We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royale London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England (Notting Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS GET 12% OFF
Ranked #350 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent 4 days in London sightseeing and ended up at the Grand Royale. Our check in was a little delayed due to our room not being cleaned, but the hour wait was made comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was really good. Our room, although pretty small, was to our liking and the air conditioning worked great.
Location could not be better for using the tube. You have the choice of 2 stations within 3 minutes of the hotel and each other. One that you can catch the piccadilly line right from Heathrow. Don't buy the express line... just get the oyster card and spend $30 pounds on 7 days of unlimited travel. There are many great restaurants in the area as well and Hyde Park is right across the street. You can walk to the Buckingham from your room through the park. We will return here the next time we want to see London again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Mark S,

Than you for having taken the time to share this lovely review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that despite the delay with check-in and the concerns you shared with regards to the size of your room, your over all impression of the Grand Royale remains a positive one. Please do contact me directly the next time your travels take you to London and it would be my pleasure to personally assist in way possible and ensure you will be provided with a room suitable for your needs.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    969
    438
    208
    283
See reviews for
285
1,121
250
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights in May before camino and travel through Spain morocco Malta Portugal- rooms small but beautiful we expect small in London - have booked again for journey home. Comfortable modern clean. Good service. Breakfast was also great and the building itself is beautiful

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Gail J,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Grand Royale, thank you very much for having shared this wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had such a great experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was very happy and pleased during my 11 day stay in this lovely and classical hotel.
The staff were wonderful and helpful for all the requests.
Breakfast is very convienent.
The rooms are clean but a little bit small but they were convienient and sufficient.
The shape of the enterance of the hotel is classical and historical.
The location of the hotel is very impressive, near by the buses stops and two underground stations as well as if you would like to have a walk the hayde park is very near.
I do recommend the hotel for a nice, comfortable and a quite stay for a 4 stars hotel.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ibinseena,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Grand Royale, thank you very much for having taken the time to share this lovely review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that despite your concerns regarding the size of the room your over all impression of the hotel remains a positive one, and that the service provided by the team contributed positively to your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travels take you to London, and it would be my pleasure to personally assist you with choosing a room suitable for your needs.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I like the location of the hotel which is just right in front of the hyde park with good stardard of service and also a very perfect hotle for a family visit. its very calm with good quality of guest and a reasonable price to stay in.
Tube stations and market place is easy to excess as well as very close to the famous Oxford street.
To be honest rooms are small but very quite and having a lovely standard to stay in.
All in all it is very Grand in style.
Thanks for a lovely service by Mr. Aijaz and his colleague Mr. Binu you guys deserve to be appreciated.
Wil come back with my family for sure and stay in the same hotel.

Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Adprince999,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Grand Royale, thank you very much for having taken the time to share this lovely review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that despite your concerns regarding the size of the room your over all impression of the hotel remains a positive one, and that the service provided by the team contributed positively to your stay; rest assured your kind words regarding Aijaz & Binu will be shared and celebrated with them.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travels take you to London, and it would be my pleasure to personally assist you with choosing a room suitable for your needs.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose the Grand Royale for its proximity to Wimbledon. It was well located for a short tube ride to watch the tennis.
We booked a 'superior' room.
On arrival we were 'upgraded' to a club room, however, when we entered the room on the lower ground (basement) floor we found the room dark and very small. The window overlooked black rubbish bags in the service exit. Not impressed!
We requested to be moved to the 'superior' room we had originally booked.
This room was slightly larger, light and clean so we were happy.
The hotel was well staffed and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We received an apology in writing along with chocolates for our initial disappointment. Nice touch.
Breakfast was very good. The hotel was interesting and full of history.
A homely and welcoming hotel.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Stanleyman16,

Thank you for having taken the time to share a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. Although I am pleased to see that our team was able to turn around what could have been a negative experience and ultimately provide you with a lasting positive impression, I only wish we could have done more to warrant a higher ranked review.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back personally in the not too distant future and remain entirely at your disposal should you ever require any assistance at all with the making of future bookings.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location near to metro station and bus stop which was easy to travel.
Near the hotel all types of food were available .
Very co-operative staff ready to help every time.
Room very neat and tidy but the standard room is small ,club rooms are very good and spacious.
Breakfast was very healthy and good but it was same everyday we stayed for 5 days but the food was same.
It was just great staying here.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear vijayneesh,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Grand Royale, thank you for having taken the time to share a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that despite your concerns regarding the size of the Superior Double Room your over all impression of the hotel remains a positive one, and that the service provided by the team contributed positively to your stay. As you have observed, our breakfast buffet is indeed the same most days, however I have made a note of your feedback and will continue to monitor the situation to see if this perhaps is worth changing in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travels take you to London, and it would be my pleasure to personally assist you with choosing a room suitable for your needs.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Second visit for us a year later... love this hotel we got an upgrade on arrival close to the tube & Hyde Park just round the corner so a lovely walk after a really good adequate English breakfast witch is included when you book direct with the hotel .. all staff are friendly barman especially sorry forgot his name .. bedrooms are small but comfortable with fresh fruit also a small fridge hairdryer / safe & thankfully Air con as it was a hot muggy week will definitely return next time we visit London :)

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander H, General Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear xxshazzaxx,

Thank you very much for having shared this fabulous review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to see that your second experience with us lived up to the first, and that service provided by the team contributed positively to your stay; rest assured your kind comments will be shared with all, with a particular mention to Vitor, our Bartender.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here for many more stays to come and remain entirely at your disposal should you ever require any assistance at all with the making of future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Cluster Hotel Manager
Shaftesbury Hotels London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
#478 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
La Suite West
La Suite West
#526 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, Hyde Park, Bayswater, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#197 Business Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park
Grand Royale London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royale London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.