We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal National Hotel to your Saves list
Royal National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #764 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

To start this review, I feel the need to mention that my friend and I got a great price on our stay at the Royal National. We only paid about 35€/night each, so I didn't expect a luxury hotel.
I would definiely consider staying there again as its location is excellent: close to King's Cross/St Pancras, very close to Russell Square underground station, walking distance to the British Museum and many other places.
Nevertheless, there are a lot of pros and cons to staying at this hotel:
Pros:
- Location
- Price
- Our room was quite comfortable and clean
- Big bathroom
- Breakfast is included
- Kettle with tea/coffee in the room
Cons:
- No wifi in the room (the one in the lobby worked well for us though)
- A bit noisy
- The hallways are a bit tired
- Breakfast is not the best
- The employees are not always the friendliest (they were not plain rude either)

Overall, I would say this is a good place to crash after a day of sightseeing, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    978
    1,839
    829
    903
See reviews for
1,216
1,164
245
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (7th-10th feb) with my 5 year old son. On arriving first impressions were ok, lots of large groups of students hanging about. Check in was quick, staff member was disinterested was as quick as he could bet rid of us! Room was ok, clean plenty space, flat screen tv, hair dryer. Bathroom was clean, plenty towels (although a bit grubby looking, more grey than white). The room was stifling hot, opened window and left it open for the duration of our stay! There was alot of noise at night time - doors banging, people shouting, screaming, carrying on, also alot of traffic noise which was unnavoidable as we had to keep the window open with room being so hot!! We had our first night dinner free with booking (we had gone out for a meal before going back to hotel, but went for a look). Safe to say im glad we had eaten out, food looked like it had been there for hours, roast beef was so tough the chef could barely get his knife through it! Breakfast was a chool dining hall type affair, plenty continental type foods, english breakfast needs improving - bacon was rock hard, boiled egg yolks had started to turn grey! The hotel is a 5 min walk fron russell square tube station and a few mins to bus stop (no7 takes you to oxfors street) Overall this hotel was fine for a base but not really suited for families - huge groups of students = noise and little consideration for other guests! The price we paid for 3 nights b&b (£380) w pretty steep for the quality ofthe hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I promise I am not trying to be sensational about this. I have never been in such a horrible place in my life. The hotel is unspeakably dirty, the staff vary from disinterested to rude, and the condition of everything- from the door that had been kicked in numerous times and wouldn't close, to the broken television, to the window that didn't latch and flew open during the night, was in an unbelievable state of disrepair. We were attacked in the elevator by an intoxicated youth, brandishing a glass bottle- the hotel is exclusively populated by youth tour groups- and had to run down the hallway to escape. The lobby was full of underage people, all completely wasted and openly drinking, yelling and screaming. Run- don't walk- away from this hotel. It simply couldn't be worse.

Room Tip: Seriously, don't stay here. I'm not kidding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and whilst this isn't the best hotel I have stayed in, it's by no means the worst. The room was little ragged around the edges but clean and comfortable. It was very warm when we went in but once we turned the radiator off (top and bottom) it was fine. Breakfast was ok but could have been a bit more choice on English breakfast such as mushrooms. Very canteen style but you get what you pay for, don't you. Tube station close by and several restaurnts and pubs in the area, no need to head into central london. Walkable from Covent garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to starting a Contiki Tour with a friend in a twin single room. Checked in close to midnight and there were plenty of staff in reception to check us in and answer our questions.

Stayed in room 267, which overlooked other hotel windows. The room was spacey enough to fit our luggages and the beds were positioned well enough to have some privacy. Beds were comfortable to sleep in. Bathroom was reasonably sized with toilet, shower and vanity. Power points in the room are in inconvenient places and you couldn't have your phone/devices charging next to you.

Location of the hotel is close to Russell Square station, about a 3-5 minute walk.

Our booking didn't include breakfast but there's cafes along the street that had some good value breakfast options.

They have a luggage storage for 50p which is locked when it isn't supervised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived at 10 o'clock, so we put our luggage in the luggage room. I took some money and put the rest back in the bag. When we got our luggage at 2 o'clock and checked in, the money (and the enveloppe) was completely gone when we settled in our room. We checked our luggage 3 times before going to the reception to complain about this. The reception and the concierge were of no help whatsoever, they just kept on saying "it isn't possible anything got stolen from the luggage room, since they knew the "guards" personally", so it had to be our own fault. Obviously, we were very upset about being waved away like that. Eventually, we filed a complaint against the hotel, but we aren't expecting any response since there is no way of proving the money got stolen whilst being in the luggage room with that poor excuse of a guard...

I don't recommend anyone to stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: just don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location of this hotel is very good, underground station 3 min walking, and 1min walking from bus station - which is very big advantage. It is very easy to reach the Center. It is very simple hotel, no high society place, but excellent for the groups or people who spend all day out discovering London. Rooms simple, not so small, it was corectly cleaned.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #764 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.