We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel where even students would not stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal National Hotel to your Saves list
Royal National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #762 of 1,049 Hotels in London
st annes on sea uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a hotel where even students would not stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

we stayed here for one night with a gentleman with learning disabilities they put us on the fifth floor this floor is terrible very scruffy and plaster missing from the walls i would say more student accommodation than a london hotel but then student accomodation is much better. the rooms were very noisy and we were sure that we would end up with flea bites it was that bad. when we spoke to the "manager" he said he could not control the traffic noise, maybe not but they could have triple glazing. one of the beds had busted springs. avoid this hotel im sure that there is better accommodation in the area

Room Tip: dont have a room on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    1,063
    1,993
    902
    969
See reviews for
1,336
1,261
263
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel was what we expected. Wifi was available on computers in the lobby.For breakfast one must pay for the english breakfast but the main was not bad, also the heater in the room was quite too warm and it was very hot, staff took about 3 days to arrange it as we didnt have any idea from where. It is really comfortable as it is situated in Russell Square and quite close to Oxford street, and taxis are avaliable just outside so they were helpful especially when going back to the airport. Will be going again in Decmeber 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in the Royal National Hotel early September and location is excellent close to Russell Square Underground and walking distance to Euston Station or buses outside of Hotel. We chose the Royal National for a couple of reasons. 1. Location. Being able to travel from Heathrow on tube and get off at Russell Square without having to transfers between underground stations on the way and it only cost us 5pounds each for the journey. 2. being able to store our luggage for .50p per day. We stored our luggage and travelled onto family in UK for 5 days and was wonderful to travel light and return to luggage safe and sound and then go straight to our room. The hotel is a large complex and the rooms are basic however you pay a reasonable price for central London and we were happy to be without the fancy toiletries as always carry our own anyway. The breakfast room was large and catering to many however was plenty of it and never went hungry. Russell Square near by had many eating places available or within the hotel complex there is a cafe and pub. Many tours leave from this hotel so in the evenings there were a lot of people around, however we found this interesting not a downer as everyone was happy and looking forward to their travels.
The room was serviced daily by friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is terrible except its location. The room is small with small beds, the facility is poor and the service is - oh there's no service. The worst thing is, we lost money in the hotel. We stayed there for 10 days for a study tour. The last morning in the hotel, we packed up all our luggages. I remembered very clearly that the night before I took out 600 Euros (12 notes of 50 Euro) from the locked suitcase and put it in the purse in my backpack because we planned to go to Paris in the afternoon. (I was sure about this amount because I still had the bank note when we exchange these 300 euros in Hong Kong. And of course we didn't touch it in England. ) Then we went downstairs for breakfast. The most silly thing was, we took nothing with us, no purses, no bags, only the room key. I think he must have seen this. We came across a male cleaner in the corridor just after we closed the door. After half an hour we came back, grabbed all the luggages and then checked out. It was not until we were on the taxi to the train station that I found there were only 7 notes in my purse. If I had lost my purse, I should've lost it all. But the purse was there, and 7 euro notes were there. We didn't call the police cuz we didn't have time and we didn't think anyone in the hotel would confess this since there was really proof. But we couldn't think of a better reason where we lost it because the money even didn't leave the hotel after I put it in my purse. If there was somebody who did it, I must say that was a clever act. He saw us leaving all things in the room, knew us were gonna check out and leave London, and didnt take all the money to avoid us to find it out immediately. He totally got us. What I learned from this is that you must be very careful with your safety when staying in a hotel in a foreign country. We didn't lost anything in the following 15 days travelling in Europe. Hope my story helps.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very basic rooms, no toiletries, paper thin walls. Breakfast was like a cattle market with everyone clambering for seats, no organisation to speak of and the food was pretty basic. It's no wonder visitors to the country call it rip off Britain.

Shower was just a trickle and probably one of the worst I've experienced in a hotel. Asked for a bath matt as the bath was slippy however; despite being assured one would be provided it didn't arrive.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel unless you want a very basic stay in a basic hotel with no frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pretty poor, tiny, noisy, stuffy room and get breakfast somewhere else. If you take a minute to calculate the net profit of this hotel you would think they could afford to brighten up the place, felt pretty depressing, obviously I still had a fantastic time in London but if your holiday in London experience depends on where you're staying, then avoid at all costs. Also the baggage room we kept our luggage in after check out was ridiculously unorganised, when you went to the door the employee said "go look" and pointed to the luggage racks, everyone struggled to find their case which made the queue unnecessarily long.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are ridiculously noisy, if you are a light sleeper you wont sleep. (When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If your expectation is a clean room, with clean linens and a pretty decent location, this hotel will suit you fine. If you are looking for luxury...this is not the hotel you're looking for. The staff was friendly. The nearest Metro stop is a short 2 minute walk and on the Piccadilly line which makes taking the Metro from Heathrow really easy. The breakfast buffet is abysmal. If you have to pay for it....don't. If it's included, grab some toast or cereal and plan on needing to fuel up later in the day. The room we had was pretty drab, but clean and the shower was hot with strong water pressure. We were on the second floor and as long as the window was closed, we didn't hear the street noise. There were busloads of tourists and teenagers checking in and out during our stay, but I never heard them when we were trying to sleep. We were travelling with our infant son. There was a crib in our room and room service stopped by without asking to offer an extra blanket for the crib. There are a few fun pubs within a few minutes walking rorm the front door. This hotel was included with some British Air tickets we purchased. I would not pick to stay here again, but since it was included it was OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #762 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.