and are currently investigating your report further. The keys are programmed at the time of check-in for registered guests for their room, therefore we are perplexed as to how someone else could have gained access to your room. This is a unique report and we have reiterated to our night staff the importance of alerting security and the police, if necessary, to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. We would like to apologise that our staff were not more attentive at the time and have spoken to them to ensure they look after our guests properly.

Kind regards,

Guest Laiason Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #762 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.